#bignames

See the big names in action

Encyclopédie de la parole

Suite n° 4

theatre music

Suite n° 4
Suite n° 4

theatre

Tue 19.05 - Sun 24.05.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

In the first part of Suite n° 4, recognizable and anonymous voices overlap as though they were coming from different acoustic spaces. In the second part, the voices are accompanied by eight musicians from Ictus. The Encyclopédie de la parole collective presents a performance about absence, like an opera without singers or a theatre without actors. For 150 minutes, you hear a thousand concrete situations in more than 30 languages.

Tristero

Iemand van ons

theatre

Iemand van ons
Iemand van ons

theatre

Thu 26.03 - Wed 01.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

For this ‘remake’ of Iemand van ons (2005), Tristero has mobilized a seasoned cast with plenty of life experience. Reinhilde Decleir, Mark Verstraete, Janine Bischops, Bob De Moor, Kristin Arras and Kris Smet all get into a big bed together and talk about politics, love and life. With a great sense of humour, they ask one another personal questions, listen, toss and turn on the bed, and reveal their inner selves.

 

Kris Verdonck / A Two Dogs Company

Act

theatre installation

ACT. Johan Leysen plays Beckett
ACT. Johan Leysen plays Beckett

theatre

Thu 13.02 - Sat 15.02.20

This curated Beckett evening presents a surprising mix of forms: a monologue by Johan Leysen; a video lecture by philosopher and mathematician Jean Paul Van Bendegem; and a performative scenography as a possible landscape for a Beckett text. Through this combination, Kris Verdonck explores a fascination that he shares with Beckett, namely technology and the increasing conflict between humans and machines.

Jan Decorte & Sigrid Vinks

body a.k.a.

theatre

body a.k.a.
body a.k.a.

theatre

Fri 29.11 - Sat 30.11.19

In 1994, Jan Decorte wrote his inimitable theatre script Bloetwollefduivel: a jet-black abstraction of the ultimate play about evil: Shakespeare’s Macbeth. body a.k.a. starts from this iconic text but seeks to ward off evil and to turn the downwards spiral into an ecstatic high. Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, and the young multi-talent Lisah Adeaga engage in the battle body and soul.

Mette Ingvartsen

Moving in Concert

dance

Moving in Concert
Moving in Concert

dance

Thu 03.10 - Sat 05.10.19

Mette Ingvartsen creates a universe in which people, technology and organic matter coexist to create an abstract set of movements. Inspired by how bodies are sensorially affected by the digital, the performance explores a poetics of plasticity, abstraction and imagination. Through light, shadow and reflection, the nine dancers open an enchanting landscape that you can enter as a viewer.

Els Dietvorst, Dirk Roofthooft & Aurelie Di Marino

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

theatre

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM
MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

theatre

Thu 21.02 - Sat 23.02.19

In MEMENTO MORI!, documentary filmmaker and visual artist Els Dietvorst brings two solos together. The first is performed by Dirk Roofthooft, one of Flanders’ most iconic actors, the second is performed by the Brussels-based actress Aurelie Di Marino. You can expect a theatre evening about fragility and transience, but also about universal themes like individualization, globalization, the relationship between humanity and nature, and migration.

#bignames

Les grandes pointures à l’oeuvre

Encyclopédie de la parole

Suite n° 4

théâtre musique

Suite n° 4
Suite n° 4

théâtre

ma 19.05 - di 24.05.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Dans la première partie de Suite n° 4, des voix reconnaissables et anonymes se superposent comme si elles provenaient d’espaces acoustiques différents. Dans la seconde partie, huit musiciens d’Ictus accompagnent les voix. Le collectif français Encyclopédie de la parole présente un spectacle sur l’absence, comme un opéra sans chanteurs ou un théâtre sans comédiens. Cent cinquante minutes durant, le spectacle nous fait traverser mille situations concrètes en plus de trente langues.

Tristero

Iemand van ons

théâtre

Iemand van ons
Iemand van ons

théâtre

je 26.03 - me 01.04.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Pour ce remake de la production Iemand van ons (2005), Tristero mobilise une distribution chevronnée, pas née de la dernière pluie. Reinhilde Decleir, Mark Verstraete, Janine Bischops, Bob De Moor, Kristin Arras et Kris Smet partagent un gigantesque lit et y parlent de politique, d’amour et de la vie. Avec un sens de l’humour percutant, ils se sondent, s’écoutent, s’agitent et font tomber les masques.

 

Kris Verdonck / A Two Dogs Company

Act

théâtre installation

ACT. Johan Leysen plays Beckett
ACT. Johan Leysen plays Beckett

théâtre

je 13.02 - sa 15.02.20

Cette soirée Beckett nous offre un surprenant brassage de formes : un monologue par Johan Leysen ; une conférence vidéo du philosophe et mathématicien Jean Paul Van Bendegem ; et une scénographie performative, un paysage possible pour un texte de Beckett. Avec ce parcours, l’homme de théâtre Kris Verdonck explore la fascination qu’il partage avec Beckett pour la technologie et le conflit qui va crescendo entre l’homme et la machine.

Jan Decorte & Sigrid Vinks

body a.k.a.

théâtre

body a.k.a.
body a.k.a.

théâtre

ve 29.11 - sa 30.11.19

En 1994, Jan Decorte écrit l’inégalable texte de théâtre Bloetwollefduivel : une abstraction d’une noirceur absolue de la pièce ultime sur le mal, Macbeth de Shakespeare. body a.k.a. prend ce texte iconique comme point de départ, mais souhaite conjurer le mal et inverser la spirale infernale en ivresse extatique. Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks et la jeune Lisah Adeaga aux talents multiples se jettent corps et âme dans la bataille.

Mette Ingvartsen

Moving in Concert

danse

Moving in Concert
Moving in Concert

danse

je 03.10 - sa 05.10.19

Mette Ingvartsen fait émerger un univers dans lequel des êtres humains, des technologies et des matières organiques forment un ensemble abstrait en mouvement. Inspiré par les effets du monde numérique sur nos sens, le spectacle explore une poésie de la plasticité, de l’abstraction et de l’imaginaire. À la faveur de lumière, d’ombre et de leur réflexion, les neuf danseurs ouvrent aux spectateurs un paysage enchanteur et les invitent à y entrer.

Els Dietvorst, Dirk Roofthooft & Aurelie Di Marino

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

théâtre

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM
MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

théâtre

je 21.02 - sa 23.02.19

Dans MEMENTO MORI!, la documentariste et plasticienne Els Dietvorst réunit deux textes. Le premier est interprété par Dirk Roofthooft, l’un des acteurs flamands les plus iconiques, le second, par la jeune actrice bruxelloise Aurelie Di Marino. Attendez-vous à une soirée sur la vulnérabilité et la fugacité, mais aussi sur des thèmes universels comme l’individualisation, la mondialisation, la relation entre l’homme et la nature et la migration.