#bignames

See the big names in action

Jonathan Burrows

Rewriting

dance lecture performance

Rewriting
Rewriting

dance

Fri 24.04 - Sat 25.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Of what does the practice of choreographing consist? In Rewriting, Jonathan Burrows attempts – by turns hesitantly and exuberantly – to map out the unknown territory known as choreography. In contrast to the dominant model, which assumes that a successful production is the result of a fixed, predetermined idea, Burrows proposes a practice of a slow, coincidental accumulation of meanings.

Jérôme Bel

Conférence sur rien (1949)

lecture performance

Conférence sur rien (1949)
Conférence sur rien (1949)

lecture performance

Fri 08.11.19

‘I am here and I have nothing to say.’ These are the words with which John Cage opened his Lecture on Nothing at the New York Artists’ Club in 1949. The text was like a hypnotizing score that mirrored the structure of Cage’s recent musical compositions – including his particular attention to silence. Jérôme Bel is now presenting the lecture in French.

Bruno Latour & Frédérique Aït Touati

INSIDE

lecture performance performance talk

INSIDE
INSIDE

lecture performance

Sat 24.11.18

Philosopher Bruno Latour and theatre maker Frédérique Aït-Touati reflect on the relationship between human beings and their environment. Can we change our perception of the earth? No longer from a great distance, like a blue marble flying through space… But from the inside out, from the wafer-thin outer layer of the globe on which all life, human activity and resources are concentrated?

#bignames

Les grandes pointures à l’oeuvre

Jonathan Burrows

Rewriting

danse lecture performance

Rewriting
Rewriting

danse

ve 24.04 - sa 25.04.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

De quoi se compose la pratique de la chorégraphie ? Dans Rewriting, Jonathan Burrows tente – parfois avec hésitation, d’autres fois avec exubérance – de cartographier le terrain inconnu qu’est la chorégraphie. Face au modèle dominant, qui prétend qu’un bon spectacle est le résultat d’une idée forte, Burrows propose une pratique lente d’accumulation plutôt fortuite de significations qui surgissent pendant le travail.

Jérôme Bel

Conférence sur rien (1949)

lecture performance

Conférence sur rien (1949)
Conférence sur rien (1949)

lecture performance

ve 08.11.19

« Je n’ai rien à dire et je le dis. » C’est avec ces paroles que John Cage entame son discours Lecture on Nothing à l’Artists’ Club à New York en 1949. Le texte emprunte beaucoup à une partition hypnotique qui suivrait la structure des récentes compositions musicales de Cage – y compris une attention particulière au silence. À présent, Jérôme Bel lit le discours en français.

Bruno Latour & Frédérique Aït Touati

INSIDE

lecture performance performance talk

INSIDE
INSIDE

lecture performance

sa 24.11.18

Lors de cette lecture performance, le philosophe Bruno Latour et la metteuse en scène Frédérique Aït-Touati réfléchissent à la relation entre l’homme et son environnement. Peut‑on modifier notre manière de voir la Terre ? Non plus de loin, comme une bille bleue perdue dans le cosmos, mais de l’intérieur, de la fine pellicule du globe terrestre qui concentre toute vie, toutes les activités humaines et toutes ses ressources ?