Raafat Majzoub + Nancy Naous [LB]

MOUSSEM CITIES: BEIRUT – Opening night

MOUSSEM CITIES: BEIRUT – Opening night
MOUSSEM CITIES: BEIRUT – Opening night

02.02.2017

Raafat Majzoub Opening Talk The Farewell Chronicles’

Swaying between seriousness and play, architect, writer and artist Raafat Majzoub’s work is based on the notion of performing reality until reality complies. For Moussem Cities: Beirut, he will be giving a talk and presenting a two-week-long performance installation.

The talk is rooted in a weekly column Majzoub wrote for the Beirut-based Al-Akhbar newspaper titled ‘The Farewell Chronicles’. The series provides an interesting insider’s perspective on the city of Beirut. For the opening of Moussem Cities, he wrote a new text by way of introduction to the city and reflecting on publication, making-public, in a place like Beirut.


Nancy Naous The Third Circle, Varations

The third circle, variations is a performance and installation based on interviews with islamic intellectuals, religious leaders and specialists in islamic law, conducted by choreographer Nancy Naous. This project investigates what dance and music would look like when conforming to the Sharia.

This project is a sequel to The third circle (created in 2014 in collaboration with composer Wael Koudaih), which questioned the direction of art in general and dance and music in particular from the prespective of islamic law.

• Nancy Naous is a choreographer, dancer and actress. For her, dance is a way to address social, political, cultural, religious and psychological themes. She finds inspiration in current events and the developments in the Arab world. She studied in Beirut and Paris. Her own company is called 4120.CORPS, in an allusion to the number of kilometres between the two cities that have shaped her.

Installation in Arabic with English and French titles
Performance in Arabic with Dutch and French titles


EXTRA: installation Raafat Majzoub - "1"
in the Gallery Ravenstein

In addition, Majzoub presents a new installation in the Gallery Ravenstein. 1 is the second prototype of The Khan’s nomadic hotel rooms, spaces that are created as intruders and hosts, generators and documentaries — incubators of Active Fiction. The first prototype, 0, will be set up until May 2017 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge (USA). 1 will be an appropriation of a public/private space through the installation of a Twin hotel room that functions as a performance of luxurious intrusion, floating between the playful, serious and offensive tonalities of being present in the world today as an observer of lucid death, migration, xenophobic legislation, the crumbling of unions and disillusionment with present fictions.

Majzoub will live in the hotel and operate its bar and piano area for two weeks from February 2 to 15. The hotel will be available on airbnb for people to share the experience. The performance is discreet, unstaged and ongoing.


The Third Circle, Variations
choreography Nancy Naous | performers Dalia Naous, Nancy Naous, Mohamed Fouad, Hanane El Dirani | music Hadi Zeidan | supertitles Nadim Bahsoun | lighting Alexandre Vincent | costumes Jörg Todtenbier | co-production All Mawred all Thaqafy, Heinrich Boell Stiftung, Mucem | with the support of CND

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

VIDEO: Raafat Majzoub

The Farewell Chronicles

VIDEO: Raafat Majzoub
VIDEO: Raafat Majzoub

Video

Wed 08.02.17

For the opening of Moussem Cities Raafat Majzoub wrote a new text, departed from his weekly column  The Farewell Chronicles or the Beirut-based Al-Akhbar. In English

Raafat Majzoub + Nancy Naous [LB]

MOUSSEM CITIES: BEIRUT – Opening night

MOUSSEM CITIES: BEIRUT – Opening night
MOUSSEM CITIES: BEIRUT – Opening night

02.02.2017

Raafat Majzoub Conférence inaugurale « Les chroniques d’adieu »

L’œuvre de l’architecte, auteur et artiste Raafat Majzoub oscille entre gravité et ludisme. Dans le cadre de Moussem Cities: Beirut, il donne une conférence et présente deux semaines durant une installation.

La conférence s’inspire d’une chronique hebdomadaire que Majzoub tient dans le quotidien beyrouthin Al-Akhbar. Dans « Les chroniques d’adieu », Majzoub donne sa vision de la ville où il vit. Pour l’inauguration de Moussem Cities, il a rédigé un nouveau texte : une introduction sur Beyrouth, mais aussi une réflexion sur la publication et la publicité d’une ville comme celle-ci.


Nancy Naous The Third Circle, Variations

Performance et installation, basées sur des interviews menés au Liban avec un nombre d'érudits musulmans, de religieux, et spécialistes du droit islamique, Le troisième cercle, variations explore les formes sous lesquelles s'exprimeraient la danse et la musique si on leur appliquait la Charia.

Ce projet fait suite au Troisième cercle (conçu en 2014 en collaboration avec le compositeur Wael Koudaih) qui interroge l’orientation que prendrait l’art en général et la danse et la musique en particulier, dans la perspective de la loi islamique.

• Nancy Naous est chorégraphe, danseuse et comédienne. La danse est pour elle une manière d’aborder des questions sociales, politiques, culturelles, religieuses et psychologiques. Elle s’inspire toujours de l’actualité et des évènements dans le monde arabe. Elle a suivi une formation à Beyrouth et à Paris. Sa compagnie s’appelle 4120.CORPS, une référence au nombre de kilomètres qui séparent les deux villes qui l’ont formée.

Installation en arabe avec titres en anglais et français
Performance en arabe avec titres en néerlandais et français


EXTRA: installation Raafat Majzoub - "1"
dans la Galerie Ravenstein

Majzoub présente en outre une nouvelle installation dans la Galerie Ravenstein. 1 est le deuxième prototype de la « chambre d’hôtel nomade du Khan », des lieux à la fois d’intrusion et d’accueil, simultanément générateurs et documentaires – des incubateurs de Fiction active. Le premier prototype, 0, peut être visité jusqu’à la fin du mois de mai au Massachusetts Institute of Technology à Cambridge (USA). 1 est une appropriation d’un espace public/privé sous forme d’installation : une chambre d’hôtel pour deux personnes qui fait office d’intrus de luxe – flottant entre les aspects ludiques, sérieux et scandaleux de notre existence ici et maintenant –, de spectateur de mort lucide, de migration, de législation xénophobe, de la désintégration de ce qui nous relie et de la déception du discours actuel.

Deux semaines durant, du 2 au 15 février, Majzoub réside à l’hôtel et gère le piano-bar. Ceux qui aimeraient partager l’expérience peuvent réserver l’hôtel via Airbnb. La performance est discrète, pas mise en scène et sans interruption.


The Third Circle, Variations
choreography Nancy Naous | performers Dalia Naous, Nancy Naous, Mohamed Fouad, Hanane El Dirani | music Hadi Zeidan | supertitles Nadim Bahsoun | lighting Alexandre Vincent | costumes Jörg Todtenbier | co-production All Mawred all Thaqafy, Heinrich Boell Stiftung, Mucem | with the support of CND

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

VIDEO: Raafat Majzoub

The Farewell Chronicles

VIDEO: Raafat Majzoub
VIDEO: Raafat Majzoub

Video

me 08.02.17

Pour l’inauguration de Moussem Cities, Raafat Majzoub a rédigé une suite sur sa chronique hebdomadaire qu'il tient dans le quotidien beyrouthin Al-Akhbar. En Anglais