online

11.11.11

book launch 'From Charity to Justice'

book presentation online

book launch 'From Charity to Justice'
book launch 'From Charity to Justice'

book presentation

Thu 20.05.21

There are many global challenges that connect us worldwide, such as the climate crisis or a pandemic. However, their consequences affect some more than others. This injustice demands a response in the form of international solidarity. But what does international solidarity mean in these turbulent times? And how can we best organise it in the future? Together with 11.11.11 we will zoom in on these themes during the book launch of 11.11.11 director Els Hertogen's new publication From Charity to Justice.

Suzana Milevska

The Clean, the Dirty, and the Hybrid: Ecofeminist Art Practices

talk online

The Clean, the Dirty, and the Hybrid: Ecofeminist Art Practices
The Clean, the Dirty, and the Hybrid: Ecofeminist Art Practices

talk

Thu 20.05.21

Patriarchal systems in different world cultures have long interpreted women as obsessed with cleaning and purification, exactly because the anthropologically driven representation of women as ‘dirty’. In this talk, curator and theorist Suzana Milevska will discuss various art practices of women artists who mounted ecofeminism as a critical frame that aims to deconstruct the assumptions that dwell on stereotypical and patriarchal hierarchical understanding of women's creativity and productivity.

Delphine Hesters & PARTS

Generation XIII

podcast online

Generation XIII
Generation XIII

podcast

Wed 17.03 - Sun 11.07.21

Delphine Hesters’s documentary podcast Generation XIII drafts a portrait of five PARTS students, who started studying in September 2019 at the school for dance by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Through interviews, dance studio recordings, and audio-diary entries, you follow them in the most intense, formative years of their lives.

Mophradat

Why Call It Labor?

talk online

Why Call It Labor?
Why Call It Labor?

talk

Wed 05.05.21

What does it mean to become a mother if you work in the arts sector? Why Call It Labor? On Motherhood and Art Work is a publication by Mophradat that strives to be a conversation starter. For this conversation in Kaaitheater, historian and writer Alia Mossallam talks with some of the book contributors: Mophradat director Mai Abu ElDahab, filmmaker Mary Jirmanus Saba, and writer Mirene Arsanios.

de KOE

The Courage to Be Disliked

theatre online

The Courage to Be Disliked
The Courage to Be Disliked

theatre

Tue 27.04 - Thu 29.04.21

Every week, a fabulously wealthy woman descends the marble steps of her penthouse, straight into the bubbling underbelly of the city. There she observes, fillets and memorises everything she sees. For the first time, Natali Broods plays solo at de KOE, in a documentary about a play that is about making a documentary. With a camera as an additional character and Brussels as an extra, the company stands with one leg on your doorstep and the other on stage.

Eszter Nemethi, Anitha Santhanam, Panav Patadiya & Satchit Puranik

Theatre For the Children of the Future – final talk

talk online

Theatre For the Children of the Future – final talk
Theatre For the Children of the Future – final talk

talk

Sat 17.04.21

This How to Live and Work Now? working group invites you to participate in a fable making game developed in conversation with children between 8-11 years. Together you will play and create a fable that we think (or hope? or imagine?) will be relevant for children who are not yet born. You will learn about their process and toolkit, and then be invited to an open conversation.

Passa Porta Festival

AfroLit

debate online

AfroLit
AfroLit

debate

Tue 23.03 - Sun 11.04.21

AfroLit is the title of a recent anthology of modern literature from the African diaspora in Belgium and the Netherlands, compiled by Dalilla Hermans and Ebissé Rouw. The anthology inspired the Passa Porta Festival and Kaaitheater to compile a full evening programme, highlighting the vitality of Dutch Afro-literature.

Zakiyyah Iman Jackson

On Race, Species and Becoming Human

talk online

On Race, Species and Becoming Human
On Race, Species and Becoming Human

talk

Thu 25.03.21

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters #4. To highlight the International Day Against Racism, Zakiyyah Iman Jackson takes the floor to share her innovative thinking on the intricate relations between race, species and the idea of ‘the human’. Unlike most black studies scholars, she questions the emancipatory promise of ‘humanization’. Instead, she turns to texts by writers like Sylvia Wynter, Audre Lorde, and Octavia Butler.

