#brusselsdance 2017-2018

1 CITY / 2 MONTHS / 13 STAGES / 50 PERFORMANCES & CONFERENCES / 100 SHOWS 

In Brussels, people are dancing and creating to their hearts’ content! Thirteen arts centres that testify to the richness and diversity of the performing arts in Brussels offer the public the opportunity to discover for themselves the creativity and vitality of our capital city.

Brussels, dance! stands for more than 50 performances and lectures, 100 or so performances, an open and bold selection of young and emerging talent, but also of renowned artists… Come and taste dance in all its diversity and vitality, from 1 February to 31 March! 

brusselsdance.eu

Mette Ingvartsen

21 Pornographies

dance performance

21 Pornographies
21 Pornographies

dance

Fri 09.03 - Sat 10.03.18

Mette Ingvartsen aims to explore and expose the fact that pornography has rooted itself deep within our society. In the fourth instalment of her Red Pieces cycle, she mixes physical actions with narrative passages, presenting you with a veritable mental choreography. She again holds up her magnifying glass to sexuality – resulting in an extraordinarily intense production.

Radouan Mriziga

8

dance installation

8
8

dance

Fri 02.02 - Sat 03.02.18

Radouan Mriziga explores polyrhythm, a bass rhythm in African music. By looking for the social equivalent of this unusual harmony, this exercise for two dancers reminds us of the necessity and value of difference in the creative process.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

dance

Thu 23.02 - Sat 04.03.17

In 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, along with Salva Sanchis, created a quartet set to John Coltrane’s jazz album A Love Supreme. Improvisation and composition interweave until they melt together. Join a new cast of young performers, in giving yourself over to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!

Meg Stuart, Jeroen Peeters & Jozef Wouters

Atelier III

dance performance

Atelier III
Atelier III

dance

Thu 30.03 - Sun 02.04.17

How do we envision the art spaces of tomorrow? How can we reshape these meeting places and laboratories for coexistence? The artists of Damaged Goods set up camp in a former factory in Molenbeek – housing the Decoratelier of scenographer Jozef Wouters – to formulate some physical answers to these questions.

Youness Khoukhou

Body Dialogue

installation dance

Body Dialogue
Body Dialogue

installation

Thu 01.02 - Sat 03.02.18

Along with four young dancers from Meknes and Casablanca, Youness Khoukhou explores the human body as an inexhaustible source of information – and as an image that only needs to be deciphered. He shows bodies that retain energy, shape it, and pass it on, thus paving their way to the imagination.

Vera Tussing & Esse Vanderbruggen

Both, Two

dance

Both, Two
Both, Two

dance

Wed 21.02 - Thu 22.02.18

Two female bodies entwine until they become only one. Or three? Or… none? Where does a body actually begin? A clear question resounds in this duet that both refers to the tropes of the genre but also transcends them. What does it mean nowadays to be two together?

Trajal Harrell

CAEN AMOUR

dance performance

CAEN AMOUR
CAEN AMOUR

dance

Fri 31.03 - Sat 01.04.17

Trajal Harrell explores a moment in dance history when female artists presented performances on the boundary between entertainment, erotic dancing, and early experiments in modern dance. CAEN AMOUR is structured as a hoochie coochie show. With a seductive performance, scantily dressed ‘hoochies’ lure you around to the backstage area, to reveal the festivities on the ‘coochie’ side.

Boris Charmatz

Étrangler le temps + boléro 2

dance

Étrangler le temps + boléro 2
Étrangler le temps + boléro 2

dance

Fri 10.02 - Sat 11.02.17

Boris Charmatz and Emmanuelle Huynh pay tribute to the French choreographer Odile Duboc. They dance two versions of her boléro 2 (1996), once in an extremely slow interpretation, and then in its original form. According to Duboc, “In the slow form, the pair sculpts a common substance.”

