Ivo Dimchev/Franz West [BG/AT]

X-ON

X-ON
X-ON

24.10.2014

Bodies and art objects

In the early seventies Franz West (1947-2012) created his first adaptives, sculptures in gauze and plaster. Members of the public were allowed to adorn themselves with these strange objects and walk around the exhibition with them, but the result fell short of West’s expectations. Consequently, he asked Ivo Dimchev to make two video films in which the latter worked with the adaptives to inspire the visitors to the exhibition. Dimchev asked in turn whether he could do a production with the sculptures. This resulted in the solo I-on and then the group performance X-on. For X-on, West created new and bigger adaptives, with which several bodies could enter into a relationship. Dimchev and West cooperated closely on X-on, which we presented for the first time in 2011. 

• Ivo Dimchev’s work is distinguished by a provocative, exuberant imagination and Dimchev’s own overwhelming stage presence. His solo Som Faves was selected for the 2010 Theatre Festival. Dimchev is artist in residence at Kaaitheater. In 2011, a year before his death, Franz West received the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale for his entire oeuvre.

Franz West, number 36 on ArtReview’s 2011 Power 100


by Ivo Dimchev, in collaboration with Franz West | performers Ivo Dimchev, Yen Yi-tzu, Christian Bakalov, Veronika Zot | music Ivo Dimchev, Philipp Quehenberger | lighting design Giacomo Gorini | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), Impulstanz (Vienna) | thanks to Franz West Privatstiftung

Related content

Ivo Dimchev

Ivo Dimchev
Ivo Dimchev

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016

Ivo Dimchev/Franz West [BG/AT]

X-ON

X-ON
X-ON

24.10.2014

Corps et objets d’art

Au début des années 70, Franz West (1947-2012) a produit ses premières adaptives, des sculptures en gaze et plâtre. Le public pouvait se parer de ces attributs étranges et les promener à travers l’exposition, mais le résultat n’atteignit pas les attentes de West. Voilà pourquoi celui-ci a demandé à Ivo Dimchev de réaliser deux vidéos dans lesquelles ce dernier s’empare des adaptives en vue d’inspirer les visiteurs des expositions. À son tour, Dimchev a demandé à pouvoir créer un spectacle avec les sculptures. Cela a donné lieu au solo I-on et ensuite au spectacle de groupe X-on, pour lequel West a réalisé de nouvelles adaptives, plus grandes, avec lesquelles plusieurs corps pouvaient entrer en relation. Dimchev et West ont travaillé en étroite collaboration au spectacle X-on que nous avons présenté pour la première fois en 2011.

• L’œuvre d’Ivo Dimchev se distingue par une fantaisie provocante, exubérante et par sa présence scénique stupéfiante. Son solo Som Faves faisait partie de la sélection du Theaterfestival 2010. Dimchev est actuellement artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater. Franz West a reçu en 2011, un an avant son décès, le Lion d’Or de la Biennale de Venise pour l’ensemble de son œuvre.

‘Ivo Dimchev “dialogue” avec des sculptures minimales de Franz West, un des artistes contemporains les plus influents. Il tourne autour, les caresse, les pose sur lui, les fixe, et son corps aussi devient sculpture, vibrante et haletante. … une performance réjouissante.’ – Guy Duplat, La Libre Belgique


by Ivo Dimchev, in collaboration with Franz West | performers Ivo Dimchev, Yen Yi-tzu, Christian Bakalov, Veronika Zot | music Ivo Dimchev, Philipp Quehenberger | lighting design Giacomo Gorini | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), Impulstanz (Vienna) | thanks to Franz West Privatstiftung

Sujets apparentés

Ivo Dimchev

Ivo Dimchev
Ivo Dimchev

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016