Emke Idema [NL]

STRANGER

STRANGER
STRANGER

28.03.2018

Social laboratory

Step into a playful and probing social laboratory. STRANGER is a life-sized board game that explores first impressions. Can you share with others the thoughts you have when you see an unknown face? And then relate to them? Become a researcher yourself and explore the grey zone between intuition, insight into human nature, powers of assessment, prejudices and stereotyping. While it is completely averse to political correctness, STRANGER is an exciting experiment about social and moral boundaries.

• This successful production by Emke Idema premièred in 2012 but continues to be relevant. It is the first in a series of works that explore the intersections between theatre, the social sciences and gaming. One day later, you can also see Idema’s most recent production: THIS CAN’T HAPPEN.


concept & performance Emke Idema | advice Edit Kaldor, Nienke Scholts | sound design Joost Steltenpool | photography Pim Geerts | production leader José Schuringa lei| general manager Heske van den Ende | production Productiehuis Generale Oost, Huis van Bougondie & Festival Over het IJ | thanks to DasArts, Rein Hartog, Arie Bults, Piet Menu, all test participants

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Emke Idema

THIS CAN'T HAPPEN

theatre

THIS CAN'T HAPPEN
THIS CAN'T HAPPEN

production

Thu 29.03.18

In a stimulating theatrical game, you as the audience explore the limits of the imaginable, beyond what is true, good, or politically correct. Can the most cheerful, strange, improbable, and wild fantasies influence the world that we share together? The stakes in the game? To make time and space for our own imagination.

Emke Idema [NL]

STRANGER

STRANGER
STRANGER

28.03.2018

Laboratoire social

Entrez dans ce laboratoire social aussi ludique qu’analytique. STRANGER est un jeu de société grandeur nature qui sonde les premières impressions. Peut-on partager avec autrui ce qu’on pense à la vue d’un visage inconnu et ensuite s’y rapporter en conséquence ? Adoptez le rôle du chercheur et explorez la zone floue entre intuition, sens de la psychologie humaine, faculté de jugement, préjugés et stéréotypes. Loin du politiquement correct, STRANGER est une expérience captivante autour des frontières sociales et morales.

• Bien que le spectacle d’Emke Idema date de 2012, il demeure absolument pertinent. Il s’agit de la première d’une série d’œuvres qui explore la frontière entre théâtre, sciences sociales et jeux électroniques. Le lendemain, on pourra assister au spectacle le plus récent d’Idema : THIS CAN’T HAPPEN.

« Réjouissant et libérateur – mais la réalité pénible à l’origine du jeu est sans cesse aux aguets. » – Vrij Nederland

« Concept magistral avec des côtés risqués. » – De Volkskrant

« Une nouvelle forme de théâtre surprenante. » – Theaterkrant


concept & performance Emke Idema | advice Edit Kaldor, Nienke Scholts | sound design Joost Steltenpool | photography Pim Geerts | production leader José Schuringa lei| general manager Heske van den Ende | production Productiehuis Generale Oost, Huis van Bougondie & Festival Over het IJ | thanks to DasArts, Rein Hartog, Arie Bults, Piet Menu, all test participants

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Emke Idema

THIS CAN'T HAPPEN

théâtre

THIS CAN'T HAPPEN
THIS CAN'T HAPPEN

production

je 29.03.18

Dans un jeu théâtral émoustillant, le public explore les limites de l’imaginable, au-delà de ce qui est vrai, bien ou politiquement correct. Les fantaisies les plus drôles, les plus étranges, invraisemblables et sauvages peuvent-elles exercer une influence sur le monde que nous partageons ? L’enjeu : créer du temps et de l’espace pour notre propre imagination.