GrauSchumacher Piano Duo [DE]

Mantra

Mantra
Mantra

13.03.2018

Mantra by Karlheinz Stockhausen is one of the most renowned cult works of 20th-century classical music. The work is an expanding sound universe, a cosmic dance to a primordial melody. Yet Mantra is also a ritual in sound, an hour-long meditation on the mystical relationship between unity and multitude, uniformity and variation. Analysing all tempi, timbres and dynamics is pointless – the composition revolves entirely around intuition and experience. Andreas Grau and Götz Schumacher are perfectly placed to interpret Mantra. The musical soulmates have had over 20 years’ practice of the work. The GrauSchumacher duo are therefore considered the absolute specialists in performing this hypnotic masterpiece.


co-presentatie Festival van Vlaanderen/Klarafestival, Kaaitheater | muzikale informatica Patrick Delges/Centre Henri Pousseur

programme booklet

Related content

Laurent Chétouane

Out of Joint / Partita 1

dance music

Out of Joint / Partita 1
Out of Joint / Partita 1

dance

Fri 02.02 - Sat 03.02.18

What would happen if we were to abandon verticality after centuries of walking upright? This question is the starting point of Laurent Chétouane’s new creation. Two male and one female dancer search for new equilibriums in a disjointed setting. A violinist accompanies them live onstage with Bach’s Partita for Violin no. 1 in B-minor.

Daniel Linehan

Un Sacre du Printemps

dance music

Un Sacre du Printemps
Un Sacre du Printemps

dance

Fri 23.03 - Sat 24.03.18

For this ambitious group choreography, Daniel Linehan is delving into Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du Printemps. He has opted to stage the beautiful version for two pianos, which will be performed live by Jean-Luc Plouvier (from Ictus) and Alain Franco. You will be seated near the thirteen dancers and the pianists – a proximity that results in a collective shared energy.

GrauSchumacher Piano Duo [DE]

Mantra

Mantra
Mantra

13.03.2018

Mantra de Karlheinz Stockhausen est l’une des œuvres-culte de la musique classique du 20esiècle. Elle est comme un univers sonore en extension, comme la danse comique d’une mélodie ancienne. Mais Mantra est tout à la fois un rituel de sons, une longue méditation sur la relation mystique entre unité et multitude, entre uniformité et variation. Analyser tous les tempi, timbres et dynamiques n’aurait pas de sens – au contraire, cette composition repose entièrement sur l’intuition et l’expérience. Andreas Grau et Götz Schumacher forment le duo idéal pour l’interprétation de Mantra. Ces deux musiciens d’une grande complicité maîtrisent l’œuvre depuis plus de vingt ans déjà. Le duo GrauSchumacher est donc le plus grand spécialiste de l’interprétation de ce chef-d’œuvre envoûtant.


co-presentatie Festival van Vlaanderen/Klarafestival, Kaaitheater | muzikale informatica Patrick Delges/Centre Henri Pousseur

programme de salle

Sujets apparentés

Laurent Chétouane

Out of Joint / Partita 1

danse musique

Out of Joint / Partita 1
Out of Joint / Partita 1

danse

ve 02.02 - sa 03.02.18

Et si, après des siècles de bipédie, nous abandonnions la verticalité ? Cette question constitue le point de départ de la nouvelle création de Laurent. Deux danseurs et une danseuse partent en quête de nouveaux équilibres dans un décor désarticulé. Un violoniste les accompagne et interprète la Partita n°1 en si mineur pour violon de Bach.

Daniel Linehan/Hiatus, Alain Franco & Jean-Luc Plouvier

Un Sacre du Printemps

danse musique

Un Sacre du Printemps
Un Sacre du Printemps

danse

ve 23.03 - sa 24.03.18

Pour cette ambitieuse chorégraphie de groupe, Daniel Linehan s’attaque à Le Sacre du Printemps de Stravinsky. Il choisit la magnifique version pour deux pianos interprétée sur scène par Jean-Luc Plouvier (Ictus) et Alain Franco. Le public prend place à proximité immédiate des treize danseurs et les pianistes, ce qui génère une énergie collective partagée.