IN/FINITY An infinite project about and in finitude

IN/FINITY
IN/FINITY

26.10.2017

The first outpatients’ clinic for supportive and palliative care TOPAZ (VUB) (founded by Wim Distelmans) offers support to patients with incurable disease and their loved ones. The Kaaitheater is supporting their three-year artistic-participative project IN/FINITY, in which artists and the guests/patients at the centre engage in dialogue on the theme of (in)finity. It is not unthinkable that some of the participants will never see the artistic end result. You will see a glimpse of their method and process, half way through.

To close the evening, the artists will debate scientists and one another about transhumanism, the importance of touch in art and caregiving, the effect of breathing on wellbeing, and the power of the imagination when ill. In a mix of exhibitions and discussions.

 

PROGRAMME

17:00 > 19:40 (continuously, 20 min.) Emi Kodama
Performance: It begins at the tip of your pencil

Using blind drawings and the power of a simple story, Emi Kodama’s performance invites you to a trip around your imagination. The Canadian artist explores the everyday through short stories that are depicted in performances, installations, video, sound, photography and drawings.


17:00 > 17:30 Mike Schmid/Ictus    
Performance: Breathcore

A Breathcore is a choir that sings without a conductor or score, and which explores various forms of collectiveness through breathing – the sound, the vibration, the tactility. The performers’ breathing resonates and creates a hazy field of breathing landscapes.


18:00 > 19:00 Jorge León & TOPAZ
Book presentation: AND?

Making a good portrait of someone is a way of bringing them home, whether it be in written, photographic or painted form. Twelve TOPAZ guests explore their self-image.

The book will be presented by Flemish Minister for Culture Sven GatzJorge León, Wim Distelmans, Marc Noppen, Caroline Pauwels, and the (artistic) collaborators, guests and volunteers at TOPAZ.


19:30 Vera Tussing   
Try out Staging Encounters: Tactile Quartet

Much of Vera Tussing’s work has focused on the magic hidden in movement and touch. She and her team invite the guests of TOPAZ to discuss and experiment around modes of situating the audience within a theatrical experience. She will be sharing excerpts from these processes.


20:30 the artists of IN/FINITY

Om niet te gronde te gaan. Persoonlijke notities bij IN/FINITY
by Rudi Meulemans
+
Panel discussion A road map for artistic practices in (health)care
with Jorge León, Rudi Meulemans, Emi Kodama, Vera Tussing, Michael Schmid, prof. Free De Backer (moderator).

programmaboekje - feuille de salle - programme booklet

Related content

Join a special breathing experiment!

Join a special breathing experiment!
Join a special breathing experiment!

Nieuws

Fri 29.09.17

The project BREATHCORE has been an ongoing investigation of the dynamics of breath within a social, artistic and political context. For the final development of this work we seek 30 volunteers who are motivated to experiment with breath and are willing to play the role of spectators and contribute with feedback.

Our Daily Death - Opening Night

Our Daily Death  - Opening Night
Our Daily Death  - Opening Night

production

Wed 25.10.17

Our contemporary Western culture generally looks on death and dying with fear and denial. In Our Daily Death, we are examining the other side of the coin by welcoming artists and scientists who consider death to be part of our daily life.

Claire Croizé & Etienne Guilloteau

Mer-

dance music

Mer-
Mer-

production

Fri 27.10.17

Five dancers and five musicians perform a polyphonic piece about death and saying goodbye. Nevertheless, there is also space for lightness. From the moment you are born, death is constantly approaching: life in freefall. By acknowledging death, Croizé and Guilloteau aim to celebrate life to the full.

Robert Steijn

Walk Into Nothingness

ritual

Walk Into Nothingness
Walk Into Nothingness

production

Wed 25.10 - Fri 27.10.17

In Buddhist monasteries, people learn through meditation to look at life from the perspective of their own mortality. Robert Steijn has turned this meditative practice into a ritual. Together, you will walk around the city, as though you were taking this walk for the last time.

Thomas Quartier

Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude

talk

Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude
Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude

production

Fri 27.10.17

How can we deal with finitude? By living with death. How can that be real? By performing death. In this lecture Thomas Quartier – a Benedictine monk and professor for Ritual and Monastic Studies at KU Leuven – ritually links life and death by reflecting on music, embodiment and transcendence.

Jorge León

Forever Kids (6-8y)

workshop

Forever Kids (6-8y)
Forever Kids (6-8y)

production

Wed 25.10.17

Along with a group of children, Jorge León explores playful perspectives on the theme of immortality. The children will pretend to die and come back to life, join fun activities around the end and leaving, perform the end of a play, and explore ways of leaving the stage and entering it again.

IN/FINITY An infinite project about and in finitude

IN/FINITY
IN/FINITY

26.10.2017

TOPAZ, (VUB – fondé par Wim Distelmans) est le premier centre de jour offrant soins palliatifs et soutien aux patients atteints de maladies incurables et à leurs proches. Le Kaaitheater épaule leur projet artistique participatif triennal IN/FINITY, dans lequel les hôtes/patients du centre et des artistes engagent le dialogue autour du thème infinité/finitude. Il n’est pas impensable que certains participants ne voient jamais le résultat artistique final. À mi-chemin, le public est invité à assister à un mélange de moments de présentation publique et de discussions.