Noé Soulier

Faits et gestes

dance

Faits et gestes
Faits et gestes

dance

Tue 20.02.18

Inspired by baroque compositional patterns, Noé Soulier has created a piece for four dancers. Set to the forceful piano tones of Bach and Johan Jakob Froberger – composers who always attempted to create musical rhetoric – Soulier researches how we perceive and interpret movements.

Meryem Jazouli

Folkah!

dance performance

Folkah!
Folkah!

dance

Fri 02.02 - Sat 03.02.18

Folkah! was born of the desire to bring two female artists around an ancestral dance from the Sahara: the Guedra. Meryem Jazouli is teaming up with her co-founder of the dance centre Espace Darja and with the renowned composer, producer and jazz singer Malika Zarra.

Benoît Lachambre / Par B.L.eux

Lifeguard

dance performance

Lifeguard
Lifeguard

dance

Wed 07.02 - Fri 09.02.18

Benoît Lachambre again asks you to listen to your senses and genuinely to experience the consciousness of your body. Borders between dance and movement gradually blur when a glance, a movement, or the touch of someone in the audience continues to resonate in the choreography.

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

dance

minor matter
minor matter

dance

Fri 09.03 - Sat 10.03.18

Ligia Lewis turns to the colour red – in between love and rage – while asking questions about (re)presentation, abstraction, and the limits of signification. Three performers push their bodies against the boundaries of the theatre while simultaneously showing their humble relationship with it. Exhaustion reaches increasingly high levels on a journey to the stage's essential matter: black. Lewis was awarded the prestigious Bessie award for minor matter.

Pages

#brusselsdance 2017-2018

1 VILLE / 2 MOIS / 13 LIEUX / 50 SPECTACLES & CONFERENCES / 100 REPRESENTATIONS

A Bruxelles, on danse, on crée, on bouge ! Treize lieux culturels, reflet de la richesse et de la diversité des scènes bruxelloises, vous offrent l’occasion de vivre Bruxelles comme capitale créative et remuante.

Brussels, dance ! c’est plus de 50 spectacles et conférences, une centaine de représentations, des artistes émergents et de renommée, des propositions ouvertes et audacieuses. Du 1er février au 31 mars, découvrez la danse dans tous ses langages et dans toute sa vitalité !

brusselsdance.eu

Mette Ingvartsen

21 Pornographies

danse performance

21 Pornographies
21 Pornographies

danse

ve 09.03 - sa 10.03.18

Mette Ingvartsen souhaite étudier et dévoiler le profond enracinement de la pornographie dans notre société. Dans ce quatrième volet de son cycle The Red Pieces, elle marie les actions physiques et les passages narratifs, nous présentant pour ainsi dire une chorégraphie mentale. Une fois de plus, elle passe la sexualité au crible avec pour résultat, un spectacle d’une intensité exceptionnelle.

Radouan Mriziga

8

danse installation

8
8

danse

ve 02.02 - sa 03.02.18

Radouan Mriziga explore la polyrythmie, un rythme de base de la musique africaine. En recherchant l’équivalent social de cette harmonie particulière, cet exercice pour deux danseurs rappelle la nécessité et la richesse des différences dans le processus de création.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

danse

je 23.02 - sa 04.03.17

En 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Salva Sanchis ont créé un quatuor sur l’album jazz de John Coltrane, A Love Supreme. L’improvisation et la composition s’imbriquent jusqu’à se fondre. Abandonnez-vous avec une nouvelle distribution de jeunes performeurs, à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !

Meg Stuart, Jeroen Peeters & Jozef Wouters

Atelier III

danse performance

Atelier III
Atelier III

danse

je 30.03 - di 02.04.17

Comment imaginons-nous les espaces artistiques de demain ? Comment reconsidérer ces lieux de rencontre et laboratoires du vivre ensemble ? Les artistes de Damaged Goods s’installent dans un lieu préalablement indéterminé dans le tissu urbain pour se pencher sur ces questions pressantes.

