#brusselsdance

1 CITY / 2 MONTHS / 14 VENUES / 60 DANCE PERFORMANCES & TALKS / 130 EVENTS 

In Brussels, people are dancing and creating to their hearts’ content! Fourteen cultural venues that testify to the richness and diversity of contemporary dance in Brussels offer the public the opportunity to discover for themselves the creativity and vitality of our capital city.

This fifth edition of Brussels, dance! stands for 60 performances and talks, 130 performances, an open and bold selection of young and emerging talent, but also of renowned artists… Come and taste dance in all its diversity and vitality, from 1 February to 4 April! 

brusselsdance.eu

Doris Uhlich

Every Body Electric [medium]

dance

Every Body Electric [medium]
Every Body Electric [medium]

dance

Thu 02.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

People with physical disabilities are often more associated with stationariness than with movement. In Every Body Electric, Doris Uhlich refutes this idea with vitality and vibrancy. What other possibilities open up when wheelchairs, prostheses and crutches are not perceived as obstacles but as powerful extensions of the body? You can expect a fascinating dialogue between the human and the mechanical in which very personal dance styles vary from explosive to gently poetic.

Boris Charmatz

infini

dance

infini
infini

dance

Wed 25.03 - Sat 28.03.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

For centuries, dancers have been counting their steps to 4, 6 or 8. But what if dancers were to count to infinity? Boris Charmatz: ‘I have always hated counting while dancing. In this piece, we count, speak and sing not only so that we can dance, but first and foremost, so that our minds can wander even more.’ In a world that is being increasingly enslaved by algorithms, Charmatz offers a moment of infinity.

 

 

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre dance

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre

Fri 13.03 - Sat 14.03.20
Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus.

1974, Zaire. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. Fast forward to 2019. Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Escape Act

dance performance

Escape Act
Escape Act

dance

Fri 06.03 - Sat 07.03.20

Does gender have a voice? Using drag, vogueing, striptease, YouTube tutorials as well as the triadic ballet by Oskar Schlemmer, seven bodies and many more objects try out new constellations, like surrealist ready-mades. With a great sense of irony, Escape Act presents hyper-stereotyped gender identities, only to deconstruct them completely.

Christian Rizzo

une maison

dance

une maison
une maison

dance

Thu 20.02 - Fri 21.02.20

On a stage covered with a thick layer of earth and bathed in light stand fourteen dancers – all different in age and dance background. Movements flow from one body to the next, gradually building to a wild climax. The result is a tactile experience that shares loneliness with fiction: how is it that you can be alone even when you’re in a group?

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Achterland

dance

Achterland
Achterland

dance

Wed 29.01 - Sun 09.02.20

Achterland (1990) is a seminal choreography in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s oeuvre. The minimalism and prevalent femininity of Rosas’ early pieces gave way to an ambiguous no-man’s-land in which boundaries and symbols were blurred. Last season, the reprise of Achterland starring a new generation of Rosas dancers made a tremendous impression: don’t miss this opportunity to see it again.

#brusselsdance

1 VILLE / 2 MOIS / 14 LIEUX / 60 SPECTACLES & CONFERENCES / 130 REPRESENTATIONS

A Bruxelles, on danse, on crée, on bouge ! Quatorze lieux culturels, reflet de la richesse et de la diversité de la danse contemporaine à Bruxlles, vous offrent l’occasion de vivre Bruxelles comme capitale créative et remuante.
Cette Cinquième édition de Brussels, dance ! c’est 60 spectacles et conférences, 130 de représentations, des artistes émergents et de renommée, des propositions ouvertes et audacieuses. Du 1 février au 4 avril, découvrez la danse dans tous ses langages et dans toute sa vitalité !

brusselsdance.eu

 

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods

Solos and duets

danse performance

Solos and duets
Solos and duets
je 21.04 - sa 23.04.22

Vous verrez des corps se tordre dans un paysage de désolation, des mains et une tête bouger au rythme d'un solo de tambour explosif, et un duo ludique dans lequel deux femmes prennent le contrôle du regard du·de la spectateur·ice. Meg Stuart construit une soirée au cours de laquelle quatre danseurs interprètent des solos et des duos existants, combinés à des fragments de spectacles complets. Le tout sur fond de musique live. L’occasion idéale de voyager à travers son œuvre, qui continue de croître, de vivre et de se transformer.

Doris Uhlich

Every Body Electric [medium]

danse

Every Body Electric [medium]
Every Body Electric [medium]
je 02.04.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Les personnes avec un handicap physique sont plus souvent associées à l’immobilité qu’au mouvement. Dans Every Body Electric, Doris Uhlich réfute cette idée avec vitalité et extase. Quelles possibilités supplémentaires se profilent lorsque fauteuils roulants, prothèses et béquilles ne constituent plus des obstacles, mais au contraire de puissantes extensions du corps ? Attendez-vous à un dialogue passionnant entre êtres humains et machines et à des styles de danse hautement personnels qui varient d’explosifs à doux et poétiques.

Boris Charmatz

infini

danse

infini
infini
me 25.03 - sa 28.03.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Depuis des siècles, les danseurs comptent leur pas jusqu’à 4, 6 ou 8. Et s’ils comptaient jusqu’à l’infini ? Boris Charmatz : « J’ai toujours détesté compter en dansant. Dans cette pièce, nous comptons, parlons et chantons pour danser, mais surtout pour mieux divaguer. » Dans un monde de plus en plus esclave d’algorithmes, Charmatz offre un moment d’infini.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre danse

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II
ve 13.03 - sa 14.03.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Avance rapide vers 2019. Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Escape Act

danse performance

Escape Act
Escape Act
ve 06.03 - sa 07.03.20

La voix a-t-elle un genre ? En évoquant le drag, le voguing, le strip-tease, les didacticiels YouTube ainsi que les ballets triadiques d’Oskar Schlemmer, sept corps et bien plus d’objets éprouvent de nouvelles constellations comme ready-made surréalistes. Avec beaucoup d’ironie, le spectacle présente des identités de genre de manière hyperstéréotypée pour ensuite les démonter.

Christian Rizzo

une maison

danse

une maison
une maison
je 20.02 - ve 21.02.20

Sur une scène couverte d’une épaisse couche de terre et baignée sous une galaxie de traits de lumière sont rassemblés 14 danseurs d’âges et de parcours différents. Dans un flux continu de mouvements d’un corps à l’autre, le groupe, qui évolue de manière constante vers une apothéose sauvage, est régi par une expérience tactile qui partage solitude et fiction : comment peut-on être en groupe et néanmoins seul ?

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Achterland

danse

Achterland
Achterland
me 29.01 - di 09.02.20

Achterland (1990) tient une place décisive dans le parcours d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Le minimalisme et la féminité dominante des précédents spectacles de Rosas cèdent la place à un no man’s land ambigu où l’on se joue des frontières en brouillant les signes. La saison passée, la reprise d’Achterland avec une nouvelle génération de danseurs a fait grande impression : ne laissez pas cette nouvelle occasion vous échapper !