Ictus [BE]

Pneuma a 25th birthday concert

Pneuma
Pneuma

18.12.2019

While silence can be intimidating and evoke a sacral atmosphere, breathing fosters connection. In the immersive concert Pneuma, Ictus has radically opted for breath. An accordion becomes a lung, the flute a larynx. The result is a subtle soundscape that unfurls across the space, and you can decide on the distance from which you want to experience this (breath)taking event.

In his Second String Quartet #2, Jürg Frey transforms each chord into a long exhale, while the musicians softly hum along to the music they play. In Breathcore, Michael Schmid and his ‘choir of breaths’ explore the ephemeral sound of breathing. And Sylvie Melis envelops this and many other pneumatic experiments with a lightscape of escaping photons.

• The Brussels-based contemporary music ensemble Ictus has been a regular guest at Kaaitheater for many years. This year, the ensemble is celebrating its 25th anniversary. Michael Schmid presented Breathcore at the Kaaistudios in 2017, during IN/FINITY.


with George van Dam (violin), Jeroen Robbrecht (viola), Eva Reiter (viola da gamba), François Deppe (cello), Luca Piovesan (accordion), Michael Schmid (flute) | light scenography Sylvie Mélis | sound Alexandre Fostier | artistic leader of Breathcore Michael Schmid | assistant to light scenography Nicolas Marc 

Related content

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

dance music

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

dance

Fri 15.05 - Wed 20.05.20

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s most characteristic performances, set to Steve Reich’s Music for 18 Musicians. Seven women and three men allow themselves to be propelled by an unstoppable joined energy. They are connected by a lively network of breathing and speed, as well as the special comradery that forms when you are beyond fatigue. In 2016, Rain was reprised with a new cast, premièring at the Royal Circus.

Encyclopédie de la parole

Suite n° 4

theatre music

Suite n° 4
Suite n° 4

theatre

Tue 19.05 - Sun 24.05.20

In the first part of Suite n° 4, recognizable and anonymous voices overlap as though they were coming from different acoustic spaces. In the second part, the voices are accompanied by eight musicians from Ictus. The Encyclopédie de la parole collective presents a performance about absence, like an opera without singers or a theatre without actors. For 150 minutes, you hear a thousand concrete situations in more than 30 languages.

Ictus [BE]

Pneuma a 25th birthday concert

Pneuma
Pneuma

18.12.2019

Là où le silence peut être intimidant et générer une atmosphère sacrale, la respiration crée du lien. Dans le concert immersif Pneuma, Ictus opte radicalement pour la respiration. Un accordéon ressemble à un poumon et un larynx pourrait parfaitement faire office de flûte. Le résultat donne un subtil bain de sons qui se diffusent à travers l’espace et l’on définit soi-même la distance à laquelle on souhaite assister à cet événement à couper le souffle.

Dans Second String Quartet #2, Jürg Frey transforme chaque accord en un long souffle auquel se mêle le doux murmure des musiciens. Dans Breathcore, Michael Schmid et son « chœur de souffles » partent en quête du son éphémère de la respiration. Et Sylvie Melis, qui signe les lumières du spectacle, baigne ces expériences « pneumatiques » et bien d’autres encore d’une sorte d’échappée de photons qu’elle souffle pour ainsi dire à travers les interstices de la matière.

• L’ensemble bruxellois de musique contemporaine Ictus est depuis des années un hôte attitré du Kaaitheater. Cette année, l’ensemble célèbre ses 25 ans d’existence. En 2017, Michael Schmid a interprété Breathcore aux Kaaistudio’s dans le cadre d’IN/FINITY.


with George van Dam (violin), Jeroen Robbrecht (viola), Eva Reiter (viola da gamba), François Deppe (cello), Luca Piovesan (accordion), Michael Schmid (flute) | light scenography Sylvie Mélis | sound Alexandre Fostier | artistic leader of Breathcore Michael Schmid | assistant to light scenography Nicolas Marc 

Sujets apparentés

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

danse musique

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

danse

ve 15.05 - me 20.05.20

Rain (2001) est l’une des plus électrisantes productions d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, écrite sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. Sept femmes et trois hommes s’abandonnent à une irrépressible énergie collective qui les connecte l’un à l’autre, réseau bouillonnant où se partagent le souffle, la vitesse, et cette étrange amitié qui ne peut naître qu’au-delà de la fatigue. En 2016, une nouvelle distribution a repris Rain au Cirque Royal.

Encyclopédie de la parole

Suite n° 4

théâtre musique

Suite n° 4
Suite n° 4

théâtre

ma 19.05 - di 24.05.20

Dans la première partie de Suite n° 4, des voix reconnaissables et anonymes se superposent comme si elles provenaient d’espaces acoustiques différents. Dans la seconde partie, huit musiciens d’Ictus accompagnent les voix. Le collectif français Encyclopédie de la parole présente un spectacle sur l’absence, comme un opéra sans chanteurs ou un théâtre sans comédiens. Cent cinquante minutes durant, le spectacle nous fait traverser mille situations concrètes en plus de trente langues.