Rimah Jabr

This is NOT what I want to tell you

This is NOT what I want to tell you
This is NOT what I want to tell you

18.03.2021

In her audio drama This is NOT what I want to tell you, Rimah Jabr sheds light on the wave of teenagers' attacks that took place in 2015 and 2016 in Palestine. This series of almost daily 'lone wolf' knife attacks were not by militant groups but reflected hopelessness and despair, especially among young Palestinians. Many kids, aged 10 to 15, who made these individual attacks, were either shot dead or imprisoned for tens of years.

By following the story of Madama, we learn what the teens wanted to tell the world but couldn't converse in ordinary language. Instead, they fell silent and their bodies passed the message.

• Rimah Jabr is a theatre director and playwright and a Ph.D. student in Theatre and Performance Studies at York University. She is currently working on Broken Shapes with visual artist Dareen Abbas. The piece was supposed to premiere in March 2020 at Kaaitheater, but has been postponed due to the COVID19 pandemic. When she moved to Toronto in 2015, she wrote, This is NOT what I want to tell you. This year she decided to adapt the piece into an audio drama.

 


text and directing Rimah Jabr | performance Kaat Arnaert | dramaturge Guillermo Verdecchia | with the support of Ontario arts council and Why Not Theatre in Toronto | music Darkened Treeline by Blue Dot Sessions, Cover Letter by Blue Dot Sessions, Cold Summers by Blue Dot Sessions, Egregia by Blue Dot Sessions, Lechuza by Blue Dot Sessions, Marble Transit by Blue Dot Sessions

Rimah Jabr

This is NOT what I want to tell you

This is NOT what I want to tell you
This is NOT what I want to tell you

18.03.2021

Dans son audiodrame This is NOT what I want to tell you, Rimah Jabr met en lumière la vague d’attaques commises par des adolescents en Palestine, en 2015 et 2016. Cette série d’attaques quasi quotidiennes, perpétrées à l’arme blanche par des « loups solitaires » n’était pas le fait de groupes militants, mais reflétait le désespoir et l’absence de perspective qui règnent en Palestine, en particulier au sein de la jeunesse. Beaucoup d’enfants, entre dix et quinze ans, ayant commis ces actes individuels ont été abattus ou purgent des peines de prison de dizaines d’années.

À travers l’histoire de Madama, on apprend ce que ces adolescents ont voulu dire au monde et qu’ils ne parvenaient pas à dire avec des mots. Ils se sont figés et ont laissé leurs corps transmettre le message.

• Rimah Jabr est metteuse en scène et auteure dramatique, active en Palestine en Belgique et au Canada. Elle travaille actuellement à sa thèse de doctorat dans le cadre d’études de théâtre et de performance à l’Université de New York. Elle poursuit du reste son projet Broken Shapes avec la plasticienne Dareen Abbas. Cette production aurait dû être créée en mars 2020, mais a dû être reportée en raison du coronavirus. Lorsque Rimah Jabr est partie s’installer à Toronto en 2015, elle a écrit This is NOT what I want to tell you. Cette année, elle a décidé de transposer le texte en audiodrame.


text and directing Rimah Jabr | performance Kaat Arnaert | dramaturge Guillermo Verdecchia | with the support of Ontario arts council and Why Not Theatre in Toronto | music Darkened Treeline by Blue Dot Sessions, Cover Letter by Blue Dot Sessions, Cold Summers by Blue Dot Sessions, Egregia by Blue Dot Sessions, Lechuza by Blue Dot Sessions, Marble Transit by Blue Dot Sessions