De Parade [BE]

Mayerling

Mayerling
Mayerling

29.10 – 31.10.2009

Rudolf von Hapsburg and Charles Darwin

De Parade never lets go of the world. In Mayerling, the new text by author and director Rudi Meulemans, contemporary questions from the world and science are translated into theatre and fiction. As always, the storylines he plots are varied, rich in content, filled with facts and scientific ‘evidence’.

The first storyline begins as a historical thriller. In 1889, Hapsburg Crown Prince Rudolf, son of Franz Joseph and Sisi, together with his mistress Mary Vetsera is found dead in the Mayerling hunting lodge. Murder or suicide? The circumstances surrounding their death were – probably not by accident – never cleared up. Until in 1991, when Austrian furniture maker Helmut Flatzelsteiner appears on the stage and a forensic investigation into the mortal remains of Vetsera is again conducted…

The second main narrative line concentrates on the life of Charles Darwin and his theory of evolution, of which Crown Prince Rudolf was a fervent supporter. 2009 is Darwin Year: he was born 200 years ago, and 150 years ago the book On the Origin of Species was published. It unleashed a revolution in the science of the time and continues to define our thinking about humankind and its history. But more than these anniversaries, the importance of Darwin's thinking is underscored today by the challenges levelled against it by supporters of creationism and intelligent design. Due to his scientific research and the death of his ten-year old daughter Annie, Darwin, to the sorrow of his wife Emma, increasingly turned away from belief in the existence of a – just – deity.

The storylines of Rudolf of Hapsburg and Charles Darwin become entwined with the personal lives of three characters who appear as narrators: a journalist, a taxonomist and an art historian fascinated by issues of belief.

In the staging, Hilde Wils works with three actors who have never acted with De Parade before: Charles Tuytschaever, Tibo Vandenborre and Jorre Vandenbussche. The permanent core of De Parade actors (Tom de Hoog, Ina Geerts, Johan Heestermans, Caroline Rottier, Andreas Van de Maele, Hilde Wils) will be indirectly present. In film fragments, directed by Rudi Meulemans, they read historical documents that give scientific support to the stories. And allow the contrast between knowledge and fiction to become the central theme of Mayerling.


text Rudi Meulemans | direction Hilde Wils | with Karel
Tuytschaever, Tibo Vandenborre, Jorre Vandenbussche (on stage), Tom de
Hoog, Ina Geerts, Johan Heestermans, Caroline Rottier, Andreas Van de
Maele (on film) | dramaturgy Marianne Van Kerkhoven (Kaaitheater) | light Kim Rens | graphics Casier/Fieuws | production De Parade (Brussels) | co-production Kaaitheater

De Parade [BE]

Mayerling

Mayerling
Mayerling

29.10 – 31.10.2009

Rodolphe de Habsbourg et Charles Darwin

De Parade aborde sans relâche les questions que pose notre monde. Mayerling, le nouveau texte de l’auteur et metteur en scène Rudi Meulemans, transpose des problèmes ayant trait au monde actuel et à la science vers le théâtre et la fiction. Comme à son habitude, les lignes narratives sont multiples, riches en contenu, émaillées de faits et de preuves scientifiques.

La première ligne narrative commence comme une intrigue historico-policière. En 1889, le prince héritier Rodolphe, fils de François Joseph et de Sisi, et sa maîtresse Mary Vetsera sont retrouvés morts dans un pavillon de chasse appelé Mayerling. Meurtre ou suicide ? Comme par hasard, les circonstances exactes du décès n’ont jamais été élucidées. Jusqu’à ce que l’ébéniste Helmut Flatzelsteiner apparaisse sur le devant de la scène en 1991, et qu’une nouvelle autopsie de la dépouille de Vetsera soit effectuée…

La deuxième ligne narrative se concentre sur la vie de Charles Darwin et sa théorie de l’évolution dont le prince héritier Rodolphe était un adepte fervent. 2009 est l’année Darwin : elle commémore le bicentenaire de sa naissance et le 150e anniversaire de la parution de son ouvrage On the Origin of Species (De l’origine des espèces), qui a révolutionné le monde scientifique de l’époque et détermine toujours notre vision de l’être humain et de ses antécédents. Mais bien plus que pour ces anniversaires, l’importance de la pensée darwinienne est à l’ordre du jour en ce moment à cause des attaques qu’elle subit de la part des adeptes du créationnisme et du « dessein intelligent ». Sa recherche scientifique et le décès de leur fille de 10 ans, Annie, ont détourné Darwin de la foi en l’existence d’une divinité juste et miséricordieuse, au grand chagrin de son épouse Emma.

Les lignes narratives autour de Rodolphe de Habsbourg et Charles Darwin s’imbriquent avec les vies personnelles de trois personnages faisant office de narrateurs : un journaliste, un taxonomiste et un historien de l’art fasciné par les questions de foi.

Pour la mise en scène, Hilde Wils a choisi de travailler avec trois comédiens n’ayant jamais joué avec De Parade : Karel Tuytschaever, Tibo Vandenborre et Jorre Vandenbussche. Le noyau dur de la compagnie (Tom de Hoog, Ina Geerts, Johan Heestermans, Caroline Rottier, Andreas Van de Maele, Hilde Wils) sera présent de manière indirecte. Dans des extraits de films, réalisés par Rudi Meulemans, ils lisent des documents historiques qui étayent la teneur scientifique des récits. Le thème central de Mayerling est l’opposition entre science et fiction.


text Rudi Meulemans | direction Hilde Wils | with Karel
Tuytschaever, Tibo Vandenborre, Jorre Vandenbussche (on stage), Tom de
Hoog, Ina Geerts, Johan Heestermans, Caroline Rottier, Andreas Van de
Maele (on film) | dramaturgy Marianne Van Kerkhoven (Kaaitheater) | light Kim Rens | graphics Casier/Fieuws | production De Parade (Brussels) | co-production Kaaitheater