Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras/Rosas [BE/FR]

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

23.09 – 27.09.2017

Exciting symbiosis

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Cello Suites are unquestionably a milestone in the history of Western music. Their ingenious architecture, rhythmic vitality and timeless beauty continue to fascinate people today. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker had already demonstrated her affinity with Bach in earlier choreographies. She continues to pursue a choreographic écriture that captures the essence of Bach’s musical language. Five dancers – including De Keersmaeker herself – adapt, question and dance the six suites, performed by the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras. This exciting symbiosis of music and dance both reveals the individual character of each suite and their mutual interconnections in the totality of the cycle.

• This season, we are presenting four productions by Rosas. After Mitten wir im Leben sind – on location at De Munt – you can also attend the Zeitung adaptation Zeitigung. Finally, Achterland (at the Théâtre National) and A Love Supreme are being reprised.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | violoncelle Jean-Guihen Queyras | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero | music Johann Sebastian Bach, 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012 | costumes An D’Huys | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | sound Alban Moraud | artistic assistant Carlos Garbin, Femke Gyselinck | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | artistic advice Thierry De Mey | technical director Joris Erven | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Emma Zune, Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Joris de Bolle, Michael Smets, Bert Veris | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie, Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie, Montpellier Danse 2018 | special thanks to Thomas Hertog, Palle Dyrvall, Anke Loh, Aurianne Skybyk, Mathieu Bonilla, François Deppe, Alain Franco, Kimiko Nishi | world premiere 26 August 2017, Ruhrtriennale Bach

Cellosuiten was realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius. Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community.

Related content

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

production

Wed 06.06 - Sun 10.06.18

In 2017, Salva Sanchis and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker adapted A Love Supreme with four young, male dancers. This exceptionally vital production was one of the highlights of the last season, and was promptly selected for the TheaterFestival. Join the dancers, and abandon yourself once again to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!

Rosas

Zeitigung

dance

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

production

Thu 09.11 - Sat 18.11.17

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and pianist Alain Franco are joining forces again. Their 2008 production Zeitung – an exploration of the essential intersection of music and dance – forms the fascinating premise for a new creation, with Louis Nam Le Van Ho as a third choreographer at the wheel.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Achterland

dance

Achterland
Achterland

production

Thu 12.04 - Sun 15.04.18

Achterland (1990) is a seminal dance production in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s oeuvre: tt is her first choreography specifically created for men. Three male dancers joined Rosas, which at the time was still a predominantly female company. The minimalism and dominant femininity of early Rosas pieces gave way to an ambiguous no-man’s-land in which boundaries and signs were blurred.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

production

Sat 09.09 - Sun 10.09.17

JURY SELECTION  – Four male dancers seize the interplay between the four musicians in Coltrane’s quartet. Their movements and the music converge seamlessly, but the freedom that both the music and the dancers exude will transport you into an unforgettable delirium. Never before have you received such clear insight into Coltrane’s complex improvisations.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras/Rosas [BE/FR]

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

23.09 – 27.09.2017

Symbiose fascinante

Les suites pour violoncelle de Jean-Sébastien Bach constituent un jalon dans l’histoire de la musique occidentale. Leur architecture ingénieuse, leur rythmique dansante et leur beauté intemporelle continuent à fasciner jusqu’aujourd’hui. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a déjà démontré son affinité avec Bach par le passé. Elle poursuit sa quête d’une écriture chorégraphique susceptible de capturer l’essence du langage musical de Bach. Trois danseurs et deux danseuses – parmi lesquels De Keersmaeker en personne – adaptent, interrogent et dansent les six suites qu’interprète le violoncelliste de renommée internationale, Jean-Guihen Queyras. Cette symbiose fascinante de la musique et de la danse révèle à la fois la nature individuelle de chaque suite et leur interaction mutuelle dans l’ensemble du cycle.

• Cette saison, nous présentons quatre productions de Rosas. Après Mitten wir im Leben sind – à La Monnaie – vous pouvez assister à Zeitigung, l’adaptation de Zeitung, aux reprises d’Achterland (au Théâtre National) et de A Love Supreme.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | violoncelle Jean-Guihen Queyras | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero | music Johann Sebastian Bach, 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012 | costumes An D’Huys | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | sound Alban Moraud | artistic assistant Carlos Garbin, Femke Gyselinck | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | artistic advice Thierry De Mey | technical director Joris Erven | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Emma Zune, Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Joris de Bolle, Michael Smets, Bert Veris | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie, Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie, Montpellier Danse 2018 | special thanks to Thomas Hertog, Palle Dyrvall, Anke Loh, Aurianne Skybyk, Mathieu Bonilla, François Deppe, Alain Franco, Kimiko Nishi | world premiere 26 August 2017, Ruhrtriennale Bach

Cellosuiten was realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius. Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community.

Sujets apparentés

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

production

me 06.06 - di 10.06.18

En 2017, Salva Sanchis et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ont retravaillé A Love Supreme avec quatre jeunes danseurs. Le spectacle résolument énergique était l’un des sommets de la saison passée et a d’emblée été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival. Abandonnez-vous une fois de plus avec les danseurs à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !

Rosas

Zeitigung

danse

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

production

je 09.11 - sa 18.11.17

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et le pianiste Alain Franco unissent une fois de plus leurs forces. Leur spectacle Zeitung de 2008 – une quête du domaine essentiel où la musique et la danse se touchent – constitue le point de départ d’une nouvelle création, avec Louis Nam Le Van Ho comme troisième créateur.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Achterland

danse

Achterland
Achterland

production

je 12.04 - di 15.04.18

Achterland (1990) est un spectacle pivot dans l’œuvre d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker : pour la première fois, elle a conçu une chorégraphique spécifiquement masculine. Trois danseurs ont alors rejoint Rosas – une compagnie surtout féminine jusque-là. La prédominance du minimalisme et de la féminité dans les premiers spectacles de Rosas cède la place à un no man’s land ambigu dans lequel les frontières et les signes s’estompent.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

production

sa 09.09 - di 10.09.17

SÉLECTION DU JURY  – Quatre danseurs hommes s’emparent du jeu d’ensemble des quatre musiciens du Coltrane Quartet. Si leurs mouvements et la musique se fondent parfaitement, la liberté qui s’en dégage nous transporte de manière inoubliable et nous offre une exécution lisible par sa limpidité inédite des improvisations complexes de Coltrane.