LOD / Gorges Ocloo

The Butcher de engel kwam niet

The Butcher
The Butcher

10.12 – 11.12.2022

It is 2070, 100 years after the first government reform. Belgium no longer exists and Flanders has become independent after four years of war. The families of the Polish builders and cleaners who constructed and cleaned the buildings at the time, control the country through the technologies they managed to insert. In the midst of all this, the last butcher in town and his disabled son try to survive. Gorges Ocloo directs, composes and performs in The Butcher together with Josse De Pauw. Toon Callier provides live music. 

• Gorges Ocloo studied theatre directing at the RITCS and presented his graduation project Scarlet Anansi Ocloo at Kaaistudio's. Ocloo walks a diverse path from dance, performance, community arts, visual arts and scenography to composing music. Moby Dick, in which he also directed Josse De Pauw, could last year be seen at Kaaitheater and in 2020, Ocloo pronounced the State of the Union at the opening of the Theatre Festival.

"Swinging musical theatre where the images are of biblical proportions..." - The Standard

"To Ocloo, moral consignments are not an impediment but a cunning tool he plays with." - Etcetera  


presented by PeriferiK / Westrand, CC De Factorij, CC Strombeek & Kaaitheater

concept, direction, text, performance and composition Gorges Ocloo | text and performance Josse De Pauw | song (recording) Astrid Stockman | musical performance Toon Callier & Bertel Schollaert | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | composition advice Joris Minten | décor Giovani Vanhoenacker, Dirk De Haes & De Muur | costume s Freya Proost | childrens’ choir o.l.v. Kapinga Gysels | mens’ choir Joris Minten & Tom Olaerts | composition advice Joris Minten | lights Pino Etz | sound Jannes Dierynck | drawing intro Paul Contryn | Flemish Radio Sofie Decleir | Polish Radio Ryszard Turbiasz | masks Nathalie Gybels |child’s voice Pien Callier | text fragment from Frygt og Baeven by Kierkegaard | production support Eva De Wolf | production LOD muziektheater | with thanks to Erik Bogaerts & Ruben Bongaerts | with the support of the TAX Shelter measure of the Belgian Federal Government | tax shelter partner Flanders Tax Shelter

LOD / Gorges Ocloo

The Butcher de engel kwam niet

The Butcher
The Butcher

10.12 – 11.12.2022

Nous sommes en 2070, 100 ans après la première réforme de l'État. La Belgique n'existe plus et la Flandre est devenue indépendante après quatre ans de guerre. Les familles des ouvrier·ères du bâtiment et des nettoyeur·euses polonais·es s qui ont construit et nettoyé les bâtiments à l'époque contrôlent le pays grâce aux technologies qu'ils ont  jadis construites. Au milieu de tout cela, un boucher, le dernier de la ville, et son fils handicapé tentent de survivre. Gorges Ocloo dirige, compose et joue dans The Butcher avec Josse De Pauw. Toon Callier assure la musique en live.

• Gorges Ocloo a étudié la mise en scène théâtrale au RITCS, et a présenté son projet de fin d'études Scarlet Anansi Ocloo au Kaaistudio's. Ocloo suit un parcours diversifié : de la danse, la performance et l'art communautaire, en passant par les arts visuels et la scénographie, jusqu'à la composition musicale.  Moby Dick, dans lequel il a également dirigé Josse De Pauw, était sur les planches du Kaai l'année dernière et en 2020, Ocloo a prononcé le discours de l’état de l'Union à l'ouverture du Theaterfestival.


presented by PeriferiK / Westrand, CC De Factorij, CC Strombeek & Kaaitheater

concept, direction, text, performance and composition Gorges Ocloo | text and performance Josse De Pauw | song (recording) Astrid Stockman | musical performance Toon Callier & Bertel Schollaert | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | composition advice Joris Minten | décor Giovani Vanhoenacker, Dirk De Haes & De Muur | costume s Freya Proost | childrens’ choir o.l.v. Kapinga Gysels | mens’ choir Joris Minten & Tom Olaerts | composition advice Joris Minten | lights Pino Etz | sound Jannes Dierynck | drawing intro Paul Contryn | Flemish Radio Sofie Decleir | Polish Radio Ryszard Turbiasz | masks Nathalie Gybels |child’s voice Pien Callier | text fragment from Frygt og Baeven by Kierkegaard | production support Eva De Wolf | production LOD muziektheater | with thanks to Erik Bogaerts & Ruben Bongaerts | with the support of the TAX Shelter measure of the Belgian Federal Government | tax shelter partner Flanders Tax Shelter