Let's Talk (about Dance)

Would you like to discuss the dance performances you have seen in an informal setting? Are you curious about the experiences of others or would you like to share your experiences? Welcome to LET’S TALK (ABOUT DANCE)! A moderator provides a forum for you and a small group of audience members to share your perspective on dance. What have you seen and what did it mean to you?

‘It is incredible how your experience of the performance changes completely because of what somebody else says about it. Or how you start seeing or appreciating elements that you hadn’t really noticed before.’

 

Programme 20/21 will be announced after Summer

>>> after the performance, in the Kaaicafé

Pichet Klunchun & Chen Wu-kang

Behalf

dance

Behalf
Behalf

dance

Fri 03.05 - Sat 04.05.19

In this danced dialogue, Thai dancer Pichet Klunchun and Taiwanese dancer Chen Wu-kang reveal themselves to one another and to the audience. With compact portraits of pure movement, they alternately treat themes such as fatherhood, cultural heritage, and self-reliance. In the meantime, percussionist Lazara Rosell Albear adds a third voice.

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods & EIRA

BLESSED

dance

BLESSED
BLESSED

dance

Fri 01.06 - Sat 02.06.18

A man moves carefully between cardboard set pieces. Everything appears peaceful in this stylized paradise, until a sudden rain shower escalates into a destructive deluge. A decade after the première of BLESSED, Francisco Camacho continues to cling to a world that has long been left in ruins.

Benjamin Vandewalle & Platform-K

Common Ground

dance

Common Ground
Common Ground

dance

Sat 27.10 - Sun 28.10.18

One loves jumpstyle and toilet humour, another loves ballet and self-written love songs, while the third loves to observe the world through his camera lens and is secretly an accomplished beatboxer. If it weren’t for this production, these three probably never would have met, but it is their love of dance that has brought them together here.

Femke & Lander Gyselinck

FLAMER

dance music

FLAMER
FLAMER

dance

Thu 29.11 - Fri 30.11.18

For their first joint creation, dancer Femke and drummer Lander Gyselinck (STUFF.) decided to swap roles. Lander dances (musically), Femke plays music (dansant), until both become blurred and blend together. Their older brother Wannes, a dramaturg, keeps an eye on the whole work. It’s a family affair...

Claire Croizé & Matteo Fargion

Flowers (we are)

dance music

Flowers (we are)
Flowers (we are)

dance

Wed 27.03 - Thu 28.03.19

Claire Croizé engages with two of her favourite sources of inspiration: Bach and Rilke. She places both masters in the hands of Matteo Fargion, the British composer and multi-instrumentalist. They have not created slavish interpretations of Bach and Rilke, but rather opted for a playful, somewhat unruly tribute.

Boris Charmatz

infini

dance

infini
infini

dance

Wed 25.03 - Sat 28.03.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

For centuries, dancers have been counting their steps to 4, 6 or 8. But what if dancers were to count to infinity? Boris Charmatz: ‘I have always hated counting while dancing. In this piece, we count, speak and sing not only so that we can dance, but first and foremost, so that our minds can wander even more.’ In a world that is being increasingly enslaved by algorithms, Charmatz offers a moment of infinity.

 

 

Mette Ingvartsen

Moving in Concert

dance

Moving in Concert
Moving in Concert

dance

Thu 03.10 - Sat 05.10.19

Mette Ingvartsen creates a universe in which people, technology and organic matter coexist to create an abstract set of movements. Inspired by how bodies are sensorially affected by the digital, the performance explores a poetics of plasticity, abstraction and imagination. Through light, shadow and reflection, the nine dancers open an enchanting landscape that you can enter as a viewer.

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

dance

Tafukt
Tafukt

dance

Fri 08.05 - Tue 12.05.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena is a dance solo and the first part of a trilogy focused on epistemologies and mythologies of the Tamazigh – the indigenous population of Northern Africa. How can we challenge the current canon? Can performance function as a tool of resistance? Radouan Mriziga seeks to create a space for reflections on the past in order to strive for a more inclusive future.

