Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus [BE]

Rain (live)

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

04.10 – 07.10.2016

Like a spreading fire

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker's most vibrant performances and is set to Steve Reichs Music for 18 Musicians. In many ways, the piece continued the choreographic principles that she had initiated three years previously with Drumming. Mathematical figures, continuous repetitions, the geometric utilisation of space and the art of continual variation: here De Keersmaeker pushes to its limits everything that had gradually become her trademark.

You are gripped by a kind of madness of movement. Like a spreading fire, it jumps from one body to another, without pausing at any one person. To the pulsing notes of Steve Reich’s minimalistic music – performed live by Ictus – ten dancers surrender themselves to an irrepressible collective energy. A bubbling network of breathing and speed connects them, as does that strange camaraderie that appears only beyond the limits of exhaustion.

• This season, we are presenting four performances from the Rosas repertoire. We kick off with Rain, on location at the Cirque Royale. Later, with Rosas danst Rosas, A Love Supreme and Golden Hours (As you like it), you can (re-)experience three further defining moments from 33 years of Rosas’ dance history.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by Laura Bachman, Léa Dubois, Anika Edström Kawaji, Zoi Efstathiou, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, José Paulo dos Santos, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Luka Švajda, Thomas Vantuycom, Lav Crncevic | music Steve Reich (Music for 18 Musicians) | musicians Ictus Miquel Bernat, Tom de Cock, Géry Cambier, Michael Weilacher, Jessica Ryckwaert (percussions), Gerrit Nulens, Georges-Elie Octors (percussions & piano), Laurence Cornez, Fabian Fiorini, Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Stéphane Ginsburg (piano), Dirk Descheemaeker, Carlos Galvez (clarinet), Igor Semenoff (violin), Geert de Bièvre (cello), Micaela Haslam, Amanda Morrison, Heather Cairncross, Caroline Jaya-Ratnam (voice) | set and lighting design Jan Versweyveld | costume design Dries Van Noten | production 2001 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles) | co-production 2016 De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles), Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg | premiere 10.01.2001, De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles) | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community

‘Een lofrede op spiraalsgewijs leven.’ Een gesprek tussen Steve Reich en Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (De Munt magazine)

Related content

Rosas

Golden Hours (As you like it)

dance

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

dance

Tue 20.12 - Thu 22.12.16

What happens when Shakespeare’s rhythmic and poetic visual language becomes dance? Golden Hours (As you like it) – an encounter between Brian Eno and Shakespeare – draws you into a mildly ironic world, where the characters speak a language that doesn’t need deciphering to be grasped, yet isn’t pantomime.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

dance

Thu 23.02 - Sat 04.03.17

In 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, along with Salva Sanchis, created a quartet set to John Coltrane’s jazz album A Love Supreme. Improvisation and composition interweave until they melt together. Join a new cast of young performers, in giving yourself over to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

dance

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

dance

Wed 21.06 - Thu 29.06.17

In 1983, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker firmly put her newly formed dance company Rosas on the international map with Rosas danst Rosas. Four dancers dance themselves, again and again. For this revival, an entirely new, young cast will dance Rosas danst Rosas.

Ictus & Fumiyo Ikeda

Piano and String Quartet

dance music

Piano and String Quartet
Piano and String Quartet

dance

Fri 27.01 - Sat 28.01.17

Dancer and choreographer Fumiyo Ikeda takes you on a journey to the heart of Morton Feldman’s Piano and String Quartet. This 80-minute composition for piano and strings exudes an aura of tranquillity, in which ‘each is just as much an echo of the other’. Ikeda shares the stage with the soloists of Ictus, as though she herself were the sixth musician.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus [BE]

Rain (live)

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

04.10 – 07.10.2016

Comme un feu jaillissant

Rain (2001) est un des spectacles les plus électrisants d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, créé sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. À bien des égards, la pièce poursuit l’exploration des principes chorégraphiques initiés trois ans auparavant avec Drumming. Les formes mathématisées, la répétition inlassable, l’occupation géométrique de l’espace, l’art de la variation permanente : De Keersmaeker y a poussé à l’extrême tout ce qui appartient entre-temps à sa signature.

