Els Dietvorst, Aurelie Di Marino & Dirk Roofthooft [BE]

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM
MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

16.01 – 18.01.2020

After a series of encounters with the Brussels homeless person ‘ACM’, Els Dietvorst wrote Ik ga naar mijn kippen (I’m going to my chickens). The text was a sequel to three documentaries that she made about the life of this philosopher-drifter and his struggle for a dignified existence. Two years later, when Dietvorst was working on one of her Skull sculptures for the Moscow Biennale, her brother lay dying. This inspired her to write Driftwood, a text about the fragility of life and dealing with death.

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM brings these two texts together. The first is performed by Dirk Roofthooft, one of Flanders’ most iconic actors, and the second by the talented young Brussels actress Aurelie Di Marino. The first monologue mirrors the second. As a diptych, they reflect on themes such as individualism, globalization and migration, as well as the alienation and disenchanted world to which they lead.

• Art and life are inextricably linked in the work of Els Dietvorst. Both in her films and in her visual work, she consistently expresses profound social commitment. Since she moved to a sheep farm in Ireland, nature, life and death have played an increasingly prominent role in her work. Her recent work includes the documentaries The Rabbit and the Teasel and I watched the white dogs of the dawn. MEMENTO MORI!, her first theatre production, premiered at the Kaaistudios last season. After touring around Flanders, the production is now returning to our stage.


tekst, scenografie & regie Els Dietvorst | met Aurelie Di Marino, Dirk Roofthooft| dramaturgie Esther Severi  (Kaaitheater) | lichtontwerp & techniek Luc Schaltin (Kaaitheater) | productie Kaaitheater

Related content

WITH ART, WE ARE LESS LIKELY TO BE DECEIVED

a conversation with Els Dietvorst

WITH ART, WE ARE LESS LIKELY TO BE DECEIVED
WITH ART, WE ARE LESS LIKELY TO BE DECEIVED

article

Wed 12.12.18

A conversation with Els Dietvorst on her theatre piece Memento Mori! !iroM otnemeM.

Els Dietvorst, Aurelie Di Marino & Dirk Roofthooft [BE]

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM
MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

16.01 – 18.01.2020

Après une série de rencontres avec le sans-abri bruxellois ACM, Els Dietvorst a écrit le texte Ik ga naar mijn kippen [Je vais rejoindre mes poules], une suite aux trois documentaires qu’elle a réalisés autour de la vie de ce vagabond philosophe et son combat pour une existence digne. Lorsque Dietvorst travaillait à l’une de ses Skull-sculptures [sculpture crâne] pour la Biennale de Moscou, son frère était mourant. Elle a alors écrit Drijfhout [bois flottant], un texte sur la fragilité de la vie et la façon d’aborder la mort.

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM réunit ces deux textes. Dirk Roofthooft, l’un des comédiens les plus iconiques de Flandre, interprète le premier texte. La jeune et talentueuse comédienne bruxelloise Aurelie Di Marino joue le second. Les deux monologues, qui sont les miroirs l’un de l’autre, forment un diptyque qui se penche sur des thèmes comme l’individualisation, la mondialisation, la migration, l’aliénation et le désenchantement du monde que tout cela entraîne.

• Dans l’œuvre d’Els Dietvorst, l’art et la vie sont étroitement liés. Aussi bien dans ses films que dans son œuvre plastique, elle fait toujours montre d’un grand engagement social. Depuis qu’elle vit en Irlande où elle exploite un élevage de moutons, la nature, la vie et la mort jouent un rôle toujours plus prépondérant dans son œuvre. Ces dernières années, elle a entre autres réalisé les documentaires The Rabbit and the Teasel et I watched the white dogs of the dawn. La première de MEMENTO MORI!, son premier spectacle de théâtre, a eu lieu la saison passée aux Kaaistudio’s. Après une tournée à travers la Flandre, le spectacle revient ici.


tekst, scenografie & regie Els Dietvorst | met Aurelie Di Marino, Dirk Roofthooft| dramaturgie Esther Severi  (Kaaitheater) | lichtontwerp & techniek Luc Schaltin (Kaaitheater) | productie Kaaitheater

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Met kunst komen we minder bedrogen uit

een gesprek met Els Dietvorst

Met kunst komen we minder bedrogen uit
Met kunst komen we minder bedrogen uit

article

me 12.12.18

Een gesprek met Els Dietvorst naar aanleiding van haar voorsteling Memento Mori! !iroM otnemeM.