Christian Rizzo

une maison

dance

une maison
une maison

dance

Thu 20.02 - Fri 21.02.20

On a stage covered with a thick layer of earth and bathed in light stand fourteen dancers – all different in age and dance background. Movements flow from one body to the next, gradually building to a wild climax. The result is a tactile experience that shares loneliness with fiction: how is it that you can be alone even when you’re in a group?

Rosas

Zeitigung

dance

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

dance

Wed 11.12 - Sat 14.12.19

Almost ten years after Zeitung (2008), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and Alain Franco used the building blocks of that production to make a new one: Zeitigung. Against the backdrop of a changing world and channeled through the bodies of eight young dancers, they updated their own work – aided by the young choreographer and dancer Louis Nam Le Van Ho. Zeitigung is returning to the Kaaitheater stage, where it premièred in 2017.

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

[CANCELLED] A Love Supreme

dance

[CANCELLED] A Love Supreme
[CANCELLED] A Love Supreme

dance

Wed 06.06 - Sun 10.06.18

Unfortunately, we have to cancel all shows due to an injury of one of the dancers.

In 2017, Salva Sanchis and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker adapted A Love Supreme with four young, male dancers. This exceptionally vital production was one of the highlights of the last season, and was promptly selected for the TheaterFestival. Join the dancers, and abandon yourself once again to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!

Let's Talk (about Dance)

Envie de converser de manière informelle à propos de spectacles de danse ? Curieu.se.x des expériences d’autrui ? Envie de partager vos expériences ? Soyez les bienvenu.e.s à LET’S TALK (ABOUT DANCE) ! Un modérateur lance des points de départ à un petit groupe de spectateurs afin de partager différents regards sur la danse. Qu’avez-vous vu et qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour vous ?

« Dans un spectacle de danse, il y a bien plus que ce qu’une seule personne peut y trouver. Ensemble, on voit davantage. »

 

Le programme 20/21 sera annoncé après l'été.

>>> après le spectacle, dans le Kaaicafé

Pichet Klunchun & Chen Wu-kang

Behalf

danse

Behalf
Behalf

danse

ve 03.05 - sa 04.05.19

Au cours de ce dialogue dansé, le danseur thaï Pichet Klunchun et le danseur taïwanais Chen Wu-kang se dévoilent l’un à l’autre et au public. Avec des portraits condensés, composés de purs mouvements, ils abordent tour à tour des thèmes comme la paternité, le patrimoine culturel et l’autonomie. La percussionniste Lazara Rosell Albear assure une troisième voix.

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods & EIRA

BLESSED

danse

BLESSED
BLESSED

danse

ve 01.06 - sa 02.06.18

Un homme se meut avec prudence entre des pièces de décor en carton. Tout semble paisible dans ce paradis stylisé jusqu’à la survenue d’une averse qui se transforme en déluge dévastateur. Une décennie après BLESSED, Francisco Camacho continue à s’accrocher à un monde depuis longtemps en ruine.

Benjamin Vandewalle & Platform-K

Common Ground

danse

Common Ground
Common Ground

danse

sa 27.10 - di 28.10.18

L’un aime le jumpstyle et l’humour salace, l’autre le ballet et les chansons d’amour écrites de sa main et le dernier aime observer le monde à travers l’objectif de sa caméra et est un beatboxer accompli (une boîte à rythmes humaine). Sans ce spectacle, les trois ne se seraient sans doute jamais rencontrés, mais ici, ils se retrouvent autour de leur amour partagé de la danse.

