Jan Decorte / Bloet & Comp.Marius [BE]

Ne Swarte

Ne Swarte
Ne Swarte

08.11 – 10.11.2016

The mystery of life

Ne Swarte is a new text by Jan Decorte, based on Shakespeare’s Othello (The Tragedy of Othello, the Moor of Venice). It is a bloodcurdling tragedy about passion, all-consuming jealousy, deception and murder. The world of the Moorish warlord Othello is shaped by military pride and ambition. When Othello passes over his commanding officer Iago for an officer’s appointment, the seed is sown for a chilling settling of scores. Mercilessly, Iago drips the poison of jealousy into Othello and Desdemona’s happy marriage. 

In this radical, poetic rewriting, Jan Decorte debones the classic text. Beneath the simple narrative lies a profound truth that directly touches on the mystery of life. The impact of this truth cannot fail to move us.

Ne Swarte is performed by Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Waas Gramser, Kris Van Trier and Herwig Ilegems. The members of this small ‘Shakespeare alliance’ are old hands at this game, having previously created Wintervögelchen (based on The Winter’s Tale), Niks of Niks (based on Much Ado About Nothing) and Shylock (based on The Merchant of Venice).


productie Bloet | coproductie Comp.Marius & Kaaitheater | tekst & regie Jan Decorte met Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Waas Gramser, Kris Van Trier, Herwig Ilegems | decor Jan Decorte, Johan Daenen | kostuums Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sofie D’Hoore | licht Jan Decorte, Luc Schaltin

Programmaboekje - Programme de salle - Evening programme

Jan Decorte / Bloet & Comp.Marius [BE]

Ne Swarte

Ne Swarte
Ne Swarte

08.11 – 10.11.2016

Le mystère de la vie

Ne Swarte est un nouveau texte de Jan Decorte, inspiré d’Othello (The Tragedy of Othello, the Moor of Venice) de Shakespeare, une tragédie glaçante à propos de passion, de jalousie dévorante, de duperie et de meurtre. Le monde du général Othello est défini par l’honneur et l’ambition militaires. Lors d’une promotion, Othello supplante le commandant Iago. Fou de rage, celui-ci instille goutte à goutte le venin de la jalousie dans le jeune couple que forment Othello et Desdémone.

À travers une réécriture radicale et poétique, Jan Decorte décortique le texte classique. Sous le récit assez simple se cache une vérité profonde qui touche de manière directe au mystère de la vie. L’impact de cette vérité ne peut qu’émouvoir.

Ne Swarte est joué par Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Waas Gramser, Kris Van Trier et Herwig Ilegems. Cette petite « ligue shakespearienne » n’en est pas à son coup d’essai. Ensemble, ils ont créé précédemment Wintervögelchen (d’après The Winter’s Tale), Niks of Niks (d’après Much Ado About Nothing) et Shylock (d’après The Merchant of Venice).


productie Bloet | coproductie Comp.Marius & Kaaitheater | tekst & regie Jan Decorte met Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Waas Gramser, Kris Van Trier, Herwig Ilegems | decor Jan Decorte, Johan Daenen | kostuums Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sofie D’Hoore | licht Jan Decorte, Luc Schaltin

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme