Mette Ingvartsen

The Blue Piece

The Blue Piece
The Blue Piece

04.12 – 06.12.2020

Advertising, film, magazines, the internet: we are constantly surrounded by images of sexualized bodies that display the intimate and the erogenous. Flesh, fluids, skin, breasts and asses belong to our everyday surroundings. It has become impossible to switch off the desires of our bodies: pleasure has become a must. The Blue Piece is a museum version of Mette Ingvartsen’s to come (2005), performed by two dancers at KANAL – Centre Pompidou.

• The Danish dancer and choreographer Mette Ingvartsen graduated from PARTS in 2004, and was an artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater from 2013 until 2016. To come, created at the beginning of her career, existed in an extended version for 15 dancers on the big stage, and is now being resumed in a small ensemble. Ingvartsen lives and works in Brussels.

 


concept & choreography Mette Ingvartsen | based on to come (2005) developed & performed by Mette Ingvartsen, Naiara Mendioroz Azkarate, Manon Santkin, Jefta van Dinther, Gabor Varga | blue suits Jennifer Defays

Mette Ingvartsen

The Blue Piece

The Blue Piece
The Blue Piece

04.12 – 06.12.2020

Publicités, films, magazines, Internet : nous sommes en permanence entourés d’images de corps sexualisés qui étalent l’intime et l’érogène. Chair, fluides corporels, peau, seins et fesses n’appartiennent plus exclusivement aux heures tardives dans un bouge obscur, mais à nos impressions quotidiennes. Il est devenu impossible d’occulter les stimulus de nos désirs physiques : le plaisir est un diktat. The Blue Piece est une version muséale de la production to come (2005) d’Ingvartsen, interprétée par deux danseurs à KANAL – Centre Pompidou.

• La danseuse et chorégraphe danoise Mette Ingvartsen a achevé ses études à PARTS en 2004. Elle était artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater de 2013 à 2016. En 2018, elle a présenté to come (extended) dans notre grande salle – également un remake de to come, mais pour 15 danseurs. Ingvartsen vit et travaille à Bruxelles


concept & choreography Mette Ingvartsen | based on to come (2005) developed & performed by Mette Ingvartsen, Naiara Mendioroz Azkarate, Manon Santkin, Jefta van Dinther, Gabor Varga | blue suits Jennifer Defays