Rimah Jabr

This is NOT what I want to tell you

podcast online

This is NOT what I want to tell you
This is NOT what I want to tell you

podcast

Thu 18.03.21

In this audio drama, Rimah Jabr sheds light on the wave of teenagers' attacks that took place in 2015 and 2016 in Palestine. You follow Madama, a 15-year-old sleepwalking girl who finds herself in detention accused of a murder attempt.

Anita L. Allen

Privacy Through the Lenses of Race and Gender

talk online

Privacy Through the Lenses of Race and Gender
Privacy Through the Lenses of Race and Gender

talk

Mon 08.03.21

Privacy is a crucial tool in the freedom-lover's kit for a successful life. But how can we understand the different impact race and gender have on the enjoyment of privacy and data protection rights?  On International Women’s Day, Anita L. Allen will attempt to answer that question.

Azahara Ubera Biedma / Coral-Lab

Plant Readers Sessions

debate workshop online

Plant Readers Sessions
Plant Readers Sessions

debate

Sat 03.10 - Sat 06.03.21

The Plant Readers workshop is no ordinary reading group. During these sessions, we will stage queer relationships between Plants and their human allies and recite spells together to develop new visions of the future. A series of texts will awaken your senses to create new forms of plant-human intimacies. All this in an attempt to move – as Natasha Myers calls it – from the Anthropocene to the Plantropocene.

Agnes Trzak & Geertrui Cazaux

(Dis)ability and Animality

talk online

(Dis)ability and Animality
(Dis)ability and Animality

talk

Tue 02.03.21

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters #3. Over the course of this evening, the intersections between animal liberation and disability liberation are explored. How do speciesism and ableism intersect and operate in relation to other -isms in a system of oppression? If certain abilities are the prerequisite to include other animals into the circle of moral consideration, what ethical and practical implications does this hold for humans who do not possess these abilities?

Headquarters of The Mouvement

By any beats necessary: stop police impunity

performance online

By any beats necessary: stop police impunity
By any beats necessary: stop police impunity

performance

Sun 28.02.21

This year, two young men have already lost their lives in a Brussels police station: Ibrahima Barrie and Ilyes Abbedou. When around 100 demonstrators took to the streets to protest against police impunity, 245 people were brutally arrested, many of them passers-by. And for the first time, a police union broke the culture of silence. On Sunday, Headquarters of the Movement invited several dancers and spoken word artists to give a voice to victims of police violence.

Olave Talks with Kai-Cheng Thom

On Love, Healing and Community Care

talk online

On Love, Healing and Community Care
On Love, Healing and Community Care

talk

Fri 26.02.21

Kai Cheng Thom's latest publication I Hope We Choose Love has nurtured and further fermented Olave Ndunwanje’s search for the right questions to perceived and/or experienced complications of her praxis of community care, solidarity, accountability, hope and despair, love and healing, organising and mobilising. On this evening, Olave discusses with Kai-Cheng a selection of excerpts of her essay collection. Join them for a rich evening of explorative and robust thinking, vulnerable and fragile ideas, and generosity and care.

State of the Arts

Social Security

debate online

Social Security
Social Security

debate

Sat 27.02.21

How to develop better ways of working in the performing arts sector today – and in the future? As part of How to Live and Work Now?, State Of The Arts (SOTA) started a self-organised working group on social security for artists. On 27/02 the reflection group throws the doors open: they organise an (online) public discussion and collective process to bring together as many viewpoints and reflections as possible on the reform of the artists' status.

En ligne

11.11.11

Présentation du livre 'Van liefdadig naar rechtvaardig'

présentation livre En ligne

Présentation du livre 'Van liefdadig naar rechtvaardig'
Présentation du livre 'Van liefdadig naar rechtvaardig'

présentation livre

je 20.05.21

Beaucoup de défis mondiaux nous relient à l’échelle planétaire, comme la crise du climat ou les pandémies. Leurs conséquences affectent toutefois certains plus que d’autres. Cette injustice nécessite une réponse sous forme de solidarité internationale. Mais que signifie la solidarité internationale en ces temps turbulents ? Et comment bien l’organiser à l’avenir ? Avec l’organisation 11.11.11, nous nous focalisons sur ces thèmes à l’occasion du lancement du livre de la directrice de 11.11.11, Els Hertogen, intitulé Van liefdadig naar rechtvaardig (Du charitable à l’équitable).

