de KOE

The Courage to Be Disliked

The Courage to Be Disliked
The Courage to Be Disliked

27.04 – 29.04.2021

Every week, a fabulously wealthy woman descends the marble steps of her penthouse, straight into the bubbling underbelly of the city. There she observes, fillets and memorises in detail what she sees, no matter how repulsive. After each trip, she shares her musings: she may be rich, but she is also generous. The Courage to be Disliked is a theatrical monologue about idealism and compensation, about the self-evidence with which the world moulds itself to you if you are rich and privileged, and about the reality that exists beyond that.

For the first time, Natali Broods plays solo at the KOE, in a documentary about a play that is about making a documentary and the KOE has pulled out all the digital stops. Get ready for a brand new genre: the scripted reality one woman livestream making of show. With a camera as an additional character and Brussels as an extra, the cast stands with one leg on your doorstep and the other on stage.

'It is pretty likely that the way we see and describe the world in fact is not the only correct description of reality. But it is the most relevant. Because the way we look at the world, that is the way everyone would like to look at it. Everyone wants to be rich.'


tekst Willem de Wolf | spel Natali Broods | regie Peter Van den Eede | licht & decor Bram De Vreese | productie de KOE

de KOE

The Courage to Be Disliked

The Courage to Be Disliked
The Courage to Be Disliked

27.04 – 29.04.2021

Une femme riche et puissante descend chaque semaine l’escalier en marbre de son penthouse qui la mène tout droit dans le ventre bouillonnant de la ville. Là, elle observe, file et mémorise en détail tout ce qu’elle voit, aussi répugnant que ce soit. Après chaque descente en ville, elle partage ses pensées : elle est riche, mais elle est généreuse aussi. The Courage to be Disliked est un monologue de théâtre sur l’idéalisme et la compensation, sur l’évidence avec laquelle le monde se plie à vous si vous êtes riche et privilégié·e et sur la réalité qui sévit là dehors.

Natali Broods joue pour la première fois seule sur scène dans un spectacle de la compagnie de KOE. Avec un documentaire sur une pièce de théâtre qui traite de la réalisation d’un documentaire, la compagnie joue le grand jeu numérique. Préparez-vous à une un tout nouveau genre : la réalité scénarisée de la création d’un spectacle seul en scène diffusé en flux direct. Avec une caméra comme partenaire et Bruxelles comme figurant, la compagnie a un pied sur votre trottoir et un pied sur scène.

« Il est fort probable que la manière dont nous voyons et décrivons le monde n’est pas l’unique description exacte de la réalité. Mais la plus pertinente. Car tout le monde voudrait voir le monde comme nous. Tout le monde veut être riche. »


tekst Willem de Wolf | spel Natali Broods | regie Peter Van den Eede | licht & decor Bram De Vreese | productie de KOE