Experiencing dance in new ways

Visual stimulants often dominate productions. But what happens when you have to rely on your sense of hearing and touch? Upon the invitation of the Kaaitheater and European partners Wiener Tanzwochen, CN D (Paris) and The Place (London), Vera Tussing and Anne Juren create work that can be experienced by people who can see, but also by those who are blind or visually impaired. A preference for touch over sight, for the close over the distant. We will provide audio description for Volmir Cordeiro’s dance production: a dance professional will describe live what is happening onstage. Mette Edvardsen speaks from within the audience, addressing an empty stage, and thus allows you to create your mental images.

 

The performances

Volmir Cordeiro — L’œil la bouche et le reste

After a series of solos, Volmir Cordeiro has created his first work for four dancers. In L’œil la bouche et le reste, he invites you to change your perspective on sight. He starts with the eye and then extends his exploration to all spherical things: the sun, an egg, the moon, an arena. He has created a dance that aims to express the physical movement and behaviour of the eye: crying, staring, winking, spying… The interior, the hidden and even the pre-human and cannibalistic is exposed in this intense, almost obsessive inquiry into dance, and into the ineffable itself.

When? Wednesday 18th of October 2017
Where? Kaaistudio's, O.L.V. Van Vaakstraat 81, 1000 Brussels
Price? € 10 (reduction price) – your companion joins you for free
 

Programme
19:30 – meeting with Volmir Cordeiro and dancers, touch tour in the Kaaistudio's & audio-introduction
20:30 – dance performance with audio description (only in Dutch and French)
21:45 — end of the performance

 

Mette Edvardsen — We to be

Mette Edvardsen is drastically expanding the classical stage. She is performing We to be at three locations simultaneously: in the book from which she reads aloud, on the empty stage as a projection screen of your imagination, and in the ether as a live radio broadcast. This production is the final instalment in Edvardsen’s trilogy in which language and voice predominate and visual aspects are transferred to the imaginations of the audience. In the first part, Black, she made invisible objects appear simply by naming them. In No Title, she did the inverse, by indicating what was not there.

When? Friday 20th + Saturday 21th of October 2017
Where? Kaaistudio's, O.L.V. Van Vaakstraat 81, 1000 Brussels
Price? € 10 (reduction price) – your companion joins you for free
What? theater/performance, in English

Programme
19:30 – meeting with the actors, touch tour in the Kaaistudio's & audio-introduction
20:30 – performance
21:20 — end of the performance

 

Vera Tussing — The Palm of Your Hand II

In 2015, Vera Tussing created the production The Palm of Your Hand, in which social behaviour and classical choreographic patterns were brought very close to the viewers, or rather, participants. Vera is now adapting the production specifically to make it accessible to the blind or visually impaired. To this end, she is making the choreography communicate beyond the merely visible. Continuous interaction between the performers and audience is rooted in an implicit understanding. Along with your fellow audience members, you delineate the stage in an ellipsis: this is a dance of touch. Join the performers in this adventure to discover what it means to experience tactility!

When? Friday 17th of November at 19:30 and Saturday 18th of November at 21:00
Where? Kaaistudio's, O.L.V. Van Vaakstraat 81, 1000 Brussels
Price? € 10 (reduction price) – your companion joins you for free

 

Anne Juren - Anatomie

How can a mental choreography give you a sense of movement? In Anatomie, Anne Juren creates a movement score for entrails and bodily functions. While you lie on a mat with your eyes closed, she uses her voice to guide you around your body and your mind. To research this ‘dance’, Juren worked on blind spots, collaborating with visually impaired people. Their experiences became the material to create a choreography that takes place in your body.