Femke & Lander Gyselinck

FLAMER

danse musique

FLAMER
FLAMER

danse

je 29.11 - ve 30.11.18

Pour leur première création commune, danseuse Femke en percussionniste Lander Gyselinck (STUFF.) procèdent à un échange de leur métier. Lander danse (musicalement) et Femke chante (de manière dansante) jusqu’à ce que le tout devienne flou et se fonde. Wannes, frère aîné et dramaturge, surveille le tout du coin de l’œil. Une affaire de famille !

Claire Croizé & Matteo Fargion

Flowers (we are)

danse musique

Flowers (we are)
Flowers (we are)

danse

me 27.03 - je 28.03.19

Claire Croizé s’attaque à deux de ses sources d’inspiration favorites : Bach et Rilke. Elle confie les deux esprits illustres au compositeur et performeur britannique Matteo Fargion. Ils ne s’adonnent pas une interprétation servile de Bach et de Rilke, mais optent pour un hommage ludique et quelque peu à rebrousse-poil.

Boris Charmatz

infini

danse

infini
infini

danse

me 25.03 - sa 28.03.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Depuis des siècles, les danseurs comptent leur pas jusqu’à 4, 6 ou 8. Et s’ils comptaient jusqu’à l’infini ? Boris Charmatz : « J’ai toujours détesté compter en dansant. Dans cette pièce, nous comptons, parlons et chantons pour danser, mais surtout pour mieux divaguer. » Dans un monde de plus en plus esclave d’algorithmes, Charmatz offre un moment d’infini.

Mette Ingvartsen

Moving in Concert

danse

Moving in Concert
Moving in Concert

danse

je 03.10 - sa 05.10.19

Mette Ingvartsen fait émerger un univers dans lequel des êtres humains, des technologies et des matières organiques forment un ensemble abstrait en mouvement. Inspiré par les effets du monde numérique sur nos sens, le spectacle explore une poésie de la plasticité, de l’abstraction et de l’imaginaire. À la faveur de lumière, d’ombre et de leur réflexion, les neuf danseurs ouvrent aux spectateurs un paysage enchanteur et les invitent à y entrer.

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

danse

Tafukt
Tafukt

danse

ve 08.05 - ma 12.05.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Tafukt est un solo de danse et le premier volet d’une trilogie sur le (T) amazigh, la culture indigène de l’Afrique du Nord. Comment remettre en question le canon actuel ? La performance peut-elle être un outil de résistance ? Avec Tafukt, Radouan Mriziga souhaite créer un espace de réflexion sur le passé permettant de parvenir à un avenir plus inclusif.

Christian Rizzo

une maison

danse

une maison
une maison

danse

je 20.02 - ve 21.02.20

Sur une scène couverte d’une épaisse couche de terre et baignée sous une galaxie de traits de lumière sont rassemblés 14 danseurs d’âges et de parcours différents. Dans un flux continu de mouvements d’un corps à l’autre, le groupe, qui évolue de manière constante vers une apothéose sauvage, est régi par une expérience tactile qui partage solitude et fiction : comment peut-on être en groupe et néanmoins seul ?

Rosas

Zeitigung

danse

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

danse

me 11.12 - sa 14.12.19

Près de dix ans après Zeitung (2008), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Alain Franco reprennent les éléments essentiels de cette chorégraphie pour créer Zeitigung. Dans l’intervalle, le monde a muté et, à travers les corps de huit jeunes danseurs, ils actualisent leur propre travail. Zeitigung sera à nouveau à l’affiche du Kaaitheater, où a eu lieu la première en 2017.

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

[ANNULÉ] A Love Supreme

danse

[ANNULÉ] A Love Supreme
[ANNULÉ] A Love Supreme

danse

me 06.06 - di 10.06.18

La série de représentation est, hélas, annulée en raison de la blessure qu’un danseur a contractée.

En 2017, Salva Sanchis et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ont retravaillé A Love Supreme avec quatre jeunes danseurs. Le spectacle résolument énergique était l’un des sommets de la saison passée et a d’emblée été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival. Abandonnez-vous une fois de plus avec les danseurs à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !