PREMIERE

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion

Penelope Sleeps

performance music

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

performance

Fri 10.05 - Tue 14.05.19

In her new creation, Mette Edvardsen explores interfaces with opera, flanked by composer and performer Matteo Fargion. Together, they deconstruct the mythological figure of Penelope, the woman who spent years waiting for her husband Odysseus. But her apparent passivity conceals tremendous power. Be whisked away to this intimate, minimalist dream world, where new relationships are forged between women, the world, and the other.

Kris Verdonck/A two dogs company & ICK

SOMETHING (out of nothing)

theatre

SOMETHING (out of nothing)
SOMETHING (out of nothing)

theatre

Wed 22.05 - Thu 23.05.19

The unrelenting logic of profit and technological development have reduced human beings to disposable objects. The next step is making our environment completely uninhabitable. The new production by Kris Verdonk explores our physical and psychological state of being in light of an imminent extinction. The dancers are often not more than shadows in a landscape of blow-up sculptures, cello-noise, and a robotic drum.

Michiel Vandevelde

Ends of worlds

dance

Ends of worlds
Ends of worlds

dance

Thu 04.04 - Fri 05.04.19

How can we say something about the future through the lens of the past? Michiel Vandevelde examines the recent history of western modern and contemporary dance, from Isadora Duncan to Anna Halprin. In five speculative acts about the past from the future, the present is inevitably reflected upon. This way, choreography becomes a form of science-fiction.

PREMIERE

Michiel Vandevelde

Ends of worlds

danse

Ends of worlds
Ends of worlds

danse

je 04.04 - ve 05.04.19

Peut-on prédire l’avenir à l’aune du passé ? Michiel Vandevelde analyse le passé à la faveur de la danse moderne et contemporaine occidentale, et plus précisément par le biais de figures clés comme Isadora Duncan et Anna Halprin. En cinq parties spéculatives sur le passé, à partir du futur, il est inévitablement question du présent. Les chorégraphies deviennent ainsi une forme de science-fiction.

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion

Penelope Sleeps

performance musique opera

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

performance

ve 10.05 - ma 14.05.19

Avec le compositeur et performeur Matteo Fargion, Mette Edvardsen s’attaque au genre de l’opéra auquel tous deux souhaitaient s’essayer depuis longtemps. La relation entre la voix et la musique, entre l’espace et l’échelle est importante, mais le duo choisit de ne pas faire de référence littérale à des images d’opéra. En lieu et place, ils préfèrent tracer les lignes qui permettent d’esquisser un horizon inconnu.

Jan Vromman

Het museum van het lokale en het universele

Het museum van het lokale en het universele
Het museum van het lokale en het universele

production

me 20.03 - me 20.03.19

Jan Vromman se penche sur l’incertitude de l’être humain – et de l’artiste – quant à son rôle dans l’existence. À cet égard, nous paraissons tous des poètes dénués d’alphabet en quête d’un langage susceptible de générer du sens. Dans sa conférence, Vromman évoque des textes qui expriment ce cheminement de la pensée. L’ensemble est entrecoupé de matériel visuel de ses très riches archives.

Bryana Fritz

Submission submission

performance

Submission submission
Submission submission

performance

je 14.03 - sa 16.03.19

Bryana Fritz adopte un rôle d’hagiographe amateur. À travers quatre portraits, Fritz réalise un collage performative basé sur la vie subvertie des saintes moyenâgeuses ainsi que sur leurs morts et passions enfermées et restreintes. En soumettant son corps physique et digital aux echos sacrés du passé, elle dissècte et exploite les moyens qui donnent forme au corps.