When? Friday 17th of November at 21:00 and Saturday 18th of November at 19:00
Where? Kaaistudio's, O.L.V. Van Vaakstraat 81, 1000 Brussels
Price? € 10 (reduction price) – your companion joins you for free
What? performance, in English

 

Combination Vera Tussing + Anne Juren

Programme on Friday 17/11
19:00 — encounter with Vera Tussing and dancers, touch tour in the Kaaistudio's & audio-introduction
19:30 — performance Vera Tussing
20:15 — end of performance Vera Tussing
21:00 — performance Anne Juren
22:10 — end of performance Anne Juren
 

Programme on Saturday 18/11
19:00 — performance Anne Juren
20:10 — end of performance Anne Juren
20:30 — encounter with Vera Tussing and dancers, touch tour in the Kaaistudio's & audio-introduction
21:00 — performance Vera Tussing
21:45 — end of performance Vera Tussing

 

Vera Tussing — The Palm of Your Hand for kids (4-12 years old)

Shaking hands, giving high fives, leaning on someone’s shoulder: in The Palm of Your Hand the dancers try to make contact with you. From touch to connectivity to circle games: Vera Tussing takes the kids on an adventure – after two evenings of performing for adults.

When? Sunday, 19th of November 2017 at 15:00
Where? Kaaistudio's, O.L.V. Van Vaakstraat 81, 1000 Brussels
Price? free

 

What you need to know

  • Guide dogs are welcomes, but please let us know in advance.
  • Let us know if you use a hearing aid.
  • If you require transport assistance from North Station to the Kaaitheater, we are happy to help.
  • Do you have other specific needs? Please let us know when you book your tickets so that we can do everything we can to make your visit to the theatre as enjoyable as possible.

 

Contact us

Hilde Peeters
tel +32 2 274 03 88
m +32 477 60 81 16
hilde.peeters@kaaitheater.be

Vivez la danse de manière nouvelle

Les stimuli visuels dominent souvent le son. Mais qu’en est-il lorsqu’on est dépendant de l’ouïe et du toucher ? À l’invitation du Kaaitheater et de ses partenaires européens Wiener Tanzwochen, CND (Paris) et The Place (Londres), Vera Tussing et Anne Juren créent des œuvres dont peuvent pleinement jouir des personnes non voyantes ou malvoyantes. Un choix qui favorise le toucher vis-à-vis du regard, la proximité vis-à-vis de la distance. Pour le spectacle de danse de Volmir Cordeiro, nous prévoyons une audiodescription. Cela signifie qu’un(e) professionnel(le) de la danse décrit en direct ce qui se déroule sur scène. Quant à Mette Edvardsen, elle s’adresse à une scène vide depuis la salle et laisse ainsi le public se forger ses propres images.

 

Les spectacles

Volmir Cordeiro — L’œil la bouche et le reste

Après une série de solos, Volmir Cordeiro crée un premier spectacle pour quatre danseurs. Dans L’œil la bouche et le reste, il nous invite à considérer différemment l’acte de regarder. Il part de l’œil pour toucher tout ce qui est sphérique : le soleil, un œuf, la lune, une arène. Il crée une danse censée reproduire les actions et les fonctions physiques de l’œil : pleurer, fixer, cligner, épier… L’intériorité, la latence et même le pré-humain et le cannibale sont mis à nu lors de cette quête intense, quasi obsessionnelle de la danse et de l’innommé.

Quand ? mercredi 18 octobre 2017
Où ? Kaaistudio's, 81 rue Notre Dame du Sommeil, 1000 Bruxelles
Prix ? € 10 (tarif réduit) – votre accompagnateur ne paie rien
Langue ? audio description en français et néerlandais

Programme
19:30 – touch tour & intro-audio : visite de la scène du Kaaistudio's et introduction (FR/NL)
20:30 – spectacle avec audiodescription (FR/NL)
21:45 — fin de spectacle

 

Mette Edvardsen — We to be

Mette Edvardsen étend considérablement l’espace d’interprétation classique. Elle joue We to be dans trois lieux à la fois : le livre dont elle fait la lecture à haute voix, la scène vide qui fait office d’écran de projection de l’imagination du spectateur et les ondes radiophoniques à travers une diffusion en direct. Avec ce spectacle, Mette Edvardsen achève une trilogie dans laquelle la langue et la voix prennent le dessus et l’aspect visuel se déplace vers l’imaginaire du public.

