Christophe Meierhans & Ant Hampton [CH/BE, UK/DE]

The THING – An Automatic Workshop in Everyday Disruption

25.09 – 06.10.2017

Leap of faith

Ant Hampton and Christophe Meierhans join forces to create THE THING, an automated and hybrid form between performance, workshop and journey. Over four episodes, THE THING takes you on an exploration of the overlap between things which matter to the world and a thing each of us could set into motion at any moment.

Doing THE THING is about creating the best possible conditions to take a leap of both faith and imagination, daring to enact another possible version of oneself. To decisively step out of one’s comfort zone by – as David Graeber coins it – ‘insisting on acting as if one is already free.’ In THE THING, no charismatic leader stands in your way. The only ones present are you, a group of 8 to 12 people who open a suitcase and follow a wild mix of different triggers as a guide.

 

THE THING comprises four episodes, each about four hours long. Choose the days and times which fit you the best. They just need to be done in chronological order.

EPISODE I (4 hours)
Mon 25/09 or Tue 26/09, both at 19:00

EPISODE II (5 hours)
Wed 27/09 at 18:00 or Sat 30/09 at 15:00

EPISODE III (3 hours)
Mon 2/10 or Thu 5/10, both at 19:00

EPISODE IV (4 hours)
Wed 4/10 or Fri 6/10, both at 19:00


creation Ant Hampton & Christophe Meierhans | video production Luca Mattei | coding & electronics Toby Duckworth | creative producer Katja Timmerberg | co-production Kaaitheater, Auawirleben Theaterfestival Bern, West Kowloon Cultural Development, Theatre & Dance Department at Iceland Academy of the Arts, Zeitraumexit, Techne - eine Produktionsplattform von Theater Rampe und Künstlerhaus, Over het IJ Festival, Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, FAR° festival Nyon | development support Das Theatre | thanks to Agnieszka Kurant, James Plummer

Related content

Ant Hampton

Crazy But True (8+)

performance

Crazy But True (8+)
Crazy But True (8+)

production

Thu 21.09.17

In the performance Crazy But True, children between the ages of eight and eleven form a panel of experts. A text is whispered to them via headsets. They repeat what they hear, and thus present a growing list of extraordinary facts.

Christophe Meierhans

Trial of Money

theatre performance

Trial of Money
Trial of Money

production

Wed 18.04 - Thu 19.04.18

Trial of Money does what it promises: to turn the theatre into a courtroom in which the financial system is put on trial. If ‘money rules the world’, can we not call it to account for how it uses this position of power? Consider this your invitation to become a jury member.

Christophe Meierhans & Ant Hampton [CH/BE, UK/DE]

The THING – An Automatic Workshop in Everyday Disruption

25.09 – 06.10.2017

Un saut dans l’inconnu

Ant Hampton et Christophe Meierhans unissent leurs forces pour créer THE THING, une forme automatisée, à mi-chemin entre performance, workshop et expédition explorative. Quatre épisodes durant, THE THING nous emmène explorer des choses qui importent dans la vie et une chose que chacun peut activer à tout moment.

Participer à THE THING signifie découvrir les meilleures conditions possible pour effectuer un saut dans l’inconnu, en quête d’autres versions potentielles de soi. Pour quitter résolument sa zone de confort, il faut – comme l’affirme David Graeber – « agir comme si on était déjà libre ». Dans THE THING, aucun leader charismatique pour nous barrer la route. Les seules personnes présentes sont les 8 à 12 participants avec lesquels on ouvre une valise pour suivre un mélange surprenant d’instructions et d’impulsions.

 

THE THING comprises four episodes, each about four hours long. Choose the days and times which fit you the best. They just need to be done in chronological order.

EPISODE I (4 hours)
Mon 25/09 or Tue 26/09, both at 19:00

EPISODE II (5 hours)
Wed 27/09 at 18:00 or Sat 30/09 at 15:00

EPISODE III (3 hours)
Mon 2/10 or Thu 5/10, both at 19:00

EPISODE IV (4 hours)
Wed 4/10 or Fri 6/10, both at 19:00


creation Ant Hampton & Christophe Meierhans | video production Luca Mattei | coding & electronics Toby Duckworth | creative producer Katja Timmerberg | co-production Kaaitheater, Auawirleben Theaterfestival Bern, West Kowloon Cultural Development, Theatre & Dance Department at Iceland Academy of the Arts, Zeitraumexit, Techne - eine Produktionsplattform von Theater Rampe und Künstlerhaus, Over het IJ Festival, Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, FAR° festival Nyon | development support Das Theatre | thanks to Agnieszka Kurant, James Plummer

Sujets apparentés

Ant Hampton

Crazy But True (8+)

performance

Crazy But True (8+)
Crazy But True (8+)

production

je 21.09.17

Dans le performance Crazy But True, des enfants de huit à onze ans constituent « un panel d’experts ». Par le biais d’écouteurs, ils entendent un texte, répètent ce qu’ils entendent et présentent ainsi une liste croissante de faits exceptionnels.

Christophe Meierhans

Trial of Money

théâtre performance

Trial of Money
Trial of Money

production

me 18.04 - je 19.04.18

Trial of Money tient sa promesse et transforme le théâtre en prétoire où se tient le procès du système monétaire. Si « l’argent gouverne le monde », n’est-il pas légitime qu’il réponde des actes qu’il pose à partir de cette position de pouvoir ? Et par la présente, considérez-vous comme appelé à siéger en tant que membre du jury.