Youness Atbane

Untitled 14 KM

Untitled 14 KM
Untitled 14 KM

23.06 – 24.06.2021

Untitled 14 KM explores how the art world currently approaches the concept of contemporary art in its relation with identity, and specifically Arab identity. Youness Atbane examines this through an enacted dialogue between fictional characters: an Arab-Andalusian poet, a director of the museum of contemporary art, a curator, and an artist. These characters are trying to set up an exhibition that analyzes the concept of modernism through the interpretation of the poetic writings of the Andalusian Arab era, as well as the analysis of artworks by existing and recognised contemporary Arab artists. Untitled 14 KM reflects on negotiations, conflicts, competitions, and illegitimacy, related to the definition of what a ‘contemporary Arab identity’ could mean in the art world.

• Youness Atbane lives and works in Casablanca and Berlin. He studied at ICI – Centre Choréographique de Montpelier and at the university of Nice. He has collaborated with artists like Khalid Benghrib, Jean-Marc Mattos, Juan Domingues, Xavier Le Roy, Neto Machado, Rochus Aust, Fawzi Benssidi, Kelly Bond, etc.


conception Youness Atbane | associated artists Aziz Nadif Youness Atbane Zouheir Atbane Kamal Adissa | vocals Aziz Nadif | sound creation Zouheir Atbane | assistance & dramaturgy Anna Weissenfels, Henri Jules Julien | installation and montage Collectif Pixylone | co-production Studio Emad EDDIN Stiftelsen & The Arab Arts Focus with the support of the Ford Foundation, Sundance Institut, The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC), Moussem Nomadic Art center | support L’uzine Artlab (Berlin), LTK4 (Cologne)

There's more

Nancy Naous

Turning Point

dance

Turning Point
Turning Point

dance

Fri 25.06 - Sat 26.06.21

Based on interviews with dancers from the Arab world,Turning Point questions the misunderstandings, ambiguities, stereotypes, metaphors, metamorphoses, fantasies, prejudices and imaginations linked to perceptions of dance in this region. Through movement rooted in the pelvis, manipulation of costume elements, and live electro-percussive music, Nancy Naous questions the spectator's gaze and challenges images rooted in our collective imagination.

Programme leaflet 'Untitled 14km'

Programme leaflet 'Untitled 14km'
Programme leaflet 'Untitled 14km'

Programme leaflet

Thu 24.06.21

Read on about Untitled 14km

Youness Atbane

Untitled 14 KM

Untitled 14 KM
Untitled 14 KM

23.06 – 24.06.2021

Untitled 14 KM explore de quelle manière le monde artistique contemporain établit des liens entre art et identité, et plus spécifiquement entre art et identité arabe. Youness Atbane met en scène une conversation entre différents personnages fictifs : un poète arabo-andalou, un directeur de musée d’art contemporain, un commissaire d’expositions et un artiste. Ces personnages essayent de monter une exposition qui analyse « le modernisme » par le biais d’écrits poétiques de l’époque d’al-Andalus et de quelques œuvres d’artistes arabes contemporains. Untitled 14 KM réfléchit aux notions de négociations, de conflits, de compétitions et d’illégitimité par rapport à la définition de ce qu’une identité arabe contemporaine peut signifier dans le monde de l’art d’aujourd’hui.

• Youness Atbane vit et travaille à Casablanca et à Berlin. Il a étudié à l’ICI – Centre chorégraphique de Montpellier et à l’Université de Nice. Il a collaboré avec des artistes comme Khalid Benghrib, Jean-Marc Mattos, Juan Domingues, Xavier Le Roy, Neto Machado, Rochus Aust, Fawzi Benssidi, Kelly Bond, etc.


conception Youness Atbane | associated artists Aziz Nadif Youness Atbane Zouheir Atbane Kamal Adissa | vocals Aziz Nadif | sound creation Zouheir Atbane | assistance & dramaturgy Anna Weissenfels, Henri Jules Julien | installation and montage Collectif Pixylone | co-production Studio Emad EDDIN Stiftelsen & The Arab Arts Focus with the support of the Ford Foundation, Sundance Institut, The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC), Moussem Nomadic Art center | support L’uzine Artlab (Berlin), LTK4 (Cologne)

There's more

Nancy Naous

Turning Point

danse

Turning Point
Turning Point

danse

ve 25.06 - sa 26.06.21

Turning point est un spectacle de danse qui prend pour point de départ des interviews de danseurs du monde arabe, pour ainsi se focaliser sur les malentendus, les ambiguïtés, les stéréotypes, les métaphores, les métamorphoses, les fantasmes, les préjugés et les représentations liés à la perception de la danse dans cette région. À partir de mouvements du bassin, de costumes et de percussions électros interprétées en public, Nancy Naouss défie le propre regard et les images enracinées dans nos imaginaires collectifs.

Feuille de salle 'Untitled 14km'

Feuille de salle 'Untitled 14km'
Feuille de salle 'Untitled 14km'

Feuille de salle

lu 21.06.21

Lisez plus sur Untitled 14km