Els Dietvorst, Dirk Roofthooft & Aurelie Di Marino [BE/IR]

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

21.02 – 23.02.2019

Following a series of encounters with ‘ACM’, homeless person in Brussels, Els Dietvorst wrote the monologue Ik ga naar mijn kippen three years ago. The text is a sequel to the documentary-trilogy that she made about the life of this philosopher-drifter and his struggle for a dignified life. When Dietvorst was working on one of her Skull sculptures for the Moscow Biennale, her brother lay dying. This experience led her to write another monologue: Drijfhout.

In MEMENTO MORI!, Dietvorst brings both texts together. The first is performed by Dirk Roofthooft, one of Flanders’ most iconic actors, the second is performed by the Brussels-based actress Aurelie Di Marino. You can expect a theatre evening about fragility and transience, but also about universal themes like individualization, globalization, the relationship between humanity and nature, and migration.

• Documentary filmmaker and visual artist Els Dietvorst has been a guest at several editions of the Burning Ice Festival over the past few years. Last season, she presented the premiere of her latest film I watched the white dogs of the dawn, part two of her triptych about the relationship between humanity and nature and our food chain.


tekst, scenografie & regie Els Dietvorst | met Aurelie Di Marino, Dirk Roofthooft | dramaturgie Esther Severi | spreiding Fabienne Beernaert | uitvoerend producent Kaaitheater

Els Dietvorst, Dirk Roofthooft & Aurelie Di Marino [BE/IR]

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM
MEMENTO MORI! !IROM OTNEMEM

21.02 – 23.02.2019

Après une série de rencontres avec le sans-abri bruxellois « AMC », Els Dietvorst a écrit il y a trois ans le monologue Ik ga naar mijn kippen [Je vais retrouver mes poules]. Le texte est une suite de la trilogie documentaire autour de la vie du vagabond-philosophe et son combat pour mener une existence digne. Lorsque Dietvorst a travaillé deux ans plus tard à ses sculptures Skull pour la Biennale de Moscou, son frère était mourant. Cette expérience l’a amenée à écrire un nouveau monologue : Drijfhout [bois flotté].

Dans MEMENTO MORI!, Dietvorst réunit les deux textes. Le premier est interprété par Dirk Roofthooft, l’un des acteurs flamands les plus iconiques, le second, par la jeune actrice bruxelloise Aurelie Di Marino. Attendez-vous à une soirée sur la vulnérabilité et la fugacité, mais aussi sur des thèmes universels comme l’individualisation, la mondialisation, la relation entre l’homme et la nature et la migration.

• La documentariste et plasticienne Els Dietvorst était au programme de plusieurs éditions du festival Burning Ice. La saison passée, elle a présenté la première de son nouveau film I watched the white dogs of the dawn, le deuxième volet de sa trilogie sur la relation entre l’homme et la nature et notre chaîne alimentaire.


tekst, scenografie & regie Els Dietvorst | met Aurelie Di Marino, Dirk Roofthooft | dramaturgie Esther Severi | lichtontwerp Luc Schaltin | spreiding Fabienne Beernaert | uitvoerend producent Kaaitheater

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Met kunst komen we minder bedrogen uit

een gesprek met Els Dietvorst

Met kunst komen we minder bedrogen uit
Met kunst komen we minder bedrogen uit

article

me 12.12.18

Een gesprek met Els Dietvorst naar aanleiding van haar voorsteling Memento Mori! !iroM otnemeM.