Une sorte de manie du mouvement se saisit du spectateur. Comme un feu jaillissant, elle saute d’un corps à l’autre sans jamais s’arrêter chez personne. Sur les tonalités pulsatoires de la musique minimaliste de Steve Reich – interprétée en directe par Ictus –, dix danseurs s'abandonnent à une irrépressible énergie collective. Un réseau bouillonnant de respirations et de célérité les relient, de même que cette étrange amitié qui ne peut naître qu’au-delà de la fatigue.

• Cette saison, nous présentons quatre spectacles du répertoire de Rosas. Rain ouvre la série, hors les murs, au Cirque Royal. Plus tard, on pourra (re)voir Rosas danst Rosas, A Love Supreme et Golden Hours (As you like it), trois autres moments clés des 33 ans d’histoire de la danse écrite par Rosas.
 

« Rain subjugue encore plus, si tant est que ce soit possible, que le virtuose et complexe Drumming » – De Standaard

« Par toute sa délicatesse, la chorégraphie de De Keersmaeker respire, au même titre que la musique de Steve Reich, aussi profondément que l’océan. » – Village Voice

« Une force pure. L’élan irrésistible de la jeunesse lancée à fond de train dans un tourbillon gestuel. Le goût d’éternité des corps jaillissant comme de l’eau vive. » – Le Monde

 


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by Laura Bachman, Léa Dubois, Anika Edström Kawaji, Zoi Efstathiou, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, José Paulo dos Santos, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Luka Švajda, Thomas Vantuycom, Lav Crncevic | music Steve Reich (Music for 18 Musicians) | musicians Ictus Miquel Bernat, Tom de Cock, Géry Cambier, Michael Weilacher, Jessica Ryckwaert (percussions), Gerrit Nulens, Georges-Elie Octors (percussions & piano), Laurence Cornez, Fabian Fiorini, Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Stéphane Ginsburg (piano), Dirk Descheemaeker, Carlos Galvez (clarinet), Igor Semenoff (violin), Geert de Bièvre (cello), Micaela Haslam, Amanda Morrison, Heather Cairncross, Caroline Jaya-Ratnam (voice) | set and lighting design Jan Versweyveld | costume design Dries Van Noten | production 2001 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles) | co-production 2016 De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles), Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg | premiere 10.01.2001, De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles) | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community

‘Apologie de la vie spiralée.’ Un entretien avec Steve Reich et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (Magazine de la Monnaie)

There's more

Rosas

Golden Hours (As you like it)

danse

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

danse

ma 20.12 - je 22.12.16

Que se passe-t-il quand la rythmique et la poésie du langage imagé de Shakespeare deviennent de la danse ? Golden Hours (As you like it) – une rencontre entre Brian Eno et Shakespeare – entraîne dans un monde quelque peu ironique où les personnages parlent une langue qu’on comprend sans la déchiffrer.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

danse

je 23.02 - sa 04.03.17

En 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Salva Sanchis ont créé un quatuor sur l’album jazz de John Coltrane, A Love Supreme. L’improvisation et la composition s’imbriquent jusqu’à se fondre. Abandonnez-vous avec une nouvelle distribution de jeunes performeurs, à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

danse

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

danse

me 21.06 - je 29.06.17

En 1983, avec Rosas danst Rosas, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a résolument imposé Rosas, sa compagnie de danse fraîchement fondée, sur la scène internationale. Quatre danseuses se dansent, encore et encore. Cette reprise est interprétée par une toute nouvelle distribution de jeunes danseuses.

Ictus & Fumiyo Ikeda

Piano and String Quartet

danse musique

Piano and String Quartet
Piano and String Quartet

danse

ve 27.01 - sa 28.01.17

La danseuse et chorégraphe Fumiyo Ikeda nous entraîne au coeur de la composition Piano and String Quartet de Morton Feldman. De ces 80 minutes de piano et de violon se dégage une aura de paix et de sérénité dans laquelle « tout est en même temps l’écho de rien ». Ikeda partage la scène avec les solistes d’Ictus, comme si elle était une sixième musicienne.