Trajal Harrell

The Köln Concert

The Köln Concert
The Köln Concert

08.10 – 09.10.2021

Trajal Harrell responds to the physical distance rules that also apply to the stage with a plan he has been pursuing for years: a choreography to Keith Jarrett’s Köln Concert, the most successful piano solo recording of all time. Harrell’s newly founded dance company at the Schauspielhaus in Zürich makes its debut to this music. But before the Köln Concert, you hear four songs by another artist: the Canadian musician Joni Mitchell.

The Köln Concert seeks a language that allows for closeness despite the times of physical distancing. The joint experience of tender, vulnerable, dancing people, is a reminder of the need to remain close to each other despite everything. It is a matter of learning anew: how to make theatre. Dance. In front of an audience. With distance and caution. But not with any less devotion.

• Trajal Harrell is an American dancer and choreographer, whose performances grace theatres all over the world. In 2018, he was named Dancer of the Year by Tanz Magazine. He often creates a dialogue between post-modern dance and New York’s 1980s voguing scene. At Kaaitheater, he has already presented (M)imosaAntigone Sr and CAEN AMOUR.


with Titilayo Adebayo, Maria Ferreira Silva, Trajal Harrell, Nojan Bodas Mair, Thibault Lac, Songhay Toldon, Ondrej Vidlar | staging, choreography, set, soundtrack & costumes Trajal Harrell | music Keith Jarrett, Joni Mitchell, used by arrangement with ECM Records | lighting Sylvain Rausa | dramaturgy Katinka Deecke | audience development Mathis Neuhaus | theatre pedagogy Manuela Runge | production assistant Maja Renn | set design assistant Ann-Kathrin Bernstetter, Natascha Leonie Simons | costume assistant Ulf Brauner, Miriam Schliehe | stage manager Michael Durrer | production intern Moritz Lienhard | set design intern Reina Guyer | touring management & international relations Björn Pätz, ART HAPPENS | production Schauspielhaus Zürich

Trajal Harrell

The Köln Concert

The Köln Concert
The Köln Concert

08.10 – 09.10.2021

Trajal Harrell a voulu créer quelque chose à partir des règles de distanciation physique qui s’appliquent aussi sur scène. C’est pourquoi il a formulé une idée qu’il mijote depuis des années : une chorégraphie sur le Köln Concert de Keith Jarrett, l’enregistrement de piano solo parmi les plus acclamés et les plus vendus de tous les temps. La compagnie de danse que Harrell vient de mettre sur pied au Schauspielhaus de Zurich fait ses débuts sur cette musique. Mais avant cela, on entend quatre chansons de la musicienne canadienne Joni Mitchell.

The Köln Concert cherche un langage qui – malgré la distance physique – rend la proximité possible. L’expérience collective de voir danser des personnes tendres, vulnérables devrait nous rappeler la nécessité de rester proches les uns des autres, en dépit de tout. Il s’avère qu’il est surtout question de réapprendre : comment faire du théâtre. Et de la danse. Pour un public. Avec distance et prudence. Mais pas avec moins de dévouement.

• Trajal Harrell est un danseur et chorégraphe états-unien dont les spectacles tournent dans le monde entier. En 2018, la revue tanz l’a proclamé danseur de l’année. Souvent, il suscite le dialogue entre la danse postmoderne et la scène new-yorkaise du voguing des années 80. De lui, on a pu voir (M)imosa, Antigone Sr et CAEN AMOUR au Kaaitheater.


with Titilayo Adebayo, Maria Ferreira Silva, Trajal Harrell, Nojan Bodas Mair, Thibault Lac, Songhay Toldon, Ondrej Vidlar | staging, choreography, set, soundtrack & costumes Trajal Harrell | music Keith Jarrett, Joni Mitchell, used by arrangement with ECM Records | lighting Sylvain Rausa | dramaturgy Katinka Deecke | audience development Mathis Neuhaus | theatre pedagogy Manuela Runge | production assistant Maja Renn | set design assistant Ann-Kathrin Bernstetter, Natascha Leonie Simons | costume assistant Ulf Brauner, Miriam Schliehe | stage manager Michael Durrer | production intern Moritz Lienhard | set design intern Reina Guyer | touring management & international relations Björn Pätz, ART HAPPENS | production Schauspielhaus Zürich