Ictus & Fumiyo Ikeda [BE]

Piano and String Quartet

Piano and String Quartet
Piano and String Quartet

27.01 – 28.01.2017

The sixth musician

No stage set, no backdrops, no frills: everything is laid bare. The dancer and choreographer Fumiyo Ikeda takes you with her into the heart of Morton Feldman’s Piano and String Quartet. This 80-minute long composition for piano and strings radiates an aura of calm, in which ‘each something could equally be the echo of nothing.’ Ikeda shares the stage with the Ictus performers, as if she herself were the sixth musician. Ikeda: “Close your eyes when you want to sink into the music – open them whenever you want to see the dance. Just like when you’re on a quiet beach and wandering.” The erratic, almost imprecise repetitions of Ikeda’s movements perfectly echo Feldman’s music.

• In 1983, Fumiyo Ikeda joined the newly established Rosas, dancing in almost every production until 2008. She also created performances together with fellow artists such as Benjamin Verdonck and Tim Etchells. The Brussels-based contemporary music ensemble Ictus has been a regular guest at Kaaitheater for years and often collaborates with Rosas. This season, Ictus will also be presenting a new Liquid Room concert.

It is better to discover mystery in light than in the shadows. – Arthur Cravan


choreography, solo performance Fumiyo Ikeda | piano Jean-Luc Fafchamps | violins George van Dam, Igor Semenoff | viola Aurélie Entringer | cello Geert De Bièvre | light design Hans Meijer | co-production Opéra de Lille | Support de Vlaamse Gemeenschap

Related content

Lola Arias

Veterans

video installation exhibition

Veterans
Veterans

video

Thu 01.01.70

In Lola Arias’ video installation Veterans, Argentinian veterans look back at their traumatic experiences during the Falklands War in 1982. Thirty-five years on, they retrieve their war memories through a kind of time machine that transports their past to the present.

Ictus

Liquid Room VII

music performance

Liquid Room VII: SOUND & VISION
Liquid Room VII: SOUND & VISION

music

Tue 25.04.17

Can light be a compositional building block? The Liquid Room Series radically questions the classical concert model. The audience is free to move around among the various stages set up in the dismantled hall of the Kaaitheater. Immerse yourself in a pure experience of sound and light!

Ictus & Fumiyo Ikeda [BE]

Piano and String Quartet

Piano and String Quartet
Piano and String Quartet

27.01 – 28.01.2017

La sixième musicienne

Pas de décor, pas de coulisse, pas de fioritures : tout est nu. Fumiyo Ikeda – danseuse et chorégraphe – nous emmène au cœur du Piano and String Quartet de Morton Feldman. Cette composition de 80 minutes pour piano et quatuor à cordes dégage une aura de calme dans laquelle « tout est aussi bien l’écho de rien ». Ikeda partage la scène avec les musiciens-performeurs d’Ictus, comme si elle était la sixième musicienne. Ikeda : « Fermer les yeux alors qu’on sombre dans la musique, ouvrir les yeux quand on veut voir de la danse. Un peu comme quand on se promène sur une plage calme. » Les répétitions capricieuses, quasi imprécises des mouvements d’Ikeda sont la résonance parfaite de la musique de Feldman.

• En 1983, Fumiyo Ikeda a rejoint la compagnie Rosas, alors fraîchement fondée, et a dansé dans presque chaque production jusqu’en 2008. Parallèlement, elle a aussi créé des spectacles, entre autres avec Benjamin Verdonck et avec Tim Etchells. L’ensemble de musique contemporaine Ictus est depuis des années une valeur sûre du programme du Kaaitheater et collabore de manière régulière avec Rosas. Cette saison, Ictus présente aussi un nouveau concert Liquid Room.

It is better to discover mystery in light than in the shadows. – Arthur Cravan


choreography, solo performance Fumiyo Ikeda | piano Jean-Luc Fafchamps | violins George van Dam, Igor Semenoff | viola Aurélie Entringer | cello Geert De Bièvre | light design Hans Meijer | co-production Opéra de Lille | Support de Vlaamse Gemeenschap

There's more

Lola Arias

Veterans

vidéo installation expo

Veterans
Veterans
je 01.01.70

Dans l’installation vidéo Veterans de Lola Arias, d’anciens combattants argentins portent un regard rétrospectif sur leurs expériences traumatisantes pendant la guerre des Malouines en 1982. Trente-cinq ans plus tard, ils puisent leurs souvenirs de guerre dans une sorte de machine à remonter le temps qui les téléporte du présent vers le passé.

Ictus

Liquid Room VII

musique performance

Liquid Room VII: SOUND & VISION
Liquid Room VII: SOUND & VISION
ma 25.04.17

La lumière peut-elle constituer un fondement compositionnel ? La série Liquid Room remet radicalement en question le modèle du concert classique. On se promène librement entre les différentes scènes de la salle démantelée du Kaaitheater. Laissezvous absorber par une pure expérience de son et lumière.