Daniel Linehan / Hiatus

Listen Here: These Woods

Listen Here: These Woods
Listen Here: These Woods

28.08 – 29.08.2021

Listen Here: These Woods is a literal invitation to go into nature. Set to the soundtrack of the forest, of wind rustling through the leaves and birds zipping by in the branches, the forest is these five dancers’ home, as they draw you into feeling the dynamic aliveness of the forest.

The performance becomes a beautiful exchange between forest, dance, and audience, as we all momentarily share space with other living creatures in nature. At that moment, a question arises: what if, at least during these hours while we are here, we all belong in the forest? In Listen Here: These Woods, the forest is not dominated by humans, but it collaborates fully in cultivating a wider sense of awareness of our surroundings and our bond with nature. A show for anyone who wants to strengthen their connection with nature!

• Daniel Linehan studied dance in Seattle and in Brussels, at PARTS. His work explores interactions between dance and non-dance, unusual combinations, oppositions and parallels between texts, movements, images, songs, and rhythms. Almost all of his work has been shown at Kaaitheater, including most recently Un Sacre du Pintemps, and Flood. These Woods is part of the double bill Listen Here, along with Listen Here: This Cavern – both inspired by the work of American composer Pauline Oliveros.

‘Being alive on this planet means being with the more-than-human. In my current work, I am drawing inspiration and hope from our fellow terrestrial inhabitants. It’s easy to forget that we are naturally connected to other living creatures and plants, a part of the same living system. Broadening our ideas about choreography to include the whole dance of life can only enrich our understanding of how to face the complex challenges we are facing today.‘ – DANIEL LINEHAN


concept & choreography Daniel Linehan | creation & performance Gorka Gurrutxaga Arruti, Renaud Dallet, Anneleen Keppens, Jean-Baptiste Portier, Louise Tanoto | dramaturgy Ingrid Vranken | costumes Frédérick Denis | production Hiatus | co-production Atelier de Paris / CNDCN, Centre Chorégraphique National de Rillieux-la-Pape, Charleroi Danse, centre chorégraphique de Wallonie – Bruxelles, DE SINGEL, KAAP, Perpodium | residencies Kaaitheater, Charleroi Danse, DE SINGEL, KAAP, centre chorégraphique de Wallonie – Bruxelles | international tour planning Damien Valette | Daniel Linehan/Hiatus is Creative Associate at DE SINGEL International Arts Campus 2017-2021 | supported by the Flemish authorities, the Tax Shelter of the Belgian federal government |  in partnership with BOS+, Hiatus contributes to the reforestation of our planet.

There's more

morning walk&workshop – Listen Here: These Woods

workshop walk

morning walk&workshop – Listen Here: These Woods
morning walk&workshop – Listen Here: These Woods

workshop

Sat 28.08 - Sun 29.08.21

Together with Bos+ we present a series of activities around Daniel Linehan's Listen Here: These Woods. You can choose a cluster in the morning or afternoon. Suitable for all forest lovers!

afternoon walk – Listen Here: These Woods

walk

afternoon walk – Listen Here: These Woods
afternoon walk – Listen Here: These Woods

walk

Sat 28.08 - Sun 29.08.21

Together with Bos+ we present a series of activities around Daniel Linehan's Listen Here: These Woods. You can choose a cluster in the morning or afternoon. Suitable for all forest lovers!

Programme leaflet 'Listen Here: These Woods'

Programme leaflet 'Listen Here: These Woods'
Programme leaflet 'Listen Here: These Woods'

Programme leaflet

Wed 25.08.21

Read more about Listen Here : These Woods.

Daniel Linehan / Hiatus

Listen Here: These Woods

Listen Here: These Woods
Listen Here: These Woods

28.08 – 29.08.2021

Listen Here : These Woods est une invitation littérale à se plonger dans la nature. En guise de bande-son, le vent et le sifflement de vols d’oiseaux. On entre dans le biotope de cinq danseurs qui nous emportent dans l’effervescence de la forêt.

