Dick van der Harst & Jan Vromman [BE] Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor

Say No! The deserters' song

Say No!
Say No!

22.01.2017

"Sometime they'll give a war and nobody will come."
– Carl Sandburg

The stories of deserters

By harnessing the stories of deserters, the Brecht-Eislerkoor seizes the opportunity offered by the WW1 commemorations to drive discussions about specific peace strategies. In 2014, it performed the musical theatre production WaanVlucht! (FleeTheFrenzy!) with six Belgian choirs. With Say No, the poet Elvis Peeters and the composer Dick van der Harst once again call upon people to flee from this frenzy. Say no to the madness of war and the misery that it causes!

Inspired by the hymn Say No!, more than 30 choirs and ensembles from across the world have created their own song about conscientious objection and desertion. All the contributed images and sounds form the material for a video creation, intertwined with a live performance by a huge international choir.

• The Brussels-based Brecht-Eislerkoor has brought together large one-off choirs before. It previously performed The Shouting Fence (2009) and WaanVlucht – Ode aan de deserteur (2014) at Kaaitheater.
 

'Fight for your right to Say No.'  - Read an interview with Jan Vromman in Bruzz  


initiative Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor | direction, video Jan Vromman | text Elvis Peeters a.o. | music Dick Van der Harst, Wim Koninck, Wim Segers, Lieselot De Wilde | editing Jasper Flikschuh | conducters Lieve Franssen, Peter Spaepen, Dominique Maes | choirs Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor, Stemmer, Novecanto a.o. | visuals Les Mecs | live animation Laura Vandewynckel | testimonies Javier Garante, Piet Chielens a.o. | in collaboration with De Markten, Vrede vzw | support de Vlaamse Overheid kunsten, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest, Vlaamse  Gemeenschapscommissie, Vlaams beleid voor Brussel, Stad Brussel

 

Related content

Lola Arias

Veterans

video installation exhibition

Veterans
Veterans

production

Thu 01.01.70

In Lola Arias’ video installation Veterans, Argentinian veterans look back at their traumatic experiences during the Falklands War in 1982. Thirty-five years on, they retrieve their war memories through a kind of time machine that transports their past to the present.

Dick van der Harst & Jan Vromman [BE] Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor

Say No! The deserters' song

Say No!
Say No!

22.01.2017

"Sometime they'll give a war and nobody will come."
– Carl Sandburg

Des histoires de déserteurs

La chorale bruxelloise Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor profite des commémorations de la Première Guerre mondiale pour alimenter le débat sur des stratégies pacifiques concrètes, en particulier à travers des histoires de déserteurs. En 2014, ils ont réuni six chorales belges pour monter la production de théâtre musical WaanVlucht (Fuir la folie). Avec Say No, le poète Elvis Peeters et le compositeur Dick van der Harst appellent à nouveau à fuir la folie. Dites non à la folie guerrière et à toute la misère qu’elle entraîne !

Plus de 30 chorales et ensembles du monde entier se sont inspirés de l’hymne Say No! pour ainsi parvenir à leur propre chant sur le refus de la guerre et la désertion. Toutes ces images et ces sons constituent le matériau d’une création en vidéo, qui se mêle à une interprétation en direct par un gigantesque choeur international.

• Précédemment, le Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor a déjà réuni plusieurs chœurs. Au Kaaitheater, la chorale a présenté The Shouting Fence (2009) et WaanVlucht – Ode aan de deserteur (2014).


initiative Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor | direction, video Jan Vromman | text Elvis Peeters a.o. | music Dick Van der Harst, Wim Koninck, Wim Segers, Lieselot De Wilde | editing Jasper Flikschuh | conducters Lieve Franssen, Peter Spaepen, Dominique Maes | choirs Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor, Stemmer, Novecanto a.o. | visuals Les Mecs | live animation Laura Vandewynckel | testimonies Javier Garante, Piet Chielens a.o. | in collaboration with De Markten, Vrede vzw | support de Vlaamse Overheid kunsten, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest, Vlaamse  Gemeenschapscommissie, Vlaams beleid voor Brussel, Stad Brussel

 

Sujets apparentés

Lola Arias

Veterans

vidéo installation expo

Veterans
Veterans

production

je 01.01.70

Dans l’installation vidéo Veterans de Lola Arias, d’anciens combattants argentins portent un regard rétrospectif sur leurs expériences traumatisantes pendant la guerre des Malouines en 1982. Trente-cinq ans plus tard, ils puisent leurs souvenirs de guerre dans une sorte de machine à remonter le temps qui les téléporte du présent vers le passé.