À la fin de la soirée les artistes discutent aves des scientifiques et entre eux également de transhumanisme, de l’importance du contact physique dans l’art et dans les soins, de l’effet du souffle sur le bien-être et de la force de l’imagination dans un processus de maladie.

 

PROGRAMME

17:00 > 19:40 (continuously, 20 min.) Emi Kodama
Performance: It begins at the tip of your pencil

Au moyen de dessins à l’aveugle et de la force d’une histoire simple, Emi Kodama nous invite lors d’une performance en tête à tête à effectuer un voyage à travers l’imaginaire. La Canadienne examine le quotidien par le biais de récits brefs qui adoptent la forme de performances, d’installations, de vidéos, de paysages sonores, de photographies et de dessins.


17:00 > 17:30 Mike Schmid/Ictus    
Performance: Breathcore

A Breathcore is a choir that sings without a conductor or score, and which explores various forms of collectiveness through breathing – the sound, the vibration, the tactility. The performers’ breathing resonates and creates a hazy field of breathing landscapes.


18:00 > 19:00 Jorge León & TOPAZ
Book presentation: AND?

Réaliser un bon portrait de quelqu’un est une manière de l’identifier. Que ce soit à travers l’écriture, la photographie ou la peinture. Douze hôtes de TOPAZ se sont attaqués à leur propre image.

Le livre est présenté par le Ministre flamand de la Culture Sven Gatz, Jorge León, Wim Distelmans, Marc Noppen, Caroline Pauwels et les collaborateurs (artistiques), les hôtes et les bénévoles de TOPAZ.


19:30 Vera Tussing
Try out Staging EncountersTactile Quartet

Une bonne partie l’œuvre de Vera Tussing se focalise sur la magie cachée que recèle le mouvement. Elle et son équipe invitent les hôtes de TOPAZ à discuter et expérimenter des modes de mise en situation du public durant une expérience théâtrale. Elle partagera des extraits de ces processus.


20:30 the artists of IN/FINITY

Om niet te gronde te gaan. Persoonlijke notities bij IN/FINITY [Notes personnelles à IN/FINITY]
par Rudi Meulemans
+
Panel discussion A road map for artistic practices in (health)care
avec Jorge León, Rudi Meulemans, Emi Kodama, Vera Tussing, Michael Schmid, prof. Free De Backer (modérateur).

Sujets apparentés

Participez à une expérience particulière sur la respiration !

Participez à une expérience particulière sur la respiration !
Participez à une expérience particulière sur la respiration !

Nieuws

ve 29.09.17

Le projet BREATHCORE consiste en une recherche continue sur la dynamique de la respiration dans un contexte social, artistique et politique. Nous cherchons 30 volontaires motivés à faire une expérience sur la respiration et disposés à jouer le rôle de spectateurs et à contribuer en donnant du feed-back.

Our Daily Death - Opening Night

Our Daily Death  - Opening Night
Our Daily Death  - Opening Night

production

me 25.10.17

Dans notre culture occidentale contemporaine, la mort est envisagée avec angoisse et déni. Lors du programme Our Daily Death, nous inversons la tendance. Nous invitons des artistes et des scientifiques qui considèrent la mort comme faisant partie intégrante de la vie quotidienne.

Claire Croizé & Etienne Guilloteau

Mer-

danse musique

Mer-
Mer-

production

ve 27.10.17

Cinq danseurs et cinq musiciens interprètent une pièce sur la mort et sur l’adieu. Il reste néanmoins de l’espace pour la légèreté. Dès la naissance, la mort s’inscrit comme un mouvement continu : la vie en chute libre. Précisément en acceptant et reconnaissant la mort, Croizé et Guilloteau désirent célébrer pleinement la vie.

Robert Steijn

Walk Into Nothingness

rituel

Walk Into Nothingness
Walk Into Nothingness

production

me 25.10 - ve 27.10.17

Dans les monastères bouddhistes, on apprend par le biais de la méditation à contempler la vie à partir de sa propre condition de mortel. Robert Steijn a fait de cet exercice de méditation un rituel. Ensemble, on se promène dans la ville comme si c’était la dernière fois.

Thomas Quartier

Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude

talk

Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude
Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude

production

ve 27.10.17

Comment s’accommoder de l’idée de la finitude ? En vivant avec la mort. Comment la rendre réelle ? En l’interprétant. Dans cette conférence, Thomas Quartier – moine bénédictin et professeur rattaché à la Faculté de Théologie et d’Études religieuses de l’université KU Leuven où il enseigne l’étude des rituels et de la vie monacale – relie rituellement la vie et la mort par une réflexion autour de la musique, l’incarnation et la transcendance.

Jorge León

Forever Kids (6-8ans)

workshop

Forever Kids (6-8ans)
Forever Kids (6-8ans)

production

me 25.10.17

Avec des enfants, Jorge León explore des perspectives ludiques sur le thème de l’immortalité. Les enfants font semblant de s’en aller et puis de revenir à la vie et exécutent des tâches amusantes autour de concepts comme la fin et le départ, jouent la fin d’un spectacle et partent en quête de manières de quitter la scène et puis d’y revenir.