a series of evenings with Ahilan Ratnamohan & Sulaiman Addonia

The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages

The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages
The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages

23.02.2021

Multilingualism in Brussels seems self-evident: the languages spoken in this city are more and more diverse. This multilingualism is a gateway to a social network, employment and inclusiveness. A targeted policy supports numerous opportunities to learn and develop languages.

With The Wounds of Multilingualism – a phrase coined by author Sulaiman Addonia – Kaaitheater and Passa Porta are launching a series that sheds light on the human, cultural and political complexities surrounding multilingualism. A series that immerses you, as it were, deep into the bath of multilingualism. Sulaiman Addonia and Ahilan Ratnamohan have a conversation around this. They bring with them exceptional stories about the impact of migration, learning new languages, a lost mother tongue, the privilege of language control...

In this first edition, they will talk to each other moderated by performer, dancer and actor Rabina Miya. The language of the conversation is English. Here, you should read this as more than simply a neutral communication: for Ahilan and Sulaiman, it is the trigger for their stories.

• Author Sulaiman Addonia coined the term 'The Wounds of Multilingualism' to highlight his struggles with losing and acquiring languages. His first novel, The Consequences of Love (2008), was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and has been translated into more than 20 languages.

Ahilan Ratnamohan is a performance maker working with unconventional performers and forms to create interdisciplinary pieces. He draws inspiration from sports, film and language acquisition processes. He is currently conducting a research project at the Antwerp Conservatorium: The Performativity of Language Learning and Language Learning as Performance.


a presentation by Kaaitheater & Passa Porta

une série de soirées avec Ahilan Ratnamohan & Sulaiman Addonia

The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages

The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages
The Wounds of Multilingualism #1: losing and learning languages

23.02.2021

À Bruxelles, le plurilinguisme paraît une évidence : dans cette ville, une diversité croissante de langues sont parlées à la maison. Le plurilinguisme est une porte vers un réseau social, un emploi et de l’inclusivité. Une politique focalisée soutient d’innombrables possibilités pour apprendre et approfondir des langues.

Avec The Wounds of Multilingualism – une phrase imaginée par Sulaiman Addonia – le Kaaitheater et Passa Porta lancent une série qui met en lumière les complexités humaines, culturelles et politiques autour du plurilinguisme. Une série qui vous immerge pour ainsi dire profondément dans le bain du plurilinguisme. Sulaiman Addonia et Ahilan Ratnamohan prennent la parole. Ils racontent des histoires particulières sur l’impact de la migration, l’apprentissage de nouvelles langues, la perte de la langue maternelle, le privilège de la maîtrise de la langue…

Dans cette première édition, ils entament la discussion que modérera la performeuse, danseuse et actrice Rabina Miya. La langue véhiculaire sera l’anglais, ce que vous pouvez interpréter en l’occurrence comme une communication plus que neutre : pour Ahilan et Sulaiman, cela constitue le préambule de leurs histoires.

• L’auteur Sulaiman Addonia a imaginé la phrase The Wounds of Multilingualism pour désigner les « dommages collatéraux » du plurilinguisme. Son premier roman, The Consequences of Love (2008), a atteint la sélection finale du Commonwealth Writers’ Prize et a été traduit dans plus de vingt langues.

Ahilan Ratnamohan est un metteur en scène de théâtre qui crée des spectacles interdisciplinaires avec des performeurs et des formes de théâtres non conventionnels. Il s’inspire du sport, du cinéma et des processus d’acquisition de langues. En ce moment, il travaille à un projet de recherche au Conservatoire d’Anvers : The Performativity of Language Learning and Language Learning as Performance.


a presentation by Kaaitheater & Passa Porta