Angélica Liddell / NTGent

Liebestod Histoire(s) du théâtre III

Liebestod
Liebestod

18.01 – 20.01.2023

In the last aria of Wagner's opera Tristan and Isolde, Isolde passes into another dimension 'dying from love'. Liddell associates this 'Liebestod' or love to death with the tragic life of Juan Belmonte. This mythical matador from Seville turned bullfighting into a spiritual exercise and the ultimate form of surrender.

Liddell presents bullfighting as an essential form of violence, which, in her opinion, is in line with the three fundamentals of life: sex, birth and death. As in classical tragedy and art, she says, it is through terror and compassion that we achieve purification or catharsis and find a connection with the sacred.

• Performance artist Angélica Liddell is notorious for her radical and visually stunning work on personal, social and political violence. She has received many awards, including the Silver Lion at the Venice Biennale, and presents her performances in theatres and at festivals around the world. She has already been at Kaaitheater with Tandy. Liebestod premiered at the Festival d'Avignon to a standing ovation.

Angélica Liddell made Liebestod for Histoire(s) du Théâtre, a series by NTGent in which theatre is held up to the light as an art form. Milo Rau, with Reprise, and Faustin Linyekula signed up for the first two parts.

“Angélica Liddell makes Avignon shake and tremble like a bull before a bullfighter with her dazzling ‘Liebestod'”. - La Libre

‘Angélica Liddell no longer makes theatre, she is theatre. ‘Liebestod’ is a fiercely loving artistic manifesto with her portraying the torera and bull, Tristan and Isolde, God and devil.’ – Les Echos 

 


presented by Théâtre National Wallonie - Bruxelles & Kaaitheater

with Angélica Liddell, Borja López, Gumersindo Puche, Palestina de los Reyes, Patrice Le Rouzic a.o. | text, direction, scenography, costume design Angélica Liddell | light Mark Van Denesse | sound Antonio Navarro | costumes Justo Algaba | assistant director Borja López | stage management Nicolas Guy, Michel Chevallier | director of production Gumersindo Puche | production NTGent & Atra Bilis teatro | co-production Festival d'Avignon, Tandem Scène nationale Arras-Douai, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm | with the support of The Flemish Government and the Belgian tax shelter | Angélica Liddell is associated artist at CDN Orléans

Angélica Liddell / NTGent

Liebestod Histoire(s) du théâtre III

Liebestod
Liebestod

18.01 – 20.01.2023

Dans le dernier air de l'opéra Tristan et Isolde de Wagner, Isolde « mourant d'amour »  passe dans une autre dimension. Liddell établit un lien entre le « Liebestod » ou l'amour jusqu'à la mort, et la vie tragique de Juan Belmonte. Ce matador mythique de Séville faisait de la tauromachie un exercice spirituel et la forme ultime de l'abandon.

Liddell présente la tauromachie comme une forme essentielle de violence, qui, à ses yeux, est liée aux trois éléments fondamentaux de la vie : le sexe, la naissance et la mort. Comme dans les tragédies classiques et l'art, dit-elle, c'est par la terreur et la compassion que nous atteignons la purification ou la catharsis, et que nous entrons en connexion avec le  sacré.

• La performeuse Angélica Liddell est connue et reconnue pour son travail radical et visuellement époustouflant sur la violence personnelle, sociale et politique. Elle a reçu plusieurs prix, dont le Lion d'argent à la Biennale de Venise, et présente ses spectacles dans des théâtres et des festivals du monde entier. Elle a déjà été invitée auparavant au Kaaitheater avec Tandy. Liebestod fut créé au Festival d'Avignon, où il a été accueilli par une ovation.

Angélica Liddell a réalisé Liebestod pour Histoire(s) du Théâtre, une série de NTGent dans laquelle des metteur·euses en scène de théâtre examinet le théâtre en tant que forme d'art. Milo Rau avec Reprise et Faustin Linyekula sont les créateurs des deux premières parties.

‘Avec son fulgurant « Liebestod », Angelica Liddell secoue Avignon comme un taureau face au torero.’ – La Libre 

‘Angélica Liddell ne fait plus du théâtre, elle est théâtre. Liebestod est un manifeste artistique violemment amoureux où elle est à la fois torera et taureau, Tristan et Yseut, Dieu et diable.’ – Les Echos 


presented by Théâtre National Wallonie - Bruxelles & Kaaitheater

with Angélica Liddell, Borja López, Gumersindo Puche, Palestina de los Reyes, Patrice Le Rouzic a.o. | text, direction, scenography, costume design Angélica Liddell | light Mark Van Denesse | sound Antonio Navarro | costumes Justo Algaba | assistant director Borja López | stage management Nicolas Guy, Michel Chevallier | director of production Gumersindo Puche | production NTGent & Atra Bilis teatro | co-production Festival d'Avignon, Tandem Scène nationale Arras-Douai, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm | with the support of The Flemish Government and the Belgian tax shelter | Angélica Liddell is associated artist at CDN Orléans