MaisonDahlBonnema & Needcompany [NL/BE]

Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera

Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera
Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera

12.03 – 13.03.2010

On a permanent high

MaisonDahlBonnema is the name adopted by the duo of Hans Petter Dahl and Anna Sophia Bonnema. Their first opera, The Ballad of Ricky and Ronny – a pop opera, opened at the Kaaistudio’s in October 2007 and was selected for the 2008 Theatre Festival. With Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera they are opening a new musical register.

In this opera the victim, suffering and the problem of involvement play a central role. Ricky, Ronny and Hundred Stars find themselves in a moral universe where the best intentions can turn into the opposite and the personification of evil appears to be radiating beneficial vibrations. For the time being, the outcome is that the charlatan figure seems to have the best chance of survival. To get a perspective, they reach for the stars. Detached as if in a near-death experience, they skim over their everyday experiences, not quite in sync with them, as if they were on a permanent high. Their antipole or point of fixture is the inner chambers found in their brains. The setting is Paris and the rest of the mental world.

Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars suffer from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. A whole series of traumatic events form the basis of the new opera. Hundred Stars appears as the scintillating, disruptive presence of the eternal killjoy, a floating presence, keenly aware of all the damage and ignominy even the slightest touch can bring. By talking about the suffering, and through the pleasure and enjoyment – the eternal and inevitable accompaniment to our sublunary world – they are guided towards a sadistic system in which they appear to completely lose their grip.

Sado-Country as a music style for the new opera: complete and utter sorrow and the aggressive pleasure of wanting to feel this sorrow by singing or talking about it. A world nourished by day-to-day worries and moral dilemmas and the eternal endeavour to do good. Dream on.

'Hans Petter Dahl and Anneke Bonnema skate along the boundary between the everyday and the absurd, between love and alienation. The intimacy expressed in their stage presence is a sample of vulnerability that has little to do with theatre.'
Etcetera, January 2008

'The Ballad of Ricky and Ronny is an extreme performance both in design and content.'
De Morgen newspaper, 11 December 2008

'For Bonnema and Dahl, the primary aim never seems to be to challenge the limits of the performing arts – it sort of happens along the way – but to present their ideas through the intimacy of the human encounter. That’s precisely why The Ballad of Ricky & Ronny is a both humorous and touching depiction of the abundant society and the pursuit of individual happiness.'
Dagens Nyheter, 5 October 2008, daily newspaper in Sweden


MaisonDahlBonnema is the name adopted by the duo of Hans Petter Dahl and Anna Sophia Bonnema. Since 1999 these two artists have played an important part in the productions by Jan Lauwers and Needcompany. Earlier in his career, Hans Petter Dahl was a co-founder of and performer in the Norwegian cult group BAK-TRUPPEN. In 1995 Dahl and Bonnema founded the Love & Orgasm performance group. Since then they have created about ten performances combining musical composition, visual art, literature and theatre, either together or in collaboration with other artists. Dahl and Bonnema are constantly redefining themselves: from Love & Orgasm to L&O Amsterdam to MaisonDahlBonnema – which opened in 2003 as a virtual concept house that launched new collections of ideas in the form of clothing, music, video and words. Their performances display a radical preference for juxtaposing theatrical elements independently alongside one another. The audience itself is often part of the whole setting too. Dahl and Bonnema do everything themselves: writing, composing, stage design and the performance itself.


concept Anna Sophia Bonnema, Hans Petter Dahl | with Anna Sophia Bonnema, Hans Petter Dahl, Louise Peterhoff | libretto Anna Sophia Bonnema | music Hans Petter Dahl | costumes, lights MaisonDahlBonnema | animation Jan Bultheel | production Needcompany | co-production Theater aan het Vrijthof, Euregionaal Opera- en Muziektheaterfestival (Maastricht), Bit Teatergarasjen (Bergen), Noorderzon/Grand Theatre (Groningen) | in collaboration with Kaaitheater (Brussels), Könstnärsnämden (Stockholm) | support Vlaamse Overheid, Norsk Kulturråd

MaisonDahlBonnema & Needcompany [NL/BE]

Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera

Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera
Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera

12.03 – 13.03.2010

Etourdissement permanent

MaisonDahlBonnema, c’est le duo Hans Petter Dahl et Anna Sophia Bonnema. Leur premier opéra, The Ballad of Ricky and Ronny – a pop opéra, a été créé en octobre 2007 aux Kaaistudio’s et a été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival 2008. Avec Ricky and Ronny and Hundred Stars – a Sado Country Opera, ils ouvrent un autre registre musical.

