RERUN

Radouan Mriziga

55

dance

55
55
Tue 24.01 - Thu 23.11.17

Since its première at the Kaaistudios, Radouan Mriziga’s first creation has caused a furore. His very characteristic dance style provokes confrontations between physicality and strict concepts, between the sensual and the rational. Using his own body as a measure, he constructs an architectural form, subtly playing with your expectations.

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

dance

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas
Wed 21.06 - Thu 29.06.17

In 1983, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker firmly put her newly formed dance company Rosas on the international map with Rosas danst Rosas. Four dancers dance themselves, again and again. For this revival, an entirely new, young cast will dance Rosas danst Rosas.

tg STAN

Bernhard-trilogie

theatre

Bernhard-trilogie
Bernhard-trilogie
Sat 17.06 - Sun 18.06.17

In 1993 Jolente De Keersmaeker and Damiaan De Schrijver, together with Julien Schoenaerts, created Gewoon Ingewikkeld, based on Einfach Kompliziert by Thomas Bernhard. It was inevitable that Bernhard would continue to be one of STAN’s fellow travellers. Now the theatre company presents three Bernhard adaptations as a trilogy: a true Bernhard marathon that is around six hours long.

Jan Lauwers & Needcompany

The blind poet

theatre

The blind poet
The blind poet
Fri 09.06 - Sat 10.06.17

History is written by winners. Including all the lies, chance encounters, and accidents de parcours. With this realization in mind, Jan Lauwers and Needcompany travel through time by way of the family trees of all the members. After an international tour – and being selected for the TheatreFestival 2016 – The blind poet is returning to the place where it premiered: the Kaaitheater.

Kate McIntosh

All Ears

performance

All Ears
All Ears
Sat 28.01.17

In her successful production All Ears, Kate McIntosh transforms the stage into a laboratory and recording studio. In the silence between the sound recordings, she asks you questions: who are we when we are alone, and what are we missing in our urge for self-actualization? With disarming flair and presence, she blends theatre, variety, stand-up comedy, science and philosophy.

Meg Stuart

UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP

dance

UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP
UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP
Fri 13.01 - Sat 14.01.17

Six performers and three musicians meet one another in a nightclub. Or is it an arena? In this unreliable, underground refuge, we hear thumping basses and playful jazz. UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP was one of the absolute highlights of last season, and more than deserved its nomination for the Theaterfestival 2016.

Rosas

Golden Hours (As you like it)

dance

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)
Tue 20.12 - Thu 22.12.16

What happens when Shakespeare’s rhythmic and poetic visual language becomes dance? Golden Hours (As you like it) – an encounter between Brian Eno and Shakespeare – draws you into a mildly ironic world, where the characters speak a language that doesn’t need deciphering to be grasped, yet isn’t pantomime.

Pieter De Buysser

Book Burning

theatre

Book Burning
Book Burning
Wed 14.12.16

Beeldend kunstenaar Hans Op de Beeck en schrijver-speler Pieter De Buysser brengen voor honderste keer Book Burning. Hans maakt een object, Pieter schrijft zinnen en spreekt ze uit op de scène. Een object, een tekst, een speler: dat is alles wat nodig is voor dit kleinood dat hart én verstand weet te raken.

Salva Sanchis

Radical Light

dance

Radical Light
Radical Light
Tue 13.12.16

In Radical Light, a creation for four dancers, choreographer Salva Sanchis combines experience-related and formal dance. ‘Experience-related’ stands for the dances that we create spontaneously at a party or at home: instinctive but also socially determined. Formal dance, however, is what you see in dance performances, the movements are completely ‘composed’.

Myriam Van Imschoot

What Nature Says

performance

What Nature Says
What Nature Says
Fri 09.12 - Sat 10.12.16

What is nature saying to us? Myriam Van Imschoot carried out research in a zoo, lay down beside a motorway with a trilling tuning fork, and discovered birds in the woods whose songs imitated chainsaws and ring tones. What Nature Says is a radiophonic performance that slowly calls into question your ideas about human beings, nature and machines.

