Bill Shannon [New York]

Sketchy

Sketchy
Sketchy

04.04 – 06.04.2007

The New York crutch-acrobat and hip-hop dancer makes his first appearance in Belgium

Bill Shannon (1970) earned his title of Crutchmaster on the streets of New York and in hip-hop circles. At the age of five he was diagnosed as having a rare form of gout in his hip. Since that time he has found walking and standing very painful. With the help of crutches and the speed of a skateboard he manages to propel himself forward in a way that is graceful though odd. He does this not only in the street, where he attracts attention and provokes reactions from bystanders, but also on stage, where he manages to link helplessness with elegance and physical bravado. This strange spectacle alternates moments of stillness and restraint with splurges of outrageous daring, in which he flirts with balance, gravity and danger.

His bond with street culture is essential for what Shannon does. Breakdance, skateboarding, techno, drum ‘n’ bass and hip-hop are not an obstacle but in fact a breeding ground for his stylised idiom of movement. He does not regard himself as a dancer or choreographer but rather as a performance artist. Music (often live DJs) and the interactive use of video play an essential role in his performances; this is also true of his production Sketchy.

In Sketchy, this multidisciplinary crutch-acrobat joins forces with five other dancers. They show us the risks dancers take when they extend their physical limits. Sketchy swings between a staged performance and a reality show; video is used interactively to analyse the dancers’ performance and to demonstrate the complexity of urban artistic expression.


concept & mise en scène Bill Shannon
chorégraphié en collaboration avec et interprété par Michael ‘Stylez’ Colón, Dave ‘Cyclone’ Fogler, Danny ‘Infamous’ Rodriguez, Erika Sato, Bill Shannon, Manny ‘WildChild’ Vega
musique Andre Owens
musique additionnelle DJ Excess
voix Jason ‘Culture’ Lipsey
ingénieur du son DJ Excess
'turntablism & live mixing' DJ Excess
concept vidéo Bill Shannon
animation vidéo Benjamin ‘Jeff’ Chavez
montage vidéo David Szlasa
costumes Erika Sato
concept éclairage & régie David Szlasa

Bill Shannon [New York]

Sketchy

Sketchy
Sketchy

04.04 – 06.04.2007

La première en Belgique d’un New-Yorkais, acrobate sur béquilles et danseur de hip-hop

Bill Shannon (1970) est connu sous le nom de Crutchmaster, le maître des béquilles, dans les rues new-yorkaises et dans le milieu du hip-hop. À cinq ans, on a diagnostiqué sur sa hanche une forme peu fréquente de goutte. Depuis, il lui est douloureux de marcher et se tenir debout. Grâce au support de béquilles et à la vélocité du skate-board, il parvient à se mouvoir avec une élégance étonnante. Loin de se contenter d’attirer l’attention des passants dans la rue, il monte sur la scène pour allier en public son infirmité à sa bravoure et à sa grâce physique. L’étrange spectacle conjugue des moments tout en quiétude et en retenue avec des débauches de témérité gouailleuse, où il flirte avec l’équilibre, la pesanteur et le danger.

Le lien avec la culture de la rue est essentiel pour Shannon. La break-dance, le skate-board, la techno, la drum 'n bass et le hip-hop ne représentent pas des obstacles mais, au contraire, le terreau de son vocabulaire gestuel stylisé. Il ne se considère pas comme un danseur ou un chorégraphe mais comme un artiste de performance. Dans Sketchy, comme dans tous ses spectacles, la musique (souvent assurée en direct par des D.J.) et l’utilisation interactive de la vidéo sont essentielles.

Dans Sketchy, ce maître des béquilles, acrobate et artiste multidisciplinaire, unit ses forces à celles de cinq autres danseurs pour nous instruire des risques qu’encourent les danseurs quand ils dépassent leurs limites corporelles. Sketchy oscille entre la mise en scène et le spectacle-réalité ; la vidéo est utilisée de manière interactive afin d’analyser les performances des danseurs et la complexité de l’expression artistique urbaine.


concept & mise en scène Bill Shannon
chorégraphié en collaboration avec et interprété par Michael ‘Stylez’ Colón, Dave ‘Cyclone’ Fogler, Danny ‘Infamous’ Rodriguez, Erika Sato, Bill Shannon, Manny ‘WildChild’ Vega
musique Andre Owens
musique additionnelle DJ Excess
voix Jason ‘Culture’ Lipsey
ingénieur du son DJ Excess
'turntablism & live mixing' DJ Excess
concept vidéo Bill Shannon
animation vidéo Benjamin ‘Jeff’ Chavez
montage vidéo David Szlasa
costumes Erika Sato
concept éclairage & régie David Szlasa