Thomas Ryckewaert [BE]

Move 37

Move 37
Move 37

22.10.2019

Move 37’ refers to a historic match of Go, the oldest board game in the world. In the 37th move, the Google-developed neural network AlphaGO beats the Go world champion Lee Sedol. Nobody had expected that a machine could beat a human.

For his lecture-performance Move 37, Thomas Ryckewaert researched artificial intelligence and cosmology. Along with cosmologist Thomas Hertog (KU Leuven), he explores ways of uncovering the radically strange. ‘We run up against the boundaries of our knowledge when we hear Hertog’s cosmological insights and that is an alienating but also humbling experience’, Ryckewaert says. Everything becomes unhinged: the human becomes alien, the computer becomes intuitive, your senses deceive you, and the robot…dreams.

• Thomas Ryckewaert studied biology, philosophy and theatre. All of these interests converge in his work for the theatre. In 2017, he presented Golem at Kaaitheater.

 

‘Move 37 is not just a traditional lecture-performance, it is also a kind of David Lynch film in which inexplicable things occur.’ – E-TCETERA


direction & script Thomas Ryckewaert | texts & performance Thomas Hertog, Thomas Ryckewaert | dramaturgy Kristof Van Baarle | scenography Erki De Vries | light Giacomo Gorini, Janneke Donkersloot l sound Jürgen De Blonde | video Paul Van Caudenberg | costumes Andrea Kränzlin | director's assistant Sibran Sampers | management Karen Feys | co-production Platform 0090, Instituut voor Theoretische Fysica (KULeuven), deSingel, Het Laatste Bedrijf | thanks to WP Zimmer, BUDA | made possible with the support of the Tax Shelter measure from the Belgian Federal Government, Gallop Tax Shelter and the Flemish Government

Thomas Ryckewaert [BE]

Move 37

Move 37
Move 37

22.10.2019

Move 37  fait référence à une partie historique de jeu de go, le plus ancien jeu de plateau au monde. Au 37e coup, le réseau neuronal artificiel AlphaGo développé par Google l’emporte sur le champion du monde de la discipline, Lee Sedol. Personne ne s’attendait à ce qu’une machine puisse battre un humain à ce jeu.

Pour sa lecture performance Move 37, Thomas Ryckewaert se penche sur l’intelligence artificielle et la cosmologie. Avec le cosmologue Thomas Hertog (KU Leuven), il cherche des moyens de révéler l’étrangeté extrême. « Nous nous heurtons aux limites de notre connaissance en entendant les notions cosmologiques de Hertog, ce qui constitue une expérience qui touche à l’étrangeté, mais à l’humilité aussi », explique Ryckewaert. Tout est remis en question : l’humain devient extraterrestre, l’ordinateur devient intuitif, les sens nous trompent et le robot rêve.

• Thomas Ryckewaert a étudié la biologie, la philosophie et le théâtre. Des centres d’intérêt qui se rejoignent dans ses œuvres théâtrales. En 2017, il a présenté Golem au Kaaitheater.

 

«  Move 37 n’est pas juste une lecture performance classique, mais en même temps une sorte de film de David Lynch dans lequel il se passe des choses inexplicables.  » – E-TCETERA


direction & script Thomas Ryckewaert | texts & performance Thomas Hertog, Thomas Ryckewaert | dramaturgy Kristof Van Baarle | scenography Erki De Vries | light Giacomo Gorini, Janneke Donkersloot l sound Jürgen De Blonde | video Paul Van Caudenberg | costumes Andrea Kränzlin | director's assistant Sibran Sampers | management Karen Feys | co-production Platform 0090, Instituut voor Theoretische Fysica (KULeuven), deSingel, Het Laatste Bedrijf | thanks to WP Zimmer, BUDA | made possible with the support of the Tax Shelter measure from the Belgian Federal Government, Gallop Tax Shelter and the Flemish Government

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme