Ivo Dimchev [BG/BE]

Som Faves

Som Faves
Som Faves

19.12.2012

Hilarious and profound

For the solo performance of Som Faves Ivo Dimchev compiled a list of subjects, objects and people who in one way or another are close to his heart – from everyday events to personal stories and reflections on art. They are the 'favourites' of the title. Armed with a wig, a keyboard and a painting he enters the stage. He effortlessly presents a variety of registers and moods, and switches from one extravagant character to the next. What begins as a seemingly incoherent collage evolves almost imperceptibly into an intimate and tragicomic portrait of the performer. It is both hilarious and profound. Som Faves was selected for the Theatre Festival in 2010 and Time Out New York voted it one of the stage highlights of 2011.

Ivo Dimchev (b. 1976) is one of the most remarkable performers of the international contemporary arts scene. His work is an uncompromising mix of performance art, dance, theatre and music. An all-around artist, he breaks through both genres and taboos. Dimchev created his first performances in Sofia. In 2008 he moved to Amsterdam to study at DasArts. While there he created performances including the solo Som Faves. So far he has created more than thirty pieces which he has performed around the world and for which he has been acclaimed by both critics and audiences. Ivo Dimchev has now lived in Brussels for several years. In previous seasons he appeared at the Kaaitheater with We.Art.Dog.Come, the solo I-on and the group work X-on. In his 'Volksroom', Dimchev’s own studio in Anderlecht, he regularly offers other young artists the opportunity to present their work. He also displays his own visual art and performances-in-progress there.


RESIDENTS' WEEK
In 2013-2016 four artists will be in residence at the Kaaitheater: Kris Verdonck, Mette Ingvartsen, Eleanor Bauer and Ivo Dimchev. In recent years they came up with excellent work. Moreover, all four of them expressed the desire to create work for large stages. We would like to support them in this evolution towards  productions for the larger stage. In December our four residents will be presenting a number of special productions described on the following pages.
Read more >

concept,text,music,performance Ivo Dimchev | co-production Tanz im August (Berlin), DasArts (Amsterdam), European Cultural Capital Linz ‘09, O is not company (Linz), Koninklijk Conservatorium /Artesis Hogeschool (Antwerp), O Espao do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal)

Related content

Ivo Dimchev

Ivo Dimchev
Ivo Dimchev

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016

Ivo Dimchev [BG/BE]

Som Faves

Som Faves
Som Faves

19.12.2012

Désopilant et profond

Pour la performance en solo Som Faves, Ivo Dimchev a établi une liste de sujets, objets et personnes qui, de l'une ou l'autre manière, lui tiennent à cœur – allant d'événements quotidiens à des réflexions singulières sur l'art, en passant par des histoires personnelles. Ce sont les « favoris » du titre. Sur scène, Dimchev est muni d'une perruque, d'un clavier et d'une petite peinture. Avec une aisance remarquable, il joue dans des registres très différents, installe des atmosphères des plus divergentes et passe d'un personnage extravagant à l'autre. Ce qui commence comme un collage a priori incohérent évolue de manière quasi imperceptible vers un portrait intime et tragi-comique du performeur lui-même. Désopilant et profond à la fois. Som Faves a été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival 2010, et le Time Out New York l'a proclamé l'un des moments forts des arts du spectacle vivant en 2011.

Ivo Dimchev (°1976) est l'un des performeurs les plus remarquables des arts scéniques internationaux. Son œuvre sans compromis est un brassage d'art de la performance, de danse, de théâtre et de musique. En tant qu'artiste complet, il transgresse aussi bien les genres que les tabous. Dimchev a créé ses premiers spectacles à Sofia. En 2008, il est parti à Amsterdam étudier à DasArts. Il y a réalisé, entre autres, le solo Som Faves. Au total, il a créé plus de trente spectacles avec lesquels il a tourné tout autour de la planète et qui lui ont valu beaucoup d'éloges, tant de la part de la critique que du public. Depuis quelques années, Dimchev vit à Bruxelles. Les saisons passées, il était à l'affiche du Kaaitheater avec We.Art.Dog.Come, le solo I-on et le spectacle de groupe X-on. Dans son « Volksroom », l'atelier de Dimchev à Anderlecht, il donne régulièrement l'occasion à d'autres jeunes artistes de présenter leurs œuvres. Il y expose aussi ses propres œuvres plastiques et des spectacles en chantier.

‘Un grand performeur, un théâtre de la radicalité’ - La Libre


RESIDENTS' WEEK
En 2013-2016 quatre artistes seront en résidence au Kaaitheater : Kris Verdonck, Mette Ingvartsen, Eleanor Bauer et Ivo Dimchev. Au cours des dernières années, ils ont présenté des œuvres d'une très grande force. En outre, tous les quatre expriment la volonté de réaliser des spectacles pour de grandes scènes. Le Kaaitheater souhaite les soutenir dans leur transition vers la grande salle. En décembre, nos quatre artistes en résidence présentent un nombre de productions particulières.
Lire plus >

concept,text,music,performance Ivo Dimchev | co-production Tanz im August (Berlin), DasArts (Amsterdam), European Cultural Capital Linz ‘09, O is not company (Linz), Koninklijk Conservatorium /Artesis Hogeschool (Antwerp), O Espao do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal)

Sujets apparentés

Ivo Dimchev

Ivo Dimchev
Ivo Dimchev

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016