BE MY GUEST

Ana Pi

The Divine Cypher

dance

The Divine Cypher
The Divine Cypher

dance

Thu 10.02 - Fri 11.02.22

Choreographer and urban dance researcher Ana Pi returns to Kaaitheater with a performative and cinematic creation on Haitian sacred dances. This creation brings Ana Pi into dialogue with experimental filmmaker Maya Deren, Haitian popular cultures, the ancestral sacred movements of the Voodoo and Candomblé cultures, celebrating their pioneering spirit and power.

Ana Pi

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

lecture performance dance

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities
A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

lecture performance

Fri 24.09.21

From South Africa to Jamaica, from the United States to Angola... The young Brazilian choreographer Ana Pi gives a tour of the world of urban dance, through ten cities and ten different types of dance. Each street dance is linked to a city, its violence and injustice, but also to vibrant energy. Ana Pi made Tour du monde des danses urbaines in 2014. Since then, she has presented the play more than 400 times around the world, for audiences of all ages.

Betty Tchomanga

Mascarades

dance

Mascarades
Mascarades

dance

Fri 03.09 - Sat 04.09.21

This dance solo by Betty Tchomanga evolves around the mythological figure of Mami Wata (‘Mammy Water’). She is a goddess of water, a figure from the depths of night, infused with power and sexuality. This stranded mermaid faces the people watching her. This mermaid jumps. Jumps to resist. Jumps to reach. Jumps to become. Jumps to die. Jumps to exist.

BE MY GUEST

Betty Tchomanga

Leçons de Ténèbres

danse

Leçons de Ténèbres
Leçons de Ténèbres
ve 16.12 - sa 17.12.22

Dans Leçons de Ténèbres, quatre corps, trois adultes et une enfant, se font le porte-voix de récits oubliés ou que l’on a voulu faire disparaître. Tour à tour, elles défient, assistent, protègent, soutiennent et font apparaître des visions. Pour cette nouvelle création, Betty Tchomanga poursuit ses recherches sur les cultes vaudou et les croise aux questions d’urgence climatique et sociale.

Ana Pi

The Divine Cypher

danse

The Divine Cypher
The Divine Cypher
je 10.02 - ve 11.02.22

La chorégraphe et chercheuse en danses urbaines Ana Pi revient au Kaaitheater avec une création performative et cinématographique sur les danses sacrées haïtiennes. Cette création fait dialoguer Ana Pi avec la cinéaste expérimentale Maya Deren, les cultures populaires haïtiennes, les mouvements sacrés ancestraux des cultures Vaudou et Candomblé, en célébrant leur pionniérisme et leur puissance.

Ana Pi

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

lecture performance danse

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities
A world tour of urban dance in ten cities
ve 24.09.21

De l’Afrique du Sud à la Jamaïque, des États-Unis à l’Angola… La jeune chorégraphe brésilienne Ana Pi nous fait une visite guidée des danses urbaines à travers le monde, en passant par dix villes et à la faveur de dix types de danse différents. Chaque danse de rue est liée à sa propre ville, à sa violence et à ses injustices, mais aussi à une énergie électrisante. Ana Pi a créé le Tour du monde des danses urbaines en 2014. Depuis, elle a présenté la pièce plus de 400 fois aux quatre coins du monde, pour des publics de tous âges.

Betty Tchomanga

Mascarades

danse

Mascarades
Mascarades
ve 03.09 - sa 04.09.21

Ce solo de danse de Betty Tchomanga évolue autour du personnage mythologique de Mami Wata. Elle est une déesse de l’eau, une figure des profondeurs de la nuit, imprégnée de pouvoir et de sexualité. Cette sirène échouée fait face aux gens qui la regardent. Et cette sirène saute. Sauter pour résister. Sauter pour résister. Sauter pour devenir. Sauter pour mourir. Sauter pour exister.