            On est témoin d’un dialogue harmonieux entre la forêt, la danse et le public, alors que tous partagent momentanément l’espace avec d’autres créatures vivantes dans la nature. Une question surgit alors : et si, du moins pendant les heures où nous occupons ces lieux, nous appartenions tous à la forêt ? Dans Listen Here : These Woods, la forêt n’est pas dominée par les humains, mais constitue une entité équivalente à l’humanité qui nous aide à cultiver une conscience plus fondée de notre environnement. Un spectacle destiné à toute personne qui désire renforcer son lien avec la nature !

• Daniel Linehan a suivi des formations de danse à Seattle et à Bruxelles, à P.A.R.T.S. Son œuvre explore les interactions entre danse et non-danse, les combinaisons inhabituelles et les contrastes entre texte, mouvement, image, musique et rythme. Le Kaaitheater a présenté la quasi-totalité de ses créations, dont Un Sacre du Printemps et Flood. These Woods fait partie du double programme Listen Here, avec Listen Here : This Cavern – tous deux inspirés de l’œuvre de la compositrice états-unienne Pauline Oliveros.

 

« Être vivant sur cette planète signifie être avec les plus qu’humains. Dans mon travail actuel, je puise mon inspiration et mon espoir auprès nos cohabitants terrestres. Il est facile d’oublier que nous sommes naturellement liés aux autres créatures vivantes, animaux et plantes, que nous faisons partie du même système vivant. Élargir nos idées à propos de la chorégraphie pour inclure la danse de la vie tout entière ne peut qu’enrichir notre compréhension de comment relever les défis complexes auxquels nous faisons face aujourd’hui. » – DANIEL LINEHAN


concept & choreography Daniel Linehan | creation & performance Gorka Gurrutxaga Arruti, Renaud Dallet, Anneleen Keppens, Jean-Baptiste Portier, Louise Tanoto | dramaturgy Ingrid Vranken | costumes Frédérick Denis | production Hiatus | co-production Atelier de Paris / CNDCN, Centre Chorégraphique National de Rillieux-la-Pape, Charleroi Danse, centre chorégraphique de Wallonie – Bruxelles, DE SINGEL, KAAP, Perpodium | residencies Kaaitheater, Charleroi Danse, DE SINGEL, KAAP, centre chorégraphique de Wallonie – Bruxelles | international tour planning Damien Valette | Daniel Linehan/Hiatus is Creative Associate at DE SINGEL International Arts Campus 2017-2021 | supported by the Flemish authorities, the Tax Shelter of the Belgian federal government |  in partnership with BOS+, Hiatus contributes to the reforestation of our planet.

There's more

activiteiten voormiddag – Listen Here: These Woods

workshop promenade

activiteiten voormiddag – Listen Here: These Woods
activiteiten voormiddag – Listen Here: These Woods
sa 28.08 - di 29.08.21

En partenariat avec Bos+, nous présentons une série d’activités autour de la production de Daniel Linehan, Listen Here: These Woods. Vous pouvez opter, dans la matinée ou dans l’après-midi, pour un ensemble d’activités appropriées pour tout·e amateur·rice de forêt !

activiteiten namiddag – Listen Here: These Woods

promenade

activiteiten namiddag – Listen Here: These Woods
activiteiten namiddag – Listen Here: These Woods
sa 28.08 - di 29.08.21

En partenariat avec Bos+, nous présentons une série d’activités autour de la production de Daniel Linehan, Listen Here: These Woods. Vous pouvez opter, dans la matinée ou dans l’après-midi, pour un ensemble d’activités appropriées pour tout·e amateur·rice de forêt !

Feuille de salle 'Listen Here : These Woods'

Feuille de salle 'Listen Here : These Woods'
Feuille de salle 'Listen Here : These Woods'

Feuille de salle

me 25.08.21

Lisez plus sur Listen Here : These Woods.