Stephen O'Malley & Wukir Suryadi [US, ID]

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne
Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

17.01.2018

Just like Meg Stuart, EUROPALIA INDONESIA gave theatre director Gisèle Vienne carte blanche to explore Indonesian culture. Along with Sunn O))) co-founder Stephen O’Malley she travelled to Java and Bali to immerse herself in the magical world of performative rituals. Their encounter with musician Wukir Suryadi, co-founder of Senyawa, revealed profound resonances. This evening showcases their shared venture through a common musical philosophy.


Co-presented by Kaaitheater, EUROPALIA INDONESIA & Kobalt Works

Related content

Gisèle Vienne

CROWD

dance music

CROWD
CROWD

production

Fri 26.01 - Sat 27.01.18

Starting with rituals and celebrations – from the archaic to the contemporary – Gisèle Vienne brings a group of 15 youngsters together who dance to a DJ set by Peter Rehberg. Contrary to the discourse that labels all violence as barbaric, she looks for manifestations of violence that do play a valuable, positive role in society.

Meg Stuart & Jompet Kuswidananto / Damaged Goods

Celestial Sorrow

dance performance

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

production

Thu 18.01 - Wed 24.01.18

Meg Stuart and visual artist Jompet Kuswidananto embark on a journey of artistic investigation through collective memories and implanted fictional traumas. Imaginary and invisible spaces – and the voices that make them resonate – are one of the starting points of an adventurous leap into unknown territories.

Eko Supriyanto

Salt

dance

Salt
Salt

production

Thu 19.10.17

As a new voice within the contemporary Indonesian dance landscape, Eko Supriyanto explores the relationship between Javanese cultural heritage and the rhythm of the underwater world – a world without gravity where new perspectives emerge. He draws from his classical dance training, his diving experience, and the Javanese agricultural tradition of carving in the ground.

Stephen O'Malley & Wukir Suryadi [US, ID]

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne
Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

17.01.2018

Tout comme à la chorégraphe Meg Stuart, EUROPALIA INDONESIA a donné carte blanche à la metteuse en scène Gisèle Vienne pour explorer la culture indonésienne. Gisèle Vienne a voyagé avec Stephen O’Malley, le cofondateur de Sunn O))), à Java et à Bali pour s’immerger dans le monde magique des rituels performatifs. Leur rencontre avec le musicien Wukir Suryadi, cofondateur de Senyawa, a révélé de profondes résonances. Cette soirée présente leur projet commun à travers une philosophie musicale partagée.


Co-presented by Kaaitheater, EUROPALIA INDONESIA & Kobalt Works

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Gisèle Vienne

CROWD

danse musique

CROWD
CROWD

production

ve 26.01 - sa 27.01.18

Partant de rites et de fêtes – d’archaïques à contemporains –, Gisèle Vienne réunit un groupe de quinze jeunes qui dansent sur un DJ-set de Peter Rehberg. Le spectacle CROWD examine la violence à contre-courant du discours qui tend à décrire toute forme de violence comme barbare.

Meg Stuart & Jompet Kuswidananto / Damaged Goods

Celestial Sorrow

danse performance

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

production

je 18.01 - me 24.01.18

Meg Stuart et l’artiste Jompet Kuswidananto s’essaient à une exploration artistique à travers des mémoires collectives et des traumatismes fictifs. Des espaces imaginaires et invisibles – et les voix qui les font résonner – ne constituent que quelques-uns des points de départ de cette analyse aventureuse en terrain inconnu.

Eko Supriyanto

Salt

danse

Salt
Salt

production

je 19.10.17

Cette nouvelle voix du paysage de la danse contemporaine en Indonésie engage le dialogue avec ses antécédents javanais et les marées changeantes des cultures maritimes. Salt part en quête de l’anti-gravité sous-marine alors que les cultures hiérarchiques et les perspectives de changements requièrent l’attention.