RERUN

Kate McIntosh

All Ears

performance

All Ears
All Ears

performance

sa 28.01.17

Dans All Ears, son spectacle couronné de succès, Kate McIntosh transforme le théâtre en un laboratoire et un studio d’enregistrement. Dans le silence entre les prises de son, elle pose des questions : qui sommes-nous quand nous sommes seuls et où échouons-nous dans notre désir d’accomplissement personnel ? Avec un flair et une présence désarmants, elle marie le théâtre, la variété, la comédie stand-up, la science et la philosophie.

Meg Stuart

UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP

danse

UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP
UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP

danse

ve 13.01 - sa 14.01.17

Six performeurs et trois musiciens se rencontrent dans une boîte de nuit. Ou s’agit-il d’une arène ? Dans cet abri souterrain suspect, on entend gronder les basses et résonner des sonorités jazz espiègles. UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP était un des temps forts absolus de la saison précédente, ce qui n’a pas échappé au jury du Theaterfestival 2016.

Rosas

Golden Hours (As you like it)

danse

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

danse

ma 20.12 - je 22.12.16

Que se passe-t-il quand la rythmique et la poésie du langage imagé de Shakespeare deviennent de la danse ? Golden Hours (As you like it) – une rencontre entre Brian Eno et Shakespeare – entraîne dans un monde quelque peu ironique où les personnages parlent une langue qu’on comprend sans la déchiffrer.

Pieter De Buysser

Book Burning

théâtre

Book Burning
Book Burning

théâtre

me 14.12.16

Après cent représentations de Book Burning, on est tenté de se demander si quelque chose a changé. Tous nos avoirs et nos acquis sont-ils toujours là, comme prescrit, ou certaines choses ont-elles éclos ? Sommes-nous à la fin de nos possibilités ? Ou bien entame-t-on à présent simplement les 100 prochaines représentations ?

Salva Sanchis

Radical Light

danse

Radical Light
Radical Light

danse

ma 13.12.16

Dans Radical Light, une création pour quatre danseurs, le chorégraphe Salva Sanchis combine de la danse formelle et spontanée. Ces dernières sont ces danses qu’on esquisse spontanément lors d’une fête ou seul chez soi – instinctif, mais déterminées sur le plan social. La danse formelle désigne quant à elle ce qu’on voit dans les spectacles de danse : les mouvements sont entièrement composés.

Myriam Van Imschoot

What Nature Says

performance

What Nature Says
What Nature Says

performance

ve 09.12 - sa 10.12.16

Que nous dit la nature ? Myriam Van Imschoot est partie en exploration dans un zoo, s’est couchée avec d’un diapason contre la joue à côté d’une autoroute et a découvert dans la forêt des oiseaux qui imitent le bruit de tronçonneuses et de sonneries de téléphone. What Nature Says est un spectacle radiophonique qui ébranle petit à petit les idées que nous nous faisons de ce qu’est l’homme, la nature et la machine.

Stefaan Van Brabandt

Socrates

théâtre

Socrates
Socrates

théâtre

sa 19.11.16

Socrates est le premier d’une série de monologues de philosophes de la main de Stefaan Van Brabandt. Chaque monologue est écrit comme si le philosophe prenait lui-même la parole. Socrates est un spectacle ironique, émouvant, tragicomique, qui invite à la réflexion.

Ruud Gielens, Rachid Benzine & Hiam Abbass

In the Eyes of Heaven

théâtre

In the Eyes of Heaven
In the Eyes of Heaven

théâtre

ma 15.11.16

Une prostituée dans un pays nord-africain pendant le Printemps arabe vous plonge dans son train-train quotidien de clients qui viennent et repartent. Rachid Benzine – le chef de file européen d’un islam des Lumières – a écrit le texte. Ruud Gielens a opté pour une mise en scène aussi sobre qu’intense. Une reprise de ce spectacle bouleversant, dont la première a eu lieu la saison passée, à peine deux jours après les attentats de Bruxelles.