Youness Khoukhou

Body Dialogue

installation danse

Body Dialogue
Body Dialogue

installation

je 01.02 - sa 03.02.18

Avec de jeunes danseurs de Meknès, Youness Khoukhou examine le corps en tant que source d’inspiration inépuisable et image qu’il suffit de déchiffrer. Dans l’élaboration du matériau physique, Khoukhou travaille autour du corps qui produit, retient et transmet l’énergie et se fraye ainsi un chemin vers l’imaginaire.

Vera Tussing & Esse Vanderbruggen

Both, Two

danse

Both, Two
Both, Two

danse

me 21.02 - je 22.02.18

Deux corps de femmes s’entrelacent jusqu’à ne plus en former qu’un seul. Ou trois ? Ou aucun ? Au cours d’un duo qui réfère à des figures de style du genre et les transcende à la fois, une question plus limpide résonne : que peut signifier aujourd’hui être à deux ?

Trajal Harrell

CAEN AMOUR

danse performance

CAEN AMOUR
CAEN AMOUR

danse

ve 31.03 - sa 01.04.17

L’Histoire est toujours en partie fictionnelle. À partir de cette prémisse le chorégraphe états-unien Trajal Harrell réinterprète nos passés. Il conçoit une rencontre entre la pionnière de la danse pré-moderne, Loïe Fuller, le créateur du butô, Tatsumi Hijikata, et la fondatrice de Comme des Garçons, Rei Kawakubo, et y intègre en outre les hoochie coochie shows – des spectacles de danse du ventre.

Boris Charmatz

Étrangler le temps + boléro 2

danse

Étrangler le temps + boléro 2
Étrangler le temps + boléro 2

danse

ve 10.02 - sa 11.02.17

Boris Charmatz et Emmanuelle Huynh rendent hommage à la chorégraphe française Odile Duboc. Ils dansent deux versions de son boléro 2 (1996), une fois en l’interprétant avec une lenteur extrême, ensuite dans sa version originale. « Lentement, le duo façonne une substance commune », dixit Duboc.

Noé Soulier

Faits et gestes

danse

Faits et gestes
Faits et gestes

danse

ma 20.02.18

Inspiré par des schémas compositionnels baroques, Noé Soulier crée une œuvre pour quatre danseurs. Au son des notes de piano entraînantes de Bach et de Johan Jakob Froberger – des compositeurs qui tentent sans cesse de créer de la rhétorique musicale –, Noé Soulier analyse la façon dont nous percevons et interprétons les mouvements.

Meryem Jazouli

Folkah!

danse performance

Folkah!
Folkah!

danse

ve 02.02 - sa 03.02.18

Folkah! est né du désir de réunir deux femmes artistes autour d’une danse ancestrale du Sahara, la « guedra ». Meryem Jazouli unit ses forces à celles de sa co-initiatrice de l’atelier de danse Espace Darja, la célèbre compositrice, productrice et chanteuse de jazz, Malika Zarra.

Benoît Lachambre / Par B.L.eux

Lifeguard

danse performance

Lifeguard
Lifeguard

danse

me 07.02 - ve 09.02.18

Benoît Lachambre invite à nouveau l’auditoire à écouter ses sens et à réellement ressentir la conscience de son corps. Les frontières entre danse et mouvement s’estompent lentement lorsqu’un regard, un mouvement, un frôlement d’un membre du public reste résonner dans la chorégraphie.

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

danse

minor matter
minor matter

danse

ve 09.03 - sa 10.03.18

Ligia Lewis se tourne vers la couleur rouge – interrogeant la (re)présentation, l’abstraction et les limites de signification. Trois performeurs poussent leurs corps jusqu’aux frontières du théâtre tout en montrant simultanément l’humble relation qu’ils entretiennent avec la discipline. L’épuisement atteint des niveaux toujours plus élevés au cours d’un trajet vers la matière essentielle de la scène : le noir. minor matter a valu à Lewis le prestigieux Bessie award.

Pages