Quand ? vendredi 20 + samedi 21 octobre 2017
Où ? Kaaistudio's, 81 rue Notre Dame du Sommeil, 1000 Bruxelles
Prix ? € 10 (tarif réduit) – votre accompagnateur ne paie rien
Quoi ? théâtre/performance, en anglais

Programme
20:00 – touch tour & intro-audio : visite de la scène du Kaaistudio's et introduction (FR/NL)
20:30 – spectacle
21:20 — fin de spectacle

 

Vera Tussing — The Palm of Your Hand II

En 2015, Vera Tussing a créé le spectacle The Palm of Your Hand dans lequel des actes sociaux et des motifs chorégraphiques classiques frôlaient de très près les spectateurs – disons plutôt les participants. À présent, Vera Tussing retravaille le spectacle de manière à le rendre accessible aux malvoyants et aux non-voyants. Voilà pourquoi la chorégraphie communique à présent au-delà du purement visible. Une interaction continue entre performeurs et public s’ancre dans une connivence tacite. Avec ses co-spectateurs, on balise une surface de jeu en forme d’ellipse : une danse du frôlement. Partez donc explorer avec les performeurs ce que signifie faire l’expérience du tactile.

Quand ? vendredi 17 novembre à 19:30 + samedi 18 novembre à 21:00
Où ? Kaaistudio's, 81 rue Notre Dame du Sommeil, 1000 Bruxelles
Prix ? € 10 (tarif réduit) – votre accompagnateur ne paie rien
Quoi ? danse/performance, sans paroles

 

Anne Juren - Anatomie

Comment une chorégraphie mentale peut-elle procurer un sentiment de mouvement ? Dans Anatomie, Anne Juren crée une partition de mouvements pour viscères et fonctions corporelles. Alors qu’on est allongé sur un tapis, les yeux clos, sa voix nous guide à travers notre corps et notre esprit. Pour la recherche effectuée pour cette « danse » – recherche qui s’est articulée autour de la tache aveugle –, Anne Juren a travaillé avec des personnes mal voyantes. Leurs expériences se sont transformées en matériau pour créer une chorégraphie « dans » le corps.

Quand ? vendredi 17 novembre à 21:00 + samedi 18 novembre à 19:00
Où ? Kaaistudio's, 81 rue Notre Dame du Sommeil, 1000 Bruxelles
Prix ? € 10 (tarif réduit) – votre accompagnateur ne paie rien
Quoi ? performance, en anglais

 

Combination Vera Tussing + Anne Juren

Programme le vendredi 17/11
19:00 — rencontre avec Vera Tussing et les danseurs, visite de la scène du Kaaistudio's et introduction
19:30 — spectacle de Vera Tussing
20:15 — fin de spectacle de Vera Tussing
21:00 — spectacle d'Anne Juren
22:10 — fin de spectacle d'Anne Juren

Programme le samedi 18/11
19:00 — spectacle d'Anne Juren
20:10 — fin de spectacle d'Anne Juren
20:30 — encontre avec Vera Tussing et les danseurs, visite de la scène du Kaaistudio's et introduction
21:00 — spectacle de Vera Tussing
21:45 — fin de spectacle de Vera Tussing

 

Vera Tussing — The Palm of Your Hand for kids (4-12 ans)

Serrer la main, saluer avec un high five, s’appuyer sur l’épaule de quelqu’un : dans The Palm of Your Hand, les danseurs cherchent le contact avec le public. Du sens du toucher aux petits jeux en cercle en passant par des signes de solidarité, avec Vera Tussing on part à l’aventure ! Après s’être produite deux soirs pour les adultes, c’est au tour des enfants ! 

Quand ? dimanche 19 novembre à 15:00
Où ? Kaaistudio's, 81 rue Notre Dame du Sommeil, 1000 Bruxelles
Prix ? gratuit

 

Que faut-il savoir

  • Vous payez le tarif réduit, votre accompagnateur vous escorte gratuitement
  • Les chiens guides d’aveugles sont les bienvenus, mais veuillez juste nous en informer au préalable.
  • Vous souhaitez de l’assistance pour le trajet de la Gare du Nord au Kaaitheater ? Nous serons heureux de vous l’offrir.
  • Avez-vous d’autres besoins spécifiques ? Veuillez nous les signaler lors de votre réservation, afin que nous puissions faire le nécessaire pour rendre votre visite au théâtre aussi agréable que possible.
     

Contactez-nous

Hilde Peeters
t +32 2 274 03 88
m +32 477 60 81 16
hilde.peeters@kaaitheater.be