Benjamin Verdonck & Pieter Ampe [BE]

WE DON’T SPEAK TO BE UNDERSTOOD

04.12 – 05.12.2016

Driver and passive object

The dancer and performer Pieter Ampe and the visual artist/performer Benjamin Verdonck will be setting to work with Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons. On stage, the seasons pass by, but the sequence is not always as it should be. What kind of impact do these constantly changing conditions have on them? Can they stay afloat in the face of all this change, or are they at the mercy of the ever-growing chaos?

In this visual performance, Verdonck and Ampe are both drivers and passive objects, singers and dancers. WE DON’T SPEAK TO BE UNDERSTOOD is a disruptive concertante of The Four Seasons. The marvellous, endless epilogue that follows leaves you feeling orphaned and defenceless.

• Pieter Ampe studied at PARTS and previously staged Still Standing You, Jake & Pete's Big Reconciliation Attempt for the Disputes From the Past and So you can feel at the Kaaitheater. Benjamin Verdonck is an actor, writer, visual artist and theatre maker. He performs both in traditional theatre auditoriums and in the public space. Since 2006, he has been one of Toneelhuis’s core artists.


by & with Pieter Ampe, Benjamin Verdonck, Iwan Van Vlierberghe, Korneel Coessens, Louise Crabbé, Peter Seynaeve | production KVS, Toneelhuis, CAMPO | co-production BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen, NO), La Bâtie - Festival de Genève | executive producer CAMPO

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Benjamin Verdonck

one more thing

theatre

one more thing
one more thing

theatre

Sat 03.12 - Sun 04.12.16

In one more thing, Benjamin Verdonck conjures up a 60cm x 60cm x 60cm-sized miniature theatre out of a suitcase. He assembles an abstract graphic fantasy that glides by in a diorama of a single square meter. The result is a mobile, musical, miniature fifteen-minute performance for fifteen people.

Benjamin Verdonck & Pieter Ampe [BE]

WE DON’T SPEAK TO BE UNDERSTOOD

04.12 – 05.12.2016

Machiniste et complément d’objet direct

Le danseur/performeur Pieter Ampe et le plasticien/performeur Benjamin Verdonck montent un spectacle autour des Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi. Sur scène, les saisons passent, mais le déroulement n’est pas toujours ce qu’il devrait être. Quel impact ont sur eux ces circonstances sans cesse changeantes ? Résistent-ils à ce changement ou sont-ils à la merci du chaos toujours croissant ?

Dans ce spectacle visuel, Verdonck et Ampe sont machinistes et compléments d’objet direct, chanteurs et danseurs. WE DON’T SPEAK TO BE UNDERSTOOD est une symphonie concertante désarticulée des Quatre Saisons. Après un interminable épilogue singulier, on reste désemparé.

• Pieter Ampe a étudié à PARTS et était à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec Still Standing You, Jake & Pete’s Big Reconciliation Attempt for the Disputes From the Past et So you can feel. Benjamin Verdonck est acteur, auteur, plasticien et créateur de théâtre. Il joue aussi bien dans des salles de théâtre que dans l’espace public. Depuis 2006, il fait partie de l’équipe des artistes associés de la Toneelhuis.


by & with Pieter Ampe, Benjamin Verdonck, Iwan Van Vlierberghe, Korneel Coessens, Louise Crabbé, Peter Seynaeve | production KVS, Toneelhuis, CAMPO | co-production BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen, NO), La Bâtie - Festival de Genève | executive producer CAMPO

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Benjamin Verdonck

one more thing

théâtre

one more thing
one more thing

théâtre

sa 03.12 - di 04.12.16

Dans one more thing, Benjamin Verdonck transforme comme par magie une valise en un théâtre miniature (60 cm x 60 cm x 60 cm). Il assemble une fantaisie graphique abstraite dans une boîte à images sur un mètre carré, en résulte un spectacle en miniature, mobile et musical, pour quinze personnes en autant de minutes.