talk

Christoph De Boeck

On sound and imagination

talk

On sound and imagination
On sound and imagination

production

Sat 21.10.17

Christoph De Boeck (artistic director of Overtoon) explains how blind people perceive their environment by interpreting subtle acoustic changes. Thanks to little echoes, they are literally able to imag(e)ine the space. He also discusses several examples of artists who have also employed sounds and echolocation to create spaces. Afterwards, Christoph will sit down with Anke Van Meer and Saïd Gharbi.

Thomas Quartier

Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude

talk

Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude
Performing Death. Rituals and Spirituality of Human Finitude

production

Fri 27.10.17

How can we deal with finitude? By living with death. How can that be real? By performing death. In this lecture Thomas Quartier – a Benedictine monk and professor for Ritual and Monastic Studies at KU Leuven – ritually links life and death by reflecting on music, embodiment and transcendence.

Darian Leader

Hands: What We Do with Them – and Why

talk

Hands: What We Do with Them – and Why
Hands: What We Do with Them – and Why

production

Wed 15.11.17

Is it true that our only realities are increasingly virtual and digital devices have made us unable to concentrate? Psychoanalyst Darian Leader’s suggestion as to how we should think about these cultural transformations is nothing if not bold and original.

Nathalie Pattyn

Light and Dark

talk

Light and Dark
Light and Dark

production

Thu 21.12.17

Nathalie Pattyn researches the influence of light and dark on the quality of sleep. She spent long research periods on Antarctica during the summer, with almost permanent sunlight, and during the winter, when the sun never rises. She discusses physical reactions to the presence or absence of light, and the influence of our biological clock on sleep patterns.

Edel Maex & Henk Oosterling

Tussen Oost en West

talk

Tussen Oost en West
Tussen Oost en West

production

Mon 05.02.18

Learning to think with your body, like in Japanese martial arts, is becoming increasingly popular in the West. Dutch philosopher Henk Oosterling explores the connection between this Buddhist-oriented body-thought and Western, critical rationality. He is joined by psychologist and zen teacher Edel Maex – one of the founders of Mindfulness Training in our regions.

the vacuum cleaner, Hannah Hull, Erik Thys & Inne Goris

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

talk

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove
On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

production

Fri 23.02.18

People suffering from mental illness frequently face prejudice and discrimination. When they make art, their work is often confronted with a similar stigma. Erik Thys will argue that creativity and psychiatric vulnerability are closely related. Also present are Hannah Hull and the vacuum cleaner – to discuss their Madlove-project – and Inne Goris (Huis).

Brussels Studies Institute

Nacht van de Kennis over Brussel 2018

talk debate

Nacht van de Kennis over Brussel 2018
Nacht van de Kennis over Brussel 2018

production

Fri 16.03.18

Is Brussels complex? Absolutely. Administratively, culturally, socially, economically, and demographically Brussels is anything but easy. But this complexity does not mean that you cannot understand or learn to understand Brussels. The sixth Night of Knowledge on Brussels will again explore this urban district and all its varied dimensions.

Jone Salomonsen, Koen Van Synghel & Kristin Verellen

Mourning, Commemoration & New Rituals

debate talk

Mourning, Commemoration & New Rituals
Mourning, Commemoration & New Rituals

production

Wed 21.03.18

On 21/03, spring promises a new beginning, but also the anniversary of the attacks on Brussels. Over the past two years, we have seen how resilient a community can be, despite the trauma and upheaval.

Antoon Vandevelde

The Gift

talk

The Gift
The Gift

production

Thu 19.04.18

Antoon Vandevelde has studied economics and philosophy at the University of Leuven. His research is mainly situated in the field of economic and biomedical ethics and political philosophy. During this talk, he will discuss how the issue of the gift interferes with the issue of the foundations of every human community.

Ecopolis

Digital Together

talk debate

Digital Together
Digital Together

production

Sun 08.10.17

Obtaining and sharing information, campaigning, making friends, dating, working, gaming… we are increasingly doing these things online. Hardware, apps and digital alter egos are giving new meanings to commitment, cooperation and connections between people. What are the implications of this digital reality for building a shared horizon?

