Ivo Dimchev [BG]

Operville

Operville
Operville

14.10.2016

From rock star to prima donna

In the run up to Performatik 2017 – the Brussels biennial of performance art – we will be reviving some of the highlights from the last edition. In March 2015, Ivo Dimchev concluded the festival with a one-off performance of Operville. Dimchev had dreamt of writing an opera for a long time. This made perfect sense, as his entire oeuvre is infused with his passion for music. Anyone who has previously seen him at work will undoubtedly remember radical improvisations, with his muscular body and slender falsetto voice used as instruments. As a singer, he moves seamlessly from one emotional state to another, from rock star to prima donna.

In Operville, the three singers/performers create a succession of intriguing tableaux vivants. A stream of consciousness by Dimchev simultaneously appears on the rear wall. By comparison to the abstract poses and incomprehensible sung language on stage, these texts are surprisingly specific and intimate. This is Ivo Dimchev in action: he harnesses the power of the voice, extreme theatricality and a whole arsenal of temperament, and goes in search of what opera is and can be.


text, vocal scores, choreography Ivo Dimchev |
performance, improvisation Plamena Girginova, Nickolay Voynov, Ivo Dimchev |
recorded music Chopin, Stephan Hristov and others |
premiered at Kaaitheater 28 March 2015 at Performatik festival | co-production Kaaitheater, Humarts Foundation

Programmaboekje - Programme de salle - Evening programme

Related content

Ivo Dimchev & Lea Petra

Concerto

performance music

Concerto
Concerto

performance

Wed 12.10.16

For his Concertos, the born performer Ivo Dimchev always invites a different musician for a voice improvisation in the form of a concert. At the Kaaitheater, he performs alongside the composer and pianist Lea Petra, who has been highly praised for her tango transcriptions for piano.

Ivo Dimchev [BG]

Operville

Operville
Operville

14.10.2016

De la rock star à la prima donna

En préambule de Performatik 2017 – la Biennale bruxelloise des arts du spectacle vivant –, le Kaaitheater reprend un certain nombre de temps forts de l’édition précédente. En mars 2015, Ivo Dimchev a clôturé le festival par une représentation unique d’Operville. Dimchev caressait depuis longtemps le projet d’écrire un opéra, ce qui n’est pas illogique sachant que toute son œuvre témoigne d’une passion pour la musique. Qui l’a déjà vu à l’œuvre se souvient sans aucun doute de ses improvisations radicales avec pour seuls instruments son corps musclé et sa frêle voix de fausset. En tant que chanteur, il passe avec fluidité d’un état d’âme à l’autre, de la rock star à la prima donna.

Dans Operville, trois chanteurs/performeurs créent un enchaînement de tableaux vivants intrigants. En toile de fond apparaît simultanément un courant de conscience de Dimchev. Par rapport aux poses abstraites et à l’incompréhensible langage chanté à l’avant de la scène, ces textes sont extraordinairement concrets et intimes. De l’Ivo Dimchev tout craché : par la force de la voix, une théâtralité extrême et un tempérament à toute épreuve, il part en quête de ce qu’est l’opéra et de ce qu’il pourrait être.


text, vocal scores, choreography Ivo Dimchev |
performance, improvisation Plamena Girginova, Nickolay Voynov, Ivo Dimchev |
recorded music Chopin, Stephan Hristov and others |
premiered at Kaaitheater 28 March 2015 at Performatik festival | co-production Kaaitheater, Humarts Foundation

Sujets apparentés

Ivo Dimchev & Lea Petra

Concerto

performance musique

Concerto
Concerto

production

me 12.10.16

Pour les représentations de son spectacle Concerto, le performeur pur-sang Ivo Dimchev invite chaque fois un autre musicien à donner une improvisation vocale sous forme de concert. Au Kaaitheater, il se produit sur scène avec la compositrice et pianiste Lea Petra. Ses transcriptions de tango pour piano recueillent beaucoup d’éloges.