Christophe Meierhans [CH/BE]

Trial of Money

Trial of Money
Trial of Money

18.04 – 19.04.2018

A fair trial

Trial of Money does what it promises: to turn the theatre into a courtroom in which the financial system is put on trial. If ‘money rules the world’, can we not call it to account for how it uses this position of power? The charges are not inconsiderable. Money is at the root of life-threatening problems affecting our planet: from global warming to famine, armed conflict and pollution to the depletion of natural resources.

What Trial of Money will not do is to launch any ad hominem attacks. It is not about indicting bankers, politicians, or traders. Money is a complex network in which we all participate; we are all potential accomplices. So you can expect a fair trial with equal opportunities for the prosecution and the defence. Consider this your invitation to become a jury member.

• Christophe Meierhans is an artist-in-residence at the Kaaitheater and has made a mark over the past few years with provocative productions like Some Use for Your Broken Clay Pots and A Hundred Wars to World Peace.


concept/realisation Christophe Meierhans | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | scenography Decoratelier Jozef Wouters | costumes Sofie Durnez | production HIROS | co-production Kaaitheater, Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, FAR° Nyon, BIT Teatergarasjen, Teatro Maria Matos, BUDA, Vooruit, ZonaK

Christophe Meierhans [CH/BE]

Trial of Money

Trial of Money
Trial of Money

18.04 – 19.04.2018

Un procès équitable

Trial of Money tient sa promesse et transforme le théâtre en prétoire où se tient le procès du système monétaire. Si « l’argent gouverne le monde », n’est-il pas légitime qu’il réponde des actes qu’il pose à partir de cette position de pouvoir ? Les accusations ne sont pas des moindres : l’argent serait à l’origine de problèmes planétaires qui menacent le vivant : du réchauffement climatique au tarissement des ressources naturelles, en passant par les famines, les conflits armés et la pollution.

Trial of Money ne prend personne à partie ; il ne s’agit pas de montrer du doigt des personnages tels que les banquiers, les politiciens et les traders. L’argent est un réseau complexe dont nous faisons tous partie : nous sommes tous des complices potentiels. Attendez-vous donc à un procès équitable aux chances égales pour les plaignants et la défense. Et par la présente, considérez-vous comme appelé à siéger en tant que membre du jury.

• Christophe Meierhans est artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater et a marqué les esprits ces dernières années avec des spectacles audacieux comme Use for Your Broken Clay Pots et A Hundred Wars to World Peace.


concept/realisation Christophe Meierhans | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | scenography Decoratelier Jozef Wouters | costumes Sofie Durnez | production HIROS | co-production Kaaitheater, Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, FAR° Nyon, BIT Teatergarasjen, Teatro Maria Matos, BUDA, Vooruit, ZonaK