Birthday Speech & Marianne Van Kerkhoven Lecture #1

talk

Birthday Speech & Marianne Van Kerkhoven Lecture #1
Birthday Speech & Marianne Van Kerkhoven Lecture #1

production

Thu 05.10.17

Flemish Minister of Culture Sven Gatz will deliver a birthday speech. Afterwards, theatre directors Pieter De Buysser, Kris Verdonck, and Sarah De Bosschere will deliver the first Marianne Van Kerkhoven Lecture – a lecture in the words of the playwright herself.

Richard Schechner

Theatre, Performance, and Ritual

talk

Theatre, Performance, and Ritual
Theatre, Performance, and Ritual

production

Wed 04.10.17

Theatre and ritual are intertwined in the Ramlila of Ramnagar, India. The 31 day performance enacts the story of the warrior-king, Rama. Staged in many locations throughout the city, the Ramlila features gods, demons, royals, animals, and ordinary people. Richard Schechner – theatre director, professor at the Tisch School of the Arts, and founder of The Performance Group – has researched the event since the 1970s.

talk

Christoph De Boeck

À propos de son et d’imagination

talk

À propos de son et d’imagination
À propos de son et d’imagination

production

sa 21.10.17

Christophe De Boeck (directeur artistique d’Overtoon) raconte comment des aveugles perçoivent leur environnement en interprétant de subtils changements acoustiques. À l’aide d’échos minimaux naît littéralement une « image » de l’espace. De Boeck expose aussi des exemples d’espaces que des artistes ont créés en travaillant avec des sons et de l’écholocalisation. Ensuite, il engage la discussion avec Anke Van Meer et Saïd Gharbi.

Darian Leader

Hands: What We Do with Them – and Why

talk

Hands: What We Do with Them – and Why
Hands: What We Do with Them – and Why

production

me 15.11.17

Est-ce vrai que nos seules réalités sont de plus en plus virtuelles et que tous nos outils numériques nous ont rendus incapables de nous concentrer ? La suggestion du psychanalyste Darian Leader quant à la façon dont nous devrions envisager ces transformations culturelles est assurément hardie et originale.

T.J. Demos

Against the Anthropocene

talk

Against the Anthropocene
Against the Anthropocene

production

sa 16.12.17

Face à l’attention croissante de la part des sciences, des arts et des lettres pour la proposition de considérer que nous vivons une époque sous l’emprise de l’homme, appelée Anthropocène, T. J. Demos interroge cette thèse de manière critique et en indique les limites.

Nathalie Pattyn

Light and Dark

talk

Light and Dark
Light and Dark

production

je 21.12.17

Nathalie Pattyn mène des recherches sur l’influence de la lumière et de l’obscurité sur la qualité du sommeil. Elle a séjourné un long moment en Antarctique lors de l’été polaire, lorsque le soleil ne se couche pas et lors de l’hiver polaire, lorsque le soleil ne se lève pas. Elle traite des réactions physiques à l’absence ou la présence permanente de lumière et de l’influence de ces phénomènes sur notre horloge biologique et nos phases de sommeil.

Edel Maex & Henk Oosterling

Tussen Oost en West

talk

Tussen Oost en West
Tussen Oost en West

production

lu 05.02.18

Apprendre à réfléchir avec son corps, comme dans les arts martiaux japonais, gagne toujours plus de terrain en Occident. Le philosophe néerlandais Henk Oosterling cherche un lien entre cette pensée physique d’inspiration bouddhiste et le rationalisme critique occidental. Il est rejoint par le psychiatre et professeur de zen Edel Maex – l’un des pionniers du Mindfulness Training en Flandre et aux Pays-Bas. Il dirige depuis quelques années un groupe de zen à Anvers.

the vacuum cleaner, Hannah Hull, Erik Thys & Inne Goris

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

talk

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove
On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

production

ve 23.02.18

Les personnes souffrant de maladie mentale font fréquemment face à des préjugés et des discriminations. Quand elles créent de l’art, leurs œuvres se heurtent souvent à des stigmates analogues. Erik Thys défendra l’idée que la créativité et la vulnérabilité psychiatrique sont étroitement liées. Aussi présent sont the vacuum cleaner et Hannah Hull – pour discuter de leur projet Madlove – et Inne Goris (Huis).

