deufert&plischke [DE]

Niemandszeit

Niemandszeit
Niemandszeit

08.10 – 09.10.2015

Choreography as social practice

In 1998 Thomas Plischke graduated from PARTS with a dance solo, and Kattrin Deufert graduated from the Freie Universität Berlin with a text. Since then they have lectured as deufert&plischke at colleges, including PARTS, and supervised many students during their graduate projects. For Niemandszeit they reverse the roles: they gave their graduate projects to their students, not to have them reconstructed, but so as to become students of their own work, with their students as mentors and themselves as performers.

The students reformulated the solo and text with personal experiences and memories from the years 1998-2014, a tumultuous period in which the Iraq war, 9/11, the financial crisis, the Arab Spring, Facebook, Google and the American National Security Agency dominated the headlines. The students wrote a new solo and a new text that is now being performed by deufert&plischke, together with the audience.

This all fits within the artistic strategy of deufert&plischke: they erase the artistic ego and have their work written collectively. Choreography thus becomes a social activity, not determined by aesthetic principles, but by existential and philosophical concepts such as war and peace, freedom and truth.

• The work of deufert&plischke can be seen in theatres, museums and other places. In 2010 we showed a dance performance from their Anarchiv series in the Kaaistudios.

#edgydance #diy


concept and realisation deufert&plischke | choreography & text Rosalind Goldberg, Ana Laura Lozza, Lee Meir, Miriam Jakob, Flavio Ribeiro, Kareth Schaffer | performed by deufert&plischke | with a text contribution by Valda Setterfield | assistance Ann-Kathrin Reimers | production Management Barbara Greiner | a production by deufert&plischke and Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V. | with the support of the european network APAP Advancing Performing Arts Project - Performing Europe | co-production BIT Teatergarasjen Bergen, Kunstencentrum Buda Kortrijk, Tqw Vienna | supported by the Berlin Senate Cultural Affairs Department

deufert&plischke [DE]

Niemandszeit

Niemandszeit
Niemandszeit

08.10 – 09.10.2015

La chorégraphie comme pratique sociale

En 1998, Thomas Plischke achevait ses études à PARTS avec un solo de danse et Kattrin Deufert rédigeait sa thèse de doctorat à l’Université Libre de Berlin. Depuis lors, ils enseignent sous le nom deufert&plischke dans des écoles supérieures, entre autres à PARTS, et accompagnent de nombreux étudiants dans leur travail de fin d’études. Dans Niemandszeit, ils inversent les rôles : ils confient leur travail de fin d’études à leurs étudiants, non pas afin qu’ils en produisent une reconstitution, mais pour devenir étudiants de leur propre création, avec leurs étudiants comme mentors, et eux-mêmes comme performeurs.

Les étudiants ont retravaillé le solo et le texte avec des expériences et des souvenirs personnels des années 1998-2014, une époque tumultueuse pendant laquelle la guerre en Irak, les attentats du 11 septembre, la crise financière, le Printemps arabe, Facebook, Google et la NSA ont dominé l’information. Les étudiants ont écrit un nouveau solo et un nouveau texte que deufert&plischke interprètent à présent, avec le public.

Plusieurs éléments cadrent dans la stratégie artistique de deufert&plischke : ils suppriment l’ego artistique et font écrire leur œuvre de façon collective. Chorégraphier devient ainsi une pratique sociale, non pas dirigée par des principes esthétiques, mais par des notions existentielles et philosophiques, comme la guerre et la paix ou la liberté et la vérité.

• L’œuvre de deufert&plischke est présentée dans des théâtres, des musées et d’autres lieux. En 2010, les Kaaistudio’s ont accueilli une performance de danse extraite de leur série Anarchiv.

#edgydance #diy


concept and realisation deufert&plischke | choreography & text Rosalind Goldberg, Ana Laura Lozza, Lee Meir, Miriam Jakob, Flavio Ribeiro, Kareth Schaffer | performed by deufert&plischke | with a text contribution by Valda Setterfield | assistance Ann-Kathrin Reimers | production Management Barbara Greiner | a production by deufert&plischke and Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V. | with the support of the european network APAP Advancing Performing Arts Project - Performing Europe | co-production BIT Teatergarasjen Bergen, Kunstencentrum Buda Kortrijk, Tqw Vienna | supported by the Berlin Senate Cultural Affairs Department