Christophe Meierhans [CH/BE]

Trial of Money (work in progress)

10.01 – 11.01.2017

Preliminary hearing

If it is true that money rules the world, then perhaps time has come for it to account for its acts. It is therefore not in an attempt to bribe a magistrate that Christophe Meierhans is bringing money to court, but on the contrary, in order to offer it a fair trial: Is money itself the culprit for having brought the world to the catastrophic state it is in now, or has it rather been employed to the design of ill-intentionned individuals? As a first step in this new project, Meierhans stages the preliminary hearing for this trial where prosecution and defense will undertake a first assessment of the case.    

• Christophe Meierhans is trained as a composer but his more recent work devotes itself to the theatre as a possible space for participation and political responsibility. We have previously shown work of his such as Al Gore: Speech at the Constitution Hall (2011), Some use for your broken claypots (2014) and A hundred wars to world peace - Verein zur Aufhebung des Notwendigen (2016).


concept & direction Christophe Meierhans | dramaturgy Bart Cappelle | creative help Ann De Keersmaeker | production Hiros | coproduction Kaaitheater

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Christophe Meierhans

You take the words right out of my mouth

video installation

You take the words right out of my mouth
You take the words right out of my mouth

video

Tue 10.01 - Sat 14.01.17

Four big screens show a busy street in Jerusalem’s Old Town and the everyday situations that take place there. You hear a voice-over in which Western expats informally – and occasionally even brashly – talk about a culture that is foreign to them.

Christophe Meierhans

Christophe Meierhans
Christophe Meierhans

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021

Christophe Meierhans [CH/BE]

Trial of Money (work in progress)

Trial of Money (work in progress)
Trial of Money (work in progress)

10.01 – 11.01.2017

Audition préliminaire

S'il est vrai que l'argent gouverne le monde, alors peut-être serait-il temps qu'il réponde de ses actes. Ce n'est ainsi pas dans le but d'acheter des magistrats que Christophe Meierhans se propose de le mener aux assises, mais bien afin de lui offrir un procès équitable: l'argent lui-même peut-il être rendu coupable de l'état catastrophique du monde actuel, ou n'a-t-il jamais été que le bras armé de gens malintentionnés? Comme première étape de ce nouveau projet, Meierhans met en scène l'audition préliminaire de ce procès où accusation et défense procéderont à une première évaluation de l'affaire.

• Christophe Meierhans est formé en tant que compositeur mais son travail plus récent se consacre au théâtre comme un espace de participation et de responsabilité politique. Il état à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec Al Gore: Speech at the Constitution Hall (2011), Some use for your broken claypots (2014) et A hundred wars to world peace - Verein zur Aufhebung des Notwendigen (2016).


concept & direction Christophe Meierhans | dramaturgy Bart Cappelle | creative help Ann De Keersmaeker | production Hiros | coproduction Kaaitheater

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Christophe Meierhans

You take the words right out of my mouth

vidéo installation

You take the words right out of my mouth
You take the words right out of my mouth

vidéo

ma 10.01 - sa 14.01.17

Sur quatre grands écrans, on voit une rue animée de la vieille ville de Jérusalem et les situations quotidiennes qui s’y déroulent. En voix off, on entend des conversations informelles – et parfois sans gêne – d’expats occidentaux qui commentent cette culture qui leur est étrangère.

Christophe Meierhans

Christophe Meierhans
Christophe Meierhans

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021