Khadija El Kharraz Alami

The Waves

The Waves
The Waves

07.06 – 08.06.2022

The Waves is a ritual, a manifesto, an immersive experience in which feminine beauty, vulnerability and pain are central. Together with four young actresses, Khadija El Kharraz Alami wants to explore how deeply internalized experiences of oppression and abuse of power can be transformed into a creative force. On the wave of a feminine energy, a physical space is created in which the players dare to look traumas in the eye and finally bury them and leave them behind. An urgent and uncompromising theatrical experience.

For her new performance, Khadija El Kharraz Alami not only bases herself on the book of the same name by Virginia Woolf, but also on essays by Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Audre Lorde and Simon(e) van Saarloos, among others.

• Khadija El Kharraz Alami graduated from the Utrecht School of the Arts in 2014. In her work, she shows the human being searching for identity, and failing to do so. She has previously been on the Kaaitheater programme with the impressive solo Nu ben ik Medea (with which she won the KBC Jongtheaterprijs at Theater Aan Zee), and the performance Re-claiming Space, an investigation into womanhood and female power.

 


concept & direction Khadija El Kharraz Alami | performance Lois Brochez, Isabelle Houdtzagers, Khadija El Kharraz Alami, Musia Mwankumi, Merel Severs | dramaturgy Kopano Maroga | light design and technical direction Luc Schaltin | costumes & scenography Rachid Laachir | choreographical advise Cherish Menzo | sound design Michelle Samba | head of production & assistant direction Lena Meijer | production KWP, Stichting K.E.K.A. | co-production DE SINGEL, Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam, Kaaitheater, de Brakke Grond, NTGent | thanks to Aymará Parola, Eurudike de Beul, VG, VGC, Create to Connect, FPK

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

The Waves

The Waves
The Waves

07.06 – 08.06.2022

The Waves est un rituel, un manifeste, une expérience immersive dans laquelle la beauté féminine, la vulnérabilité et la douleur sont centrales. Avec quatre jeunes actrices, Khadija El Kharraz Alami veut explorer comment des expériences profondément intériorisées d'oppression et d'abus de pouvoir, peuvent être transformées en une force créative. De la vague de l'énergie féminine, émerge un espace physique dans lequel les actrices osent regarder les traumatismes droit dans les yeux et finalement les enterrer et les laisser derrière elles. Une expérience théâtrale urgente et sans compromis.

 Pour sa nouvelle création, Khadija El Kharraz Alami se base non seulement sur le roman éponyme de Virginia Woolf, mais aussi sur des essais de Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Audre Lorde et Simon(e) van Saarloos notamment.

• Khadija El Kharraz Alami a obtenu son diplôme de l'École des arts d'Utrecht en 2014. Dans son travail, elle montre l'être humain en quête d'identité, et qui échoue dans sa recherche. Elle a déjà participé au programme du Kaaitheater avec l'impressionnant solo Nu ben ik Medea (avec lequel elle a remporté le KBC Jongtheaterprijs au Theater Aan Zee), et la performance Re-claiming Space, une enquête sur la féminité et le pouvoir féminin.

 


concept & direction Khadija El Kharraz Alami | performance Lois Brochez, Isabelle Houdtzagers, Khadija El Kharraz Alami, Musia Mwankumi, Merel Severs | dramaturgy Kopano Maroga | light design and technical direction Luc Schaltin | costumes & scenography Rachid Laachir | choreographical advise Cherish Menzo | sound design Michelle Samba | head of production & assistant direction Lena Meijer | production KWP, Stichting K.E.K.A. | co-production DE SINGEL, Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam, Kaaitheater, de Brakke Grond, NTGent | thanks to Aymará Parola, Eurudike de Beul, VG, VGC, Create to Connect, FPK