Brussels Studies Institute

Nacht van de Kennis over Brussel 2018

talk débat

Nacht van de Kennis over Brussel 2018
Nacht van de Kennis over Brussel 2018

production

ve 16.03.18

Bruxelles est-elle complexe ? Très certainement ! Sur le plan administratif, culturel, social, économique et démographique, Bruxelles est tout sauf univoque et homogène. Mais cette complexité ne signifie pas que l’on ne puisse pas comprendre Bruxelles ou apprendre à la comprendre. Cette sixième Nuit de Savoir sur Bruxelles passe à nouveau la Région Bruxelles-Capitale au crible dans toutes ses dimensions diverses.

Jone Salomonsen, Koen Van Synghel & Kristin Verellen

Mourning, Commemoration & New Rituals

débat talk

Mourning, Commemoration & New Rituals
Mourning, Commemoration & New Rituals

production

me 21.03.18

Le 21 mars, le printemps promet un renouveau, mais nous commémorons également les attentats de Bruxelles. Au cours des deux dernières années, nous avons pu constater à quel point une société peut être résiliente, malgré le traumatisme et le bouleversement. Nous avons invité Jone Salomonson au Kaaitheater.

Antoon Vandevelde

The Gift

talk

The Gift
The Gift

production

je 19.04.18

Antoon Vandevelde a étudié l’économie et la philosophie à l’Université de Louvain. Sa recherche se situe surtout dans le domaine de l’éthique économique et biomédicale et de la philosophie politique. Pendant sa conférence, il abordera la façon dont le don, le cadeau interfère dans les fondements de chaque communauté humaine.

Jeroen Olyslaegers

De Zielhouderij

talk

De Zielhouderij
De Zielhouderij

production

sa 21.04.18

« Nulle part au monde, on ne diagnostique autant de dépression et n’avale autant de médicaments. Nous sommes un pays d’analgésiques ! Soyons nos antidouleurs mutuels. Comment ? Par le biais de rituels. » De Zielhouderij – [la ménagerie des âmes] initiée, entre autres, par Jeroen Olyslaegers et sa compagne Nikkie Van Lierop – souhaite aider les gens à retrouver le lien avec eux-mêmes et avec les autres.

Ecopolis

Digital Together

talk débat

Digital Together
Digital Together

production

di 08.10.17

Comment nous informons-nous, partageons-nous des connaissances, militons-nous, nouons-nous des amitiés et des relations amoureuses, travaillons-nous, jouons-nous… ? Nous recourrons de plus en plus au numérique. Hardware, applications et alter ego en ligne donnent une nouvelle teneur à l’engagement, la collaboration et le lien entre les gens. Que signifie la réalité numérique pour l’élaboration d’un horizon partagé ?

Discours d’anniversaire & conférence Marianne Van Kerkhoven #1

talk

Discours d’anniversaire & conférence Marianne Van Kerkhoven #1
Discours d’anniversaire & conférence Marianne Van Kerkhoven #1

production

je 05.10.17

Le ministre flamand de la Culture, Sven Gatz, tiendra un discours d’anniversaire. Ensuite les gens de théâtre Pieter De Buysser, Kris Verdonck et Sarah De Bosschere donneront la première conférence Marianne Van Kerkhoven – une conférence avec les mots de la dramaturge elle-même.

Richard Schechner

Theatre, Performance, and Ritual

talk

Theatre, Performance, and Ritual
Theatre, Performance, and Ritual

production

me 04.10.17

Richard Schechner, professeur en Études des Arts du spectacle vivant à la Tisch School of the Arts et fondateur de la compagnie The Performance Group, a écrit de nombreux ouvrages sur la relation entre le théâtre, la performance et le rituel. En se servant, entre autres, du Ramila de Ramangar – une représentation dramatique rituelle indienne durant 31 jours –, Schechner explore ce qu’anthropologie et théâtre nous apprennent l’un de l’autre.