Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Re-claiming Space

Re-claiming Space
Re-claiming Space

09.10 – 10.10.2020

Each evening Khadija El Kharraz Alami invites somebody else on stage. A performer, artist, actor, writer, human being, dancer... always a woman. You witness their first meeting. Re-claiming Space is an exploration of the space of womanhood and how to transcend it. In this performance, Khadija manifests womanly beauty, vulnerability, unheard voices, physicality, and neglected feminine perspectives. 'I'm re-claiming space by sharing space.' The exploration is inspired, among other things, by Women Who Run with the Wolves by Clarissa Pinkola Estés and Your Silence Will Not Protect You by Audre Lorde. Khadija’s work process is characterized by leaving certain things undetermined, so the performance takes shape onstage.

• Khadija El Kharraz Alami grew up in Amsterdam and, free from all convention and predictability, she forged her way to a place in the Dutch theatre landscape. Her productions persistently question perspectives – as well as the position that she has now attained. Last year, she presented the solo Now I am Medea at the Kaaistudios, which won her the KBC Young Theatre Prize at Theater Aan Zee. In the series Re-claiming Space, she is now working on her own staging of The Waves by Virginia Woolf.


concept Khadija El Kharraz Alami | guests Oksana Sankova (first evening), Renata Lamenza (second evening) | design Rosa Schützendorf | video Julie De Clercq | sculpture Matt Burgess | dramaturgical advice Esther Severi | production kunstenwerkplaats | coproduction kunstenwerkplaats, Kaaitheater, Frascati, Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam en NTGent | with the support of the Dutch Embassy

There's more

'It is time to 're-claim' my own space'

in conversation with Khadija El Kharraz Alami

'It is time to 're-claim' my own space'
'It is time to 're-claim' my own space'

article

Thu 01.10.20

On 9 and 10 oktober, Khadija El Kharraz Alami presents at Kaaitheater the performative research performance Re-claiming Space – a preliminary study for a new project about Virginia Woolf’s The Waves. Alami: ‘I just want to show what I define as beautiful, powerful, and vulnerable.’

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Re-claiming Space

Re-claiming Space
Re-claiming Space

09.10 – 10.10.2020

Chaque soir, Khadija El Kharraz Alami invite quelqu’un d’autre sur scène. Une performeuse, une artiste, une actrice, une autrice, une danseuse, une personne… toujours une femme. Vous assistez à leur première rencontre. Re-claiming Space est une recherche sur l’espace de la condition féminine et sur la manière de le transcender. Dans le spectacle, Khadija El Kharraz Alami révèle la beauté de la femme, la vulnérabilité, les voix inécoutées, le physique et les perspectives féminines occultées. Le public est témoin d’une première rencontre entre l’artiste féminine invitée et elle-même. « I’m re-claiming space by sharing space. » [Je me réapproprie l’espace en partageant l’espace.] La recherche s’inspire, entre autres, de Femmes qui courent avec les loups de Clarissa Pinkola Estés et Ton silence ne te protégera pas d’Audre Lorde. Le processus de travail de Khadija se caractérise par le fait de ne pas tout déterminer, de sorte que le spectacle prend corps sur scène.

• Khadija El Kharraz Alami a grandi à Amsterdam et s’est frayé, à l’encontre des conventions et de la facilité, un chemin vers le théâtre néerlandais où elle s’est fait une place. Dans ses spectacles, elle s’obstine à interroger des perspectives – et la position qu’elle est parvenue à obtenir. La saison passée, elle a interprété au Kaaistudio le solo Nu ben ik Medea qui lui a valu le Prix KBC du jeune talent théâtral au festival Theater Aan Zee. Avec la série Re-claiming Space, elle se consacre à une propre mise en scène de Vagues de Virginia Woolf.

« Je veux montrer le non-savoir, sentir la tension, séduire le public, bouger, toucher et remettre en question. Faire remonter à la surface le monde intérieur de la féminité étouffée, farouche et le montrer sans honte, sans jugement ni nuance. Je souhaite être lascive, excitée, dangereuse, somptueuse, orgueilleuse, laide, mais le plus important est d’être vulnérable, parce que je crois que c’est ce qui nous relie tous. » – Khadija El Kharraz Alami

« Khadija El Kharraz Alami est une personnalité scénique surprenante. Dès que l’actrice a capté votre attention, il est difficile de détourner le regard. » –  de Volkskrant


concept Khadija El Kharraz Alami | guests Oksana Sankova (first evening), Renata Lamenza (second evening) | design Rosa Schützendorf | video Julie De Clercq | sculpture Matt Burgess | dramaturgical advice Esther Severi | production kunstenwerkplaats | coproduction kunstenwerkplaats, Kaaitheater, Frascati, Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam en NTGent | with the support of the Dutch Embassy

There's more

'Het is tijd om mijn eigen ruimte terug te claimen'

een gesprek met Khadija El Kharraz Alami

'Het is tijd om mijn eigen ruimte terug te claimen'
'Het is tijd om mijn eigen ruimte terug te claimen'

article

je 01.10.20

Begin oktober staat Khadija El Kharraz Alami in het Kaaitheater met de performative research performance Re-claiming Space – een voorstudie op een nieuw project rond Virginia Woolfs The Waves. Alami: ‘Ik wil gewoon laten zien wat ik definieer als mooi, als krachtig, als kwetsbaar.’