La victime, la souffrance et la problématique de l’engagement sont au cœur de cet opéra. Ricky, Ronny et Hundred Stars évoluent dans un univers moral, dans lequel les meilleures intentions peuvent se retourner contre eux et où la personnification du mal semble produire des vibrations salutaires, avec pour résultat provisoire que le personnage du charlatan paraît disposer de meilleures chances de survie. En matière de perspective, ils plongent dans les étoiles. Détachés comme dans une expérience de mort imminente, ils effleurent leur vécu quotidien, sans réellement coïncider avec lui, comme dans un étourdissement permanent. Les chambres intérieures de leur cerveau sont un pôle opposé ou un point d’ancrage. Le décor : Paris et le reste de l’univers mental.

Ricky, Ronny et Hundred Stars souffrent du trouble de stress post-traumatique. Toute une série d’événements traumatisants est à l’origine du nouvel opéra. Hundred Stars apparaît comme l’étincelante présence déstabilisante de l’éternel rabat-joie, une présence flottante, excessivement consciente des affres qu’entraîne le moindre contact. En racontant la souffrance, et à travers le plaisir, la jouissance – nos éternels et inévitables compagnons ici-bas – ils sont propulsés en direction d’un système sadique dans lequel ils semblent perdre tous leurs repères.

Sado Country ou le style musical d’un nouvel opéra : rien que de la tristesse et le plaisir agressif de vouloir ressentir cette tristesse en la chantant et la racontant. Un monde nourri par les soucis, les dilemmes, et l’éternelle quête d’agir pour le mieux. On peut toujours rêver.

« Hans Petter Dahl et Anneke Bonnema patinent sur la frontière entre quotidien et absurde, entre amour et aliénation. L’intimité qui se dégage de leur présence sur scène est un échantillon de la fragilité qu’il nous est trop rarement donné à vivre au théâtre. »
Etcetera, janvier 2008

« The Ballad of Ricky and Ronny est un spectacle extrême, tant sur le plan formel qu’en matière de contenu. »
De Morgen, le 11 décembre 2008

« On dirait que pour Bonnema et Dahl l’essentiel n’est jamais de défier les limites des arts de la scène – comme si cela se faisait accessoirement – mais de présenter leurs idées par le biais de l’intimité de la rencontre humaine. C’est précisément pour cela que The Ballad of Ricky & Ronny est un tableau à la fois humoristique et touchant de la société d’abondance et de la quête du bonheur individuel. »
Dagens Nyheter, le 5 octobre 2008, quotidien suédois

MaisonDahlBonnema, c’est le duo Hans Petter Dahl et Anna Sophia Bonnema. Depuis 1999, ces deux artistes jouent un rôle important dans les productions de Jan Lauwers & Needcompany. Hans Petter Dahl commence sa carrière en Norvège, où il confonde le groupe culte BAK-TRUPPEN, dont il est l’un des performeurs. En 1995, Dahl et Bonnema fondent le groupe de performances Love & Orgasm. Depuis lors, ils ont conçu une dizaine de performances, au carrefour de la musique composée, des arts plastiques, de la littérature et du théâtre, soit en duo, soit en collaboration avec d’autres artistes. Dahl en Bonnema se redéfinissent en permanence : de Love & Orgasm, en passant par L&O Amsterdam à MaisonDahlBonnema – ouverte en 2003, en tant que maison virtuelle de conception qui lance de nouvelles collections d’idées sous forme de vêtement, de musique, de vidéo et de texte. Leurs performances témoignent d’un choix radical pour l’alignement de divers outils théâtraux les uns à côté des autres. Le public lui-même fait souvent partie du décor global. Dahl et Bonnema assurent l’ensemble de leurs productions : l’écriture des textes, la composition de la musique, l’élaboration du style et du décor, l’interprétation.


concept Anna Sophia Bonnema, Hans Petter Dahl | with Anna Sophia Bonnema, Hans Petter Dahl, Louise Peterhoff | libretto Anna Sophia Bonnema | music Hans Petter Dahl | costumes, lights MaisonDahlBonnema | animation Jan Bultheel | production Needcompany | co-production Theater aan het Vrijthof, Euregionaal Opera- en Muziektheaterfestival (Maastricht), Bit Teatergarasjen (Bergen), Noorderzon/Grand Theatre (Groningen) | in collaboration with Kaaitheater (Brussels), Könstnärsnämden (Stockholm) | support Vlaamse Overheid, Norsk Kulturråd