Yves Klein [FR] produced by BOZAR

Theatre of the Void

Theatre of the Void
Theatre of the Void

28.03 – 01.04.2017

Ultramarine

After Tate Liverpool, this ambitious retrospective exhibition of the French artist Yves Klein travels to the Brussels Centre for Fine Arts. Klein became known for his ultramarine monochromes. These are particularly successful at expressing his ideas about spiritual infinity and mystic rituals. With his visual art and spectacular performances, Klein was the precursor to the happening and to body art. In this exhibition – in which performances are regularly staged during Performatik17 – you become acquainted with his oeuvre through unseen masterpieces and rarely exhibited visual works.

 

EXTRA ON 28/03


19:00
HORSE
Miet Warlop
performance


19:45
PAINT EXPLOSIONS
Pieter Van den Bosch
performance


curator Darren Pih | co-production Bozar Expo | sponsors Degroof Petercam Bank | collaboration Tate Liverpool

Related content

Miet Warlop

CRUMBLING DOWN

performance

CRUMBLING DOWN
CRUMBLING DOWN

production

Fri 24.03.17

Miet Warlop presents a succession of theatrical vignettes, consisting of physical actions, sculptural props and scenic interventions that artfully cancel each other out on stage. Each scene reveals the immaterial processes that go into the work – using a plastic language. It turns them into a sculptural live event creating a temporary fantasy that begins to crumble in the moment of its completion.

Pieter Van den Bosch

Paint Explosions

performance

Paint Explosions
Paint Explosions

production

Tue 28.03.17

Pieter Van den Bosch is literally empowering the opening of the Yves Klein exhibition with a performance tailor-made to Bozar. Just before you enter the exhibition, you witness an event: with paint and explosives, Klein’s heritage becomes a modus operandi for today.

Miet Warlop

HORSE

performance

HORSE
HORSE

production

Tue 28.03.17

Miet Warlop presents a succession of theatrical vignettes, consisting of physical actions, sculptural props and scenic interventions that artfully cancel each other out on stage. Each scene reveals the immaterial processes that go into the work – using a plastic language. It turns them into a sculptural live event creating a temporary fantasy that begins to crumble in the moment of its completion.

Yves Klein [FR] produced by BOZAR

Theatre of the Void

Theatre of the Void
Theatre of the Void

28.03 – 01.04.2017

Bleu ultramarin

Après la Tate Liverpool, l’ambitieuse exposition rétrospective de l’artiste français Yves Klein débarque au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Klein a acquis la notoriété avec ses monochromes bleus ultramarins. Comme nulles autres, ces œuvres expriment les idées de l’artiste sur l’infinité spirituelle et les rituels mystiques. L’art plastique et les performances de Klein en font un pionnier du happening et du body art. Cette exposition, dans le cadre de laquelle plusieurs performances seront présentées pendant Performatik17, nous permet de découvrir des chefs-d’œuvre inédits et du matériel visuel quasi jamais montré.

 

EXTRA LE 28/03


19:00
HORSE
Miet Warlop
performance


19:45
PAINT EXPLOSIONS
Pieter Van den Bosch
performance


curator Darren Pih | co-production Bozar Expo | sponsors Degroof Petercam Bank | collaboration Tate Liverpool

There's more

Miet Warlop

CRUMBLING DOWN

performance

CRUMBLING DOWN
CRUMBLING DOWN

performance

ve 24.03.17

Miet Warlop présente trois vignettes théâtrales. Actions physiques, accessoires sculpturaux et interventions scénographiques s’annulent avec élégance. À la faveur d’un langage plastique, chaque scène dévoile les processus immatériels qui se glissent dans l’œuvre. Le résultat est un événement sculptural en public générant chaque fois une fantaisie passagère qui, aussitôt son achèvement atteint, se désintègre sous nos yeux.

Pieter Van den Bosch

Paint Explosions

performance

Paint Explosions
Paint Explosions

performance

ma 28.03.17

Pieter Van den Bosch renforce littéralement l’inauguration de l’exposition d’Yves Klein avec une performance à la mesure de Bozar. Juste avant d’accéder aux salles d’exposition, on est témoin d’un événement : avec de la peinture et des explosifs, l’héritage de Klein est transposé dans un mode opératoire contemporain.

Miet Warlop

HORSE

performance

HORSE
HORSE

performance

ma 28.03.17

Miet Warlop présente trois vignettes théâtrales. Actions physiques, accessoires sculpturaux et interventions scénographiques s’annulent avec élégance. À la faveur d’un langage plastique, chaque scène dévoile les processus immatériels qui se glissent dans l’œuvre. Le résultat est un événement sculptural en public générant chaque fois une fantaisie passagère qui, aussitôt son achèvement atteint, se désintègre sous nos yeux.