Forced Entertainment [GB]

The thrill of it all

The thrill of it all
The thrill of it all

07.05 – 10.05.2010

After a number of small-scale side projects, Tim Etchells has rejoined his collective for an impressive new project with several new performers. Inspired by several recent collaborations, Forced Entertainment will focus on elements which it had ignored in recent years, such as movement, dance and the electronic manipulation of sound and voice. In The Thrill of It All, which will have its world premiere at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts, actors drift about, dancers seem to have lost their bearings, and metaphors become unfounded. Incoherent tunes and distorted voices pay homage to the small things in life. Not to be missed!

For decades already, Forced Entertainment has been one of the most influential performance companies. The deconstruction of both theatre and contemporary city life is a constant in the work of this British collective. Juggling with codes and forms, their work dissects – thoroughly but with humour – our way of life, the way we catch our breath and the manner in which we tell (ourselves) stories in this latecapitalist era.


conceived and devised by Forced Entertainment | performers Thomas Conway, Amit Hadari, Phil Hayes, Jerry Killick, Richard Lowdon, Claire Marshall, Cathy Naden, Terry O’Connor, John Rowley | direction Tim Etchells | design Richard Lowdon | lighting design Nigel Edwards | choreographic advice Kate McIntosh | music & sound John Avery | presentation Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater | production Forced Entertainment (Sheffield) | co-production Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou in collaboration with Festival d’Automne (Paris) | support Arts Council England, Sheffield City Council, Kaaitheater

Forced Entertainment [GB]

The thrill of it all

The thrill of it all
The thrill of it all

07.05 – 10.05.2010

Après plusieurs projets intimes (e.a. avec Fumiyo Ikeda), Tim Etchells réinvestit son collectif, rejoint par de nouveaux collaborateurs, pour nous proposer un spectacle de grande envergure. Et, fort de ses récentes expériences, il y explore des dimensions jusqu’ici peu ou pas abordées par Forced Entertainment : le mouvement physique, la danse et la manipulation électronique du son et de la voix. Présenté en première mondiale au Kunstenfestivaldesarts, The Thrill of It All fait entrer en collision des chansons décousues et des voix déformées, des danseuses dérangées et des comédiens à la dérive, des paraboles décalées et des hommages aux petites choses de la vie. Un rendez-vous à ne pas manquer!

Forced Entertainment, l’une des compagnies les plus influentes de notre temps, n’a de cesse de déconstruire le spectacle du théâtre et celui de la vie urbaine d’aujourd’hui. Jouant de la prolifération et de la fragmentation des codes et des formes, ses spectacles dissèquent avec autant d’humour que de profondeur nos façons de vivre, de respirer et de (nous) raconter des histoires à l’ère du capitalisme tardif.


conceived and devised by Forced Entertainment | performers Thomas Conway, Amit Hadari, Phil Hayes, Jerry Killick, Richard Lowdon, Claire Marshall, Cathy Naden, Terry O’Connor, John Rowley | direction Tim Etchells | design Richard Lowdon | lighting design Nigel Edwards | choreographic advice Kate McIntosh | music & sound John Avery | presentation Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater | production Forced Entertainment (Sheffield) | co-production Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou in collaboration with Festival d’Automne (Paris) | support Arts Council England, Sheffield City Council, Kaaitheater