Suzana Milevska

The Clean, the Dirty, and the Hybrid: Ecofeminist Art Practices

talk En ligne

The Clean, the Dirty, and the Hybrid: Ecofeminist Art Practices
The Clean, the Dirty, and the Hybrid: Ecofeminist Art Practices

talk

je 20.05.21

Les systèmes patriarcaux dans les différentes cultures du monde ont longtemps présenté la femme comme obsédée par le nettoyage et la propreté, précisément à cause d’une interprétation de la femme comme un être « impur ». Dans cette conférence, la commissaire d’exposition et théoricienne Suzana Milevska aborde les pratiques artistiques de quelques femmes artistes qui appliquent l’écoféminisme pour déconstruire les conceptions patriarco-hiérarchiques de la créativité et de la productivité des femmes.

Delphine Hesters & PARTS

Generation XIII

podcast En ligne

Generation XIII
Generation XIII

podcast

me 17.03 - di 11.07.21

Le podcast documentaire de Delphine Hesters, Generation XIII, brosse le portrait de cinq étudiants qui ont commencé leurs études en septembre 2019 à l’école de danse contemporaine PARTS de Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. A travers des interviews, des enregistrements dans les studios de danse et des fragments sur la vie quotidienne, enregistrés sur leurs téléphones portables on les suit dans leurs années les plus intenses et les plus formatrices de leur vie.

Mophradat

Why Call It Labor?

talk En ligne

Why Call It Labor?
Why Call It Labor?

talk

me 05.05.21

Devenir maman lorsqu’on est active dans le secteur artistique, qu’est-ce que cela implique ? Why Call It Labor? On Motherhood and Art Work est une publication de Mophradat qui vise à lancer le débat. Entre autres au Kaaitheater, où l’historienne et écrivaine Alia Mossallam s’entretiendra avec plusieurs femmes dont il est question dans le livre : la directrice de Mophradat, Mai Abu ElDahab ; la cinéaste Mary Jirmanus Saba ; et l’écrivaine Mirene Arsanios.

de KOE

The Courage to Be Disliked

théâtre En ligne

The Courage to Be Disliked
The Courage to Be Disliked

théâtre

ma 27.04 - je 29.04.21

Une femme riche descend chaque semaine l’escalier en marbre de son penthouse qui la mène tout droit dans le ventre bouillonnant de la ville. Là, elle observe, file et mémorise en détail tout ce qu’elle voit. Natali Broods joue pour la première fois seule sur scène dans un spectacle de la compagnie de KOE, un documentaire sur une pièce de théâtre qui traite de la réalisation d’un documentaire. Avec une caméra comme partenaire et Bruxelles comme figurant, la compagnie a un pied sur votre trottoir et un pied sur scène.

Passa Porta Festival

AfroLit

débat En ligne

AfroLit
AfroLit

débat

ma 23.03 - di 11.04.21

AfroLit est le titre d’une anthologie récente de littérature moderne de la diaspora africaine en Belgique néerlandophone et aux Pays-Bas. Ce recueil composé par Dalilla Hermans et Ebissé Rouw a inspiré au Festival Passa Porta et aux Kaaitheater l’idée d’un programme de pleine soirée du même titre qui met en avant la vitalité de la littérature afrodescendante néerlandophone.

Zakiyyah Iman Jackson

On Race, Species and Becoming Human

talk En ligne

On Race, Species and Becoming Human
On Race, Species and Becoming Human

talk

je 25.03.21

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters #4. Dans le cadre de la Journée internationale contre le racisme, Zakiyyah Iman Jackson se focalise sur les relations complexes entre origine, espèce et l’idée « de l’être humain ». Contrairement à la plupart des chercheurs en études afro-américaines, elle remet en question la force et la promesse émancipatrice de « l’humanisation ». En lieu et place, elle se tourne plutôt vers des écrivains comme Sylvia Wynter, Audre Lorde, Octavia Butler et d’autres.

Rimah Jabr

This is NOT what I want to tell you

podcast En ligne

This is NOT what I want to tell you
This is NOT what I want to tell you

podcast

je 18.03.21

Dans cet audiodrame, Rimah Jabr met en lumière la vague d’attaques commises en Palestine par des adolescents en 2015 et 2016. On suit Madama, une jeune fille somnambule de 15 ans qui est en détention, accusée de tentative de meurtre.

Anita L. Allen

Privacy Through the Lenses of Race and Gender

talk En ligne

Privacy Through the Lenses of Race and Gender
Privacy Through the Lenses of Race and Gender

talk

lu 08.03.21

Comment l’origine et le genre déterminent-ils dans quelle mesure on peut invoquer la protection de la vie privée et des données personnelles ? Durant cette Journée internationale des femmes, Anita L. Allen, professeure de droit et de philosophie, répondra à cette question.

Azahara Ubera Biedma / Coral-Lab

Plant Readers Sessions

débat workshop En ligne

Plant Readers Sessions
Plant Readers Sessions

débat

sa 03.10 - sa 06.03.21

Le groupe de Plant Readers n’est pas un simple groupe de lecture. Pour développer de nouvelles images d’avenir, on s’attaque au cours de ces sessions à la mise en scène de relations queer entre des plantes et leurs alliés humains. Une série de textes éveillera nos sens à de nouvelles manières d’inventer de l’intimité entre plante et humain. Tout cela dans une tentative de faire évoluer l’Anthropocène vers le Planthropocène, comme Natasha Myers le qualifie de manière si frappante.

Agnes Trzak & Geertrui Cazaux

(Dis)ability and Animality

talk En ligne

(Dis)ability and Animality
(Dis)ability and Animality

talk

ma 02.03.21

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters #3. Lors de cette double conférence, il sera question de la libération des animaux d’une part et d’êtres humains handicapés, d’autre part. Comment le spécisme et le capacitisme s’entrecroisent-ils et sont-ils reliés à d’autres « -ismes » au sein d’un système oppressif ? Si certaines aptitudes sont la condition préalable à la reconnaissance des animaux en tant qu’êtres moraux, cela doit avoir des implications éthiques et pratiques pour les êtres humains qui ne disposent pas de ces compétences ?

Headquarters of The Mouvement

By any beats necessary: stop police impunity

performance En ligne

By any beats necessary: stop police impunity
By any beats necessary: stop police impunity

performance

di 28.02.21

Cette année, deux jeunes gens déjà ont perdu la vie dans un commissariat de police à Bruxelles : Ibrahima Barrie et Ilyes Abbedou. Lorsqu’une centaine de manifestants est descendue dans la rue pour protester contre l’impunité de la police, 245 personnes ont été brutalement arrêtées, dont bon nombre de passants. Pour la première fois, un syndicat policier brise la culture du silence. Dimanche, Headquarters of the Mouvement invite plusieurs danseur·se·s et artistes de la parole afin de donner une voix aux victimes de violences policières.

State of the Arts

Social Security

débat En ligne

Social Security
Social Security

débat

sa 27.02.21

Dans le cadre de How to Live and Work Now? State Of The Arts (SOTA) à créé un groupe de réflexion sur la sécurité sociale des artistes. Le 27 février, le groupe ouvre grand les portes : on organise une discussion publique (en ligne) et un processus collectif permettant de réunir autant d’opinions et de réflexions que possible sur la réforme du statut d’artiste.

Olave Talks with Kai-Cheng Thom

On Love, Healing and Community Care

talk En ligne

On Love, Healing and Community Care
On Love, Healing and Community Care

talk

ve 26.02.21

Olave Nduwanje engage la conversation avec Kai Cheng Thom, dont la dernière publication en date I Hope We Choose Love a nourri la quête d’Olave Nduwanje de questions pertinentes – et parfois complexes – autour des soins communautaires, de la solidarité, de la responsabilité, de l’espoir et du désespoir, de l’amour et de la guérison, de l’organisation et de la mobilisation. Lors de cette soirée, Olave Nduwanje et Kai Cheng Thom font une lecture de quelques passages de ce recueil de textes. Rejoignez-les pour une soirée riche en réflexions exploratrices et solides, en idées fragiles, en générosité et en sollicitude.

Ahilan Ratnamohan & Sulaiman Addonia

The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages

débat En ligne

The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages
The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages

débat

ma 23.02.21

Avec The Wounds of Multilingualism, le Kaaitheater et Passa Porta lancent une série qui met en lumière les complexités humaines, culturelles et politiques autour du plurilinguisme. Une série qui vous immerge pour ainsi dire profondément dans le bain du plurilinguisme. Sulaiman Addonia et Ahilan Ratnamohan prennent la parole. Ils racontent des histoires particulières sur l’impact de la migration, l’apprentissage de nouvelles langues, la perte de la langue maternelle, le privilège de la maîtrise de la langue…