David Weber-Krebs [BE]

Tonight, Lights Out!

Tonight, Lights Out!
Tonight, Lights Out!

07.12.2016

Together in the dark

For ten years now, we have all been turning out the lights together during the annual Earth Hour. In Tonight, Lights Out!, David Weber-Krebs does the same thing: not on a worldwide scale but with a group of sixty people in a theatre space. Hanging on the ceiling are the same number of light bulbs as there are spectators. Everyone is given one light switch that is linked to a lamp. Together you are part of an installation, which you control individually and collectively. A master of ceremonies leads you towards the moment where together you put out the lights.

Tonight, Lights Out! Focuses on the creation of belief. The belief that by jointly carrying out a simple task you can truly change something. What will happen, together in the dark? This theatrical experiment investigates our capacity for democracy and presents a metaphor for ecological urgency.

• The Belgian-German artist David Weber-Krebs was previously seen at the Kaaitheater with Balthazar (2013) and Into The Big World (2015).


concept, text, hosting David Weber-Krebs | research & assistance Marie Urban 
| management & production Infinite Endings | sound Coordt Linke | conception installation Hans Westendorp | technique Martin Kaffarnik | thanks to Maarten Westra Hoekzema, Mathias Domahidy | production stichting INFINITE ENDINGS | co-prodution STUK, Zeitraumexit, Theater Zeebelt | thanks to Frascati | made possible with the support of NFPK, AFK

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

David Weber-Krebs [BE]

Tonight, Lights Out!

Tonight, Lights Out!
Tonight, Lights Out!

07.12.2016

Une assemblée plongée dans l’obscurité

Depuis dix ans déjà, nous éteignons tous la lumière au même moment, une fois par an, durant l’Earth Hour. Dans Tonight, Lights Out !, David Weber-Krebs accomplit le même exercice, non pas mondialement, mais avec un groupe de soixante personnes dans un théâtre. Au plafond sont suspendues autant des lampes qu’il y a de spectateurs. Chacun reçoit un interrupteur connecté à une lampe. Un maître de cérémonie mène le public au moment où tous éteignent conjointement la lumière.

Tonight, Lights Out ! se focalise sur la création de la conviction. La conviction qu’en accomplissant de concert une tâche simple, on peut réellement changer quelque chose. Que va-t-il se passer dans cette assemblée plongée dans l’obscurité ? Cette expérience théâtrale sonde notre ardeur démocratique et propose une métaphore de l’urgence écologique.

• L’artiste belgo-allemand David Weber-Krebs était à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec Balthazar (2013) et Into The Big World (2015).


concept, text, hosting David Weber-Krebs | research & assistance Marie Urban 
| management & production Infinite Endings | sound Coordt Linke | conception installation Hans Westendorp | technique Martin Kaffarnik | thanks to Maarten Westra Hoekzema, Mathias Domahidy | production stichting INFINITE ENDINGS | co-prodution STUK, Zeitraumexit, Theater Zeebelt | thanks to Frascati | made possible with the